We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing retreat outside Belmopan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belmopan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary
Save
You added Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary to your Saves list
Western Highway, Belmopan, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Belize Cayes, Belize
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Relaxing retreat outside Belmopan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

No monkeys at Monkey Bay, but an excellent place for the weary traveller to take a break. Clean rooms and very friendly staff will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your time here. All the wonderful fruit trees are labelled. This is close to living nearer the earth. Dining is available on-site, with two restaurants and bars within walking distance. Take an hour hike to the river and enjoy a fantastic dip to freshen up.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    12
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
11
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I came to Belize to volunteer at a local government school down the street from Monkey Bay. I had no idea what to expect, but I was thrilled with my experience. First off, the food is some of the most fresh and delicious food I have ever eaten. I fantasize about wishing I could eat it every day. The staff and tour guides were always friendly, smiling, and making sure everyone in the group was enojying there time. The staff also has a very vast knowledge of the surrounding area and wildlife. The grounds were clean as well as the lodging areas. There is a strong sense of family on the compound that makes it feel like home. Anna was amazing at setting up our trip intinerary and even brought us to walk through the local villiage she lives in. Chester, Mitch, Lincoln, Justin, Kenny, and all the otehr guides were always making us laugh and willing to help us with anything we needed. We also had some locals come and play music for us around the fire. There is a cool little bar right down the street (just a short walk up the road). I never visited but I heard good things from others who went. There is also an amazing river a short bus ride away that is perfect for an afternoon dip. Overall, I cannot wait to go back to Monkey Bay again.

Room Tip: The rooms I stayed in had fans and plenty of windows we could open. There are some single rooms, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper Landing, Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Not only was the staff at Monkey Bay incredible, but the accommodations and services were awesome. I stayed here for a week during a volunteer service trip at the local school, and could not have been more happy to come back to Monkey Bay at night after a long day of work. The food was absolutely amazing, as well. It might be a bit rustic for the luxury vacationer, however I found the sustainability and location of it to be worth the minor inconveniences. We were in the large rooms which were more dorm style, because of how many of us there were. The water is all based on a catchment system from the rainfall, so there are designated faucets for drinking water. There was not air conditioning in most of the rooms, however the breeze usually keeps it at a bearable temperature. The only thing I was not warned about was that you should bring your own towels--preferably a quick-drying one. The humidity makes it very difficult for thick towels to dry. Overall, it was a really great experience staying here!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our high school has chosen Monkey Bay as our base for ecological and cultural explorations in Belize. We bring 25 ninth graders for an 8 day trip in February. We were met at the airport by friendly and informative guides, the bedrooms, showers and bathrooms were all clean and safe. The meals were always nutritious with many options, and they made the students VERY happy! Monkey Bay staff arranged expertly guided trips to Mayan sites, caves, canoe trips on the Sibun River, overnight trips to Cockscomb Jaguar Sanctuary, snorkeling in the Cayes and local farms. Our guides (Juan, Chester, Justin, Mitch) were all natives of Belize with a tremendous range of knowledge and experience to share. Monkey Bay also arranged for us to perform service projects at a local elementary school, which was a life-changing experience for our students. Our trip ended with a Creole drumming group helping us celebrate our new-found love for Belize.
And if that was not enough, when one of our students had a relapse of a medical problem, Monkey Bay founders Marga and Matt Miller quickly arranged EXPERT medical attention and drove us to the hospital personally. We could not be happier with our experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay in the Mountain View cabana. Co-founder Marga gave us an impromptu tour of the grounds and all of the flora and fauna and was terrifically helpful. Right next to good food and near the zoo, Monkey Bay is simple and sweet.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Monkey bay was a friendly and relaxed hostel an hour outside Belmopan. It served us very well as a base as we commuted to the local hospital in the city. The location was fantastic and the staff (especially the owners) were very friendly and very happy to help. The rooms and facilities were clean and overall it comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Ok Im going to start with good. It used to a great place for young people to get to know how people live in Belize. The tours to the ruins, caves, ect.. are great, the staff friendly. The accommodations minimal, but resonably priced. The food was great, a little pricy but no complaints. Some Student groups would volunteer in the various communities in the area, doing home stays and working on improving school play grounds, ect...
But then they changed most of the staff an it seems that they have raised the prices of the accommodations, and reduced the quality of the service. The room we were in had no fan, and only one power outlet. We were tired so we borrowed the fan from the library, (Leaving no outlet in the room to charge a phone) an went to sleep. The next day we had a terrible rash, maybe from the laundry soap or water? I don't know.. I don't like giving places a bad rep, but this stay there was not satisfactory, the room price seem'd high, especially with no fan!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
11.9 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 5 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
20.8 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#11 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
22.6 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#4 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Yim Saan Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
2.8 mi away
Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary

Address: Western Highway, Belmopan, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Belmopan
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary is an environmental education center offering Belize Study Abroad experiential learning programs and training opportunities while serving as a model of conservation land Stewardship. Our goal is to guide our guests and students in experiencing the natural wonders of the tropics and life in a developing country, recognizing the diversity of human potential through other cultures. We do this from a peaceful natural setting within a 1070-acre private protected area at our Monkey Bay campus where we experiment with sustainable living technologies and conservation land management ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary Belize/Belmopan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monkey Bay Wildlife Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.