We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for an adventurous and relaxing trip.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleeping Giant Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sleeping Giant Lodge to your Saves list
Sleeping Giant Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mile 36 Hummingbird Highway, Belmopan, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Belmopan
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for an adventurous and relaxing trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I highly recommend staying at the SLG. Its located just outside of Belmopan and is central to all the great adventures that the area is known for (ATM, cave tubing, Xunan, waterfalls,etc.). The lodge itself is on a beautiful piece of land surrounded by the jungle and next to a river.

The amenities are great and the lodge is beautiful with great attention to detail. When you're there your only real option for food is the lodge restaurant, which is ok because the food is great.

I recommend booking the adventure package. It includes all your food, drinks, and day trip adventures which I thought to be a great value.

My one complaint is that the booking/ reservation process was a bit difficult. I tried contacting the lodge several times before getting a response, but I'm glad that I was persistent.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
169
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed three nights here with my mom and we loved it! The entire staff was very friendly. The food was absolutely delicious. We usually ordered the special since it always sounded fantastic. The rooms are air conditioned which is nice after a long day out in the heat. Big beautiful bathroom that they decorate with the towels and fresh flowers everyday. We went on two expeditions during our stay. The first was the black hole cave drop - highly recommend if you are an adventure junkie and don't mind a jungle trek. The second was the Tikal, Guatemala trip. Not very strenuous, but a great experience. So much to take in. I would recommend both.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at Sleeping Giant for a week in early February, with an all-inclusive adventure package. Sleeping Giant was even better than I had imagined from all the wonderful reviews & pictures. We stayed in Casita #5 which the manager said was less than a year old. The privacy & rainforest setting were wonderful. I don't think I've ever stayed in a more beautiful place, with lots of amenities - plenty of warm wood shelving to put our clothes; refrigerator; Keurig type coffee maker; double sink; shower surrounded by glass to see outside; outdoor tub; patio with a hammock that I used for reading. The brook ran by our casita & we were entertained by the ducks. Meals at the restaurant were quite good, with lots of choices. Drinks with local rum & beer were included in our package. Wi-fi was only available in the main building & it was somewhat spotty. Every morning at breakfast we bird-watched, using the binoculars & telescope provided. Tanya was quite good at spotting birds for us to look at. We used the hot tub by the beautiful new pool - for our aching bodies after ATM. We found the bed to be very comfortable.

The staff service was outstanding, as has been described by others. Brian, BB, Tanya, Berta, Erlan & Giovanni took good care of us. My husband got a gastrointestinal disturbance (likely from a restaurant on one of our trips). BB sent for gatorade for him to replenish nutrients. Others stopped by to check on us. Erlan was our guide for the hike to the tower - he is very knowledgeable about the flora/fauna & really enjoys doing this. I fell on the muddy trail so he offered suggestions about how to handle the mud. Housekeeping staff provided whatever we requested, like different pillow.

Our adventures were more challenging than I expected, particularly the ATM cave. I had trouble with the muddy trails, fording the streams (balancing over the slippery rocks), & climbing over boulders. We also went to Hopkins for snorkeling, the Belize mayan ruins, and the 7 mile cave river tubing. I was glad that we stayed our entire time at Sleeping Giant because the area is so beautiful.

Room Tip: Casita #5 is beautiful & new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We loved it here. If you want to feel like you are a part of the rainforest in an intamate setting, this is the place for you. Our room had an out door tub and a shower that looked out on the rainforest. You can see the toucans fly over head as you relax. I recomend an all inclusive package that includes adventures. The food is very nice here. You get to order from a nice menu for every meal. They handel special requests well. Everything in Belize is a little slower then you might expect if you are on US speed. So get up early enough to put in your order for breakfast before you go on your adventure. We enjoyed an morning birding hike, night hike and a trip to the Belize Zoo and Howler Monkey sancuary. We also enjoyed swimming in the new pool and hot tub. You can kyak on the river free of charge as well. I would hve liked to stay one more night ( the package was for 3 nights) I recomend 4.

Room Tip: Spanish Cabinas #4,5 or 6 are very exclusive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We love this place! If you want to get away from it all, this place is nothing less than fabulous! Fantastically secluded but yet offers so many great adventures! This is the epicenter of adventures, from various cave tubing and explorations (basic to advanced), zip lines, hiking, Belize Mayan ruins and also Guatemala Tikal (all offered through the resort)! The rooms are pristine and welcome you with lovely folded towels with flowers in graceful duck/geese shapes! The grounds are immaculate! The pool is awesome! The staff are extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful. National Geographic was checking in (as they yearly do) the day we were leaving (verifies the awesomeness of this place!). The chef prepares wonderful meals for a fair price for a 3 course meal (there is nowhere else to eat unless you have a car and care to drive on terrible roads with hazards galore, driving at night is perilous!). If your up to a uphill jungle hike, (this is a must if you can hike uphill 1/2 mile in potentially slippery terrain) you get an amazing gazebo with an amazing view of the surrounding valley! The best part however was the actual hike with our guide Orlin (Arlin?)! He was incredibly instructional about the local trees, plants, wildlife, wilderness skill, history and all around knowledge of the area. This 1.5 hour trek was one of the best experiences we had on our vacation! We would stay here again for sure!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was our first time visiting Belize. We had to do our bookings directly with the resorts as all inclusive deals for some reason are either not offered for Belize or very hard to find here in Ontario Canada.
WE booked a split Adventure vacation between The Sleeping Giant Resort and The Jaguar Reef Resort. The places are Gorgeous and frankly we didn't want to leave. Unfortunately we had to come home to mega snow but the vacation there was absolutely fabulous. We did 8 of a possible 11 adventures from Snorkling to Cave Tubing to Zip Lining to Horse-back riding in the Jungle. And if you ever go to Belize do go on the Monkey River Tour. We visited ruins but due to the river being to high to cross we did not get to visit the largest of the ruins here. Not a problem between all the other things we did including makinga dn eating Mayan food right in their homes, I am satisfied that a dream vacation was fullfiled.
Now for the resorts. My gosh the staff were so friendly that I would have thought that I had known them all my life and the food was plentiful and delicious. If some of the Belizian cuisine doesn't meet your expectations, then there is plenty to suit your pallet on the menu. Make it worth your while and do a two week vacation as a short one week may leave you wanting!
The only set-back we had was the flight there on Delta Air. This was a fiasco and we ended up missing our connecting flight due to Plane problems and so we didn't get there until the evening of the second day. Do yourself a favour and find a direct flight!

Room Tip: Call Direct from their Web Site and make your custom arrangements. You won't regert it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
276 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This lodge was wonderful if you weren't expecting it to be "in the jungle." It's really more of a luxury lodge in a "suburban" jungle location. It's near the highway, and the "city lights" of Belmopan are not that far away.

That said, it's still not close to anything we wanted to do. Adventure tours to ATM Cave, Black Hole, etc are all a good hour or more drive. And by the time we got to ATM Cave it was teeming with lots of other tourists, which kind of spoiled the experience - don't like having to wait in line for things, and especially not when I'm hiking and exploring.

However, as a lodge, it was great. The grounds and pool are gorgeous! And the food is tops. However, with only a few things on the menu that appealed to us, we would have been doing "repeats" had we stayed longer than 4 nights.

The staff provided outstanding service. They were most accommodating and went out of their way to make sure we were happy in every way.

However, if you want to be in the jungle with the Howler monkeys, Toucans, parrots, etc, then this is not the place. Perhaps you should check out Pook's Hill Lodge if you want to be more adventuresome.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
16.0 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
21.7 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
19.8 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Yim Saan Hotel & Restaurant
11.3 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
0.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#3 of 17 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeping Giant Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Giant Lodge

Address: Mile 36 Hummingbird Highway, Belmopan, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sleeping Giant Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proud member of ViVA BELiZE, the leading Hotel Group and Adventure Company in Belize for the past 20 years. Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge is a full service, Jungle lodge located in the foothills of the Sibun National Forest Reserve and surrounding by over a hundred thousand acres of untouched wilderness. The lodge offers a range of accommodations, amenities, adventures and all inclusive packages. Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge - A Grand Jungle Expedition! About Sleeping Giant Lodge: -Official Base Camp NatGeo Expeditions in Belize -Six "6" Time Traveler's Choice Award Winner 2015 for Belize & Central America -Spa Services -Complimentary Kayaks & Bicycles -Heated pool w/ Hot Tub -Gazebo Lookout Area -Sibun River- cleanest river in Belize ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sleeping Giant Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleeping Giant Lodge Belize/Belmopan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleeping Giant Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.