We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasurable find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa San Juan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa San Juan to your Saves list
Villa San Juan
3639 Tangelo Street | Cohune Walk, Belmopan, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Belmopan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Farmington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pleasurable find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had not booked a room in Belmopan and asked at the lovely restaurant where we ate - Blue Moon for where they recommended. They put us on to this gem. We had a little trouble finding it, but once we gave Omar a call, he was outside waiting for us. We were travelling with another couple and got a beautiful 2 room suite with a full kitchenette. Omar made sure we were set up with wifi and answered any questions we had. We had a beautiful evening by the pool. In the morning we were treated to a delicious home made breakfast. We were treated like family and would definitely recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
20
1
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ranger, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Villa San Juan was an unexpected gem in our visit to Belize. Located in Belmopan, this B&B is centrally located for exploring many areas of the country. More importantly, its clean, spacious and attractively decorated rooms feature balconies looking out on a beautiful (and very clean) pool and gardens. Inside doors led to a large common area with sofas and chairs, a dining area and full kitchen. Washer and dryer were available at a small fee. The owners, Omar and Ellen, did a fabulous job of looking after us and the other guests. They had coffee and fresh rolls or bread waiting whenever we got up. Then, Omar and Ellen came in mid-morning and prepared the best breakfasts we have ever had anywhere! Fresh orange, watermelon or other fruit juices; eggs prepared to individual preference; potatoes; sausage, ham or bacon; fresh bakery bread; home made jams and preserves; and a dazzling array of several fresh tropical fruits! Our only regret is we hadn't made reservations to stay here the entire time while on the mainland.

Room Tip: Rooms poolside are away from the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I had an excellent few days in this most pleasant B&B. Spacious room - with our own walk-in wardrobe - WiFi, a most pleasant pool, and lots of space. Omar can solve any problems and Ellen's breakfasts are splendid. We look forward to returning to Villa San Juan.

Room Tip: Nick the recommended taxi driver has a new car and knows everywhere in Belmopan
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The wonderful hosts and the lovely house with its spacious rooms made this the perfect stay. If you are looking for an affordable, quiet, and clean accommodation in Belmopan (including a pool!) I would recommend this. The breakfast is great, too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caye Caulker
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at Villa San Juan.The room and facilities were very clean and nicely kept. My short 1 night business trip to Belmopan was a great success. Omar went out of his way making sure that my WiFi connection was working. I had a very comfortable stay in this highly recommended B&B. The excellent Breakfast in the morning was the perfect start to a new day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

There aren't that many nice B&Bs available in Belmopan, since it is not a tourist town. But for anyone who has a reason to spend a night or two in Belmopan, for business at an embassy, or to leave for an early trip ziplining or cave tubing, Villa San Juan is a perfect place to land. It offers exceptional value, and comfort. Located only a few blocks away from the US Embassy, it's a favorite home away from home for professionals who come to Belize to work, or for those of us who have to make a trip to one of the embassies.

The villa is located in a quiet, non-pretentious, but comfortable neighborhood. It's near a few decent restaurants and banks. The owners are pleasant, accommodating and helpful. The morning breakfasts are homemade and delicious, home cooked by Ellen. Omar and Ellen live in their home, which they built first, behind the villa. So they are always just a few steps away.

Our room was surprisingly spacious, as well as comfortable. The bathroom was large, with two sinks. And we had a walk in closet with plenty of room to put our clothes in drawers and on hangers. For all of this, the price was quite reasonable. And the pool, and living areas were clean, well appointed, and comfortable. Omar immediately connected us to the internet wireless upon arrival. It worked very well throughout our stay, which was a major plus for us.

We will be recommending the Villa San Juan to all of our friends who need to stay in Belmopan for a few nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I just got back from Villa San Juan. I only got to spend one night there unfortunately. They had a wonderful breakfast spread there! Yummie! Fresh orange juice and lots of local food options to suit any tastes. Our room was very clean and a nice size, along with the bathroom. There was a sliding patio door out to the deck from our bedroom, where I wish I had time to sit and enjoy. The location is close to the ATM tour and BMP airport, hence why I chose to stay there. The owner's also drove us to eat one night (we werent sure where we were going) and we walked back - so it is close to the downtown part, where you can walk around to also. I felt safe walking around at night because there were many other people walking around also.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Juan

Address: 3639 Tangelo Street | Cohune Walk, Belmopan, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast near Belmopan City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Juan Belize/Belmopan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.