We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent informational tour and lots of butterflies!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Hills Butterfly Ranch

Green Hills Butterfly Ranch
Mile 8, Pine Ridge Road, Belize
+501 834-4017
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 65 things to do in Cayo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Green Hills Butterfly Ranch is the place to go to enjoy Belize butterflies and learn about them in the process. Green Hills literally has thousands of live butterflies on display in a 4,000 square feet walk-in flight area. The guided tour in the butterfly flight area and the Blue Morpho Breeding Center takes about an hour. The facilities are surrounded by a botanical garden with more than 150 labeled plants, shrubs and trees. These gardens are home to dozens of hummingbirds, and the average visitor can easily see eight or even more species while visiting the Butterfly Ranch. Green Hills is worth a stop on your way to or from other popular destinations such as the Mountain Pine Ridge, Barton Creek, Caracol or the nearby villages of San Antonio and El Progresso. We open at 7 am and close at 4 pm. Late tours are welcome but only after reservation.
United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent informational tour and lots of butterflies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We learned so much about the life-cycle of butterflies and our wonderful guide showed us butterflies in every life-cycle stage. Magnificent butterflies to see and have land on you!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    25
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SLC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I love Butterflies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is an interesting attraction. The owners have chickens, guiney fowl and roosters in pens and loose. The butterfly house has 14 types of butterflies, all very interesting. They show you the life of the butterfly and how they raise them. There are also many types of hummingbirds that you can watch closely. You should know that the toilet facilities here are primitive.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Butterflies galore!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

A very interesting stop, albeit a bit of a rough drive getting there. We were there when the butterflies were very active, which is normally earlier in the day. You get to walk through their enclosure, and have them land on you. Afterward, there is a short lesson on how they are raised. As a bonus, there were lots of hummingbirds, and not too far away, barn fowl.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Butterflies Hummingbirds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We really enjoyed the tour and explanation of the work done here. We went on a nice day. Word is the butterflies are not active if it's raining. The hummingbirds were an unexpected bonus. It's a long way from San Ignacio but combine that with a horseback ride at MET or check at Moonracer Lodge for info about another great horseback ride place down the road towards San Antonio.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Even our butterfly-loving girls were only mildly impressed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stopped here as a stop before an MET horseride. $40 for about 20 minutes. Saw just as many beautiful butterflies and hummingbirds across the road at MET. I would give it a rating of 3; my family suggested a 4.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Hills Butterfly Ranch also viewed

 
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Green Hills Butterfly Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Hills Butterfly Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.