We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jungle oasis...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Valley Jungle Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dream Valley Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
Dream Valley Jungle Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Young Gial Road | Teakettle Village, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Cayo
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A jungle oasis...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Dream Valley is an oasis in the jungle of Belize. The cabins and wooden walkways melt right into the lush surroundings. The planning and attention to detail that went into this new resort were outstanding. The cabins are large, and very nicely appointed. They have a large, tiled bath room, screened in windows, air conditioning, filtered water, satellite TV, wifi, and every modern convenience you could possibly want. The common areas and restaurant/bar are excellent as well. The entire staff is very friendly and will see to your every need. The managers Yaima and Ivy will greet you when you arrive, and make sure every experience is a great one until you depart. The location is very convenient to all the jungle has to offer; Mayan sites, caves, water falls, zip lining etc…We would love to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had the pleasure of being the first long term guests to stay at this resort. They opened in February of 2012, I believe, and our stay was in June of 2012. Weather was perfect in June! Got to witness a lightning storm off in the distance while the weather stayed perfect at our room. Once in a lifetime experience for many reasons!

Our stay at Dream Valley was the first of the 2 resort package we got from WOW resorts, the other stay was at Royal Palm Island Resort - they provided transportation and I felt completely safe the whole time - I highly recommend both places.

Because we were the first long term guests there (3 nights), they treated us like royalty! They weren't over-bearing, but if you wanted something, it was delivered immediately!

Rooms were great, we stayed in the standard room for 2 nights and on the last they treated us to the upgraded room, free of charge. They had mosquito mesh nets on the windows so bugs weren't an issue. I was very impressed with the cleanliness and luxurious rooms and bathrooms. They're building a very very nice resort - and each room has their own hot tub!

Food was amazing as well, I believe our chef's name was 'Alfie'? I think he was Romanian but studied culinary in Italy. Each meal was perfectly prepared - We Loved the food! The beverages were good as well - try a Belikin Beer and Caribbean Gold Rum - It's smoother than anything in the US! All lunches were packed for us on our adventures as well, they took care of us!

We did many adventures - went to the Mayan Ruin Tours, Zip Lining, Cave Tubing, and as a special treat on our last day - our guide, Javier, took us to the Belize Zoo - free of charge! The Ruin tours were awesome, as was Cave Tubing. Zip Lining was fun as well. Javier took us around Belize, to the Guatemalan Border, and to his hometown where he gave us a chance to walk around and buy souveniers, as well as watch the European Cup in a Belizian Bar with Javier and his friends. It was such a unique experience to be immersed in the culture - We loved this part of the trip - to truly experience the Belizian culture is something we wanted, and it was a great time!

I can't say enough about the staff at Dream Valley. They truely took care of us and made us feel like we're at home, catering to us, and giving us the 1 on 1 experience that we valued.

Javier was a HUGE part of that, he was a Belizian Army Soldier for years before becoming a tour guide, then eventually moving onto Resort management where he was consulting Dream Valley at the time of our stay. He was our 1 on 1 tour guide that took us on each adventure and saw us off when it was time for us to go to our 2nd resort - Royal Palm Island Resort. I wish the best to Javier as he has moved on from consulting and is now managing at a different resort. I'm sure his consulting was a great experience to Dream Valley and that they will continue to practice the hospitality that Javier showed us. He knew so much about the plants, animals, sounds, storms, weather, etc. and not only that, he was a very personable guy who just loved people.

The rest of the staff (Dan, Shelly, Ivy, Alfie, Yayema, (mis-spelled, i know, i spelled it how it's pronounced), and Roberto) wereamazing as well, we spent hours at the bar talking with Dan and Shelly in the evenings as they were bartending. Very personable and nice people!

While we were there, they were working on a spa, and 2 pools that, i understand, have been completed and are up and running now. I'm sure that would have been a great experience too!

As a part of the staff's departure gift to us, they gave us a card signed by all of them and we all took a picture together!! It was such a great experience - they truely care about your stay and hope that you have a great time. We LOVED it!

We could go on for days about Dream Valley and Royal Palm Island Resort, but the only way to truly experience it is to go there for yourself. We're honored to have been the first long term guests at Dream Valley and wish the best for them as it continues to grow! Hopefully we will be able to go back soon because we'd love to!

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to the luxury room, do it if you like the price. But the standard rooms are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stopped by Dream Valley to eat lunch because of their magnificent Chef Matteo and was surprised by the kindness of Miss Ivy, the administrator, who gave us a first class tour of a first class resort. This place is indeed something out of a wonderful dream! Located beside the river, the architecture appears to have risen right out of the ground. The grounds are covered in beautiful tropical gardens and elegant water features. I am still breathless from the butterfly house filled with incredible blue morphos. They are currently finishing two treehouses and a lucious spa! The lunch was fantastic-of course, with Chef Matteo doing the cooking!! What a place for a honeymoon or a relaxing vacation! I will Definitely be back!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Luxury room with jacuzzi looking over the lazy river, all inclusive, 2 pools to accomodate children, activities every day for the whole family , horse backriding, tubing, swimming in the natural pool with waterfalls, canoe in the cave. Great friendly staff who makes you feel at home. If you liked Costa Rica, you will love belize and Dream Valley Jungle Resort.

Room Tip: Even though we were traveling with our 6 years old, we choose the honeymoon suite with the jacuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I just came back from Dream Valley and have to say, it was a DREAM! Upon arrival you are greeted by a friendly staff and welcome by a refreshing beverage, then toured to a "Dream Valley"', Lush greenery forest, sounds of nature, the river, I had to just stop and take it all in! This is when I decided, phone is not going on!!!
The suites are Beautiful, very cozy sized suites, unique to it's core, and the bathroom is so spacious which it's always a plus for anyone, I think. You have the choice to air conditioning or just open up wooden shutters and let the sounds of the birds and river and wind put you to sleep. The suites offer a cozy tv area to relax, watch tv and/or read and if you must, wi-fi is offer and you can check in on Facebook lol
As for daily activities, you can relax with a drink and appetizers by the 2 pools overlooking the river and magnificent surroundings, You can go to the trails mountain biking, bird watch, see the monkeys hanging around the trees, you can get pampered at the spa, you can go to the conference with high vaulted ceilings with serene decor and relax, read, watch tv or just hang out with your friends as we did, or choose to have them arrange for fun adventurous tours from horseback riding, the Mayan ruins, zip lining, cave canoeing, cave tubing, and so much more.
Lastly, the restaurant food was amazing, we had something different to chose from everyday and it was so delicious we kept asking for the recipe, lol I am not a great cook, but will surely attempt some of their delicious dishes and will miss their fruit platters as the fruit is so tasty and colorful.
Thank you Dream Valley, you truly offer a dream vacation!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I took my wife to this newly opened resort for her birthday treat and treat is certainly the word to be used. We ended up in the Bigger cabana (they have a standard one and then the other one we stayed in) which was the size of a tennis court! Seriously there were 5 levels to this room, a terrace with great views to the lazy river, then the entry area complete with sunken jacuzzi, then a lounge level with large TV, massive bedroom with four poster bed and then a bathroom which was in itself the size of most hotel rooms. We were greeted by the jovial Manager Yaima who is from Cuba and Switzerland and who laughs in almost every sentence, quite charming. She had so much to share and really made us feel very welcome, we were the only guests that night and had the dining room to ourselves, a massive vaulted ceiling restaurant. Dinner was a lovely affair cooked by a very jolly chef who came and introduced himself and basically designed our menu with us as we sat down, We did not have to wait long for food which was delicious. Steaks were oversized, neither of us could finish our steaks but it was the tastiest T bone i have had in a long time. They surprised us with a birthday cake for my wife (and all came out singing) nice touch, We sat in the very comfy well designed lounge area but there was some weather related issues preventing the TV cable from working, but Yaima quickly picked out a few movies and we went back to the room to watch them. We thoroughly enjoyed the jacuzzi, water was piping hot this was such a treat. The room offered fans or a/c and we opted for a night in on our own and closed all the wooden shutters giving a total black out and turned on the a/c. We took breakfast out on the terrace and though I am no big birding fan we sat there listening and trying to identify a huge number of bird calls all around, even heard howler monkeys and the call of a Toucan (but did not see it sadly) Breakfast started with some wonderful typical french style pastries like puff pastry with apple and jam, wonderful. After breakfast we looked around and saw the two pools (yes two not one) side by side which seemed to be just being finished off. With the rain we did not feel like a dip but they looked perfectly fine and shallow enough for kids. There was a spa which according to the staff we spoke to will be opening shortly, not sure what that means in weeks but it seemed pretty finished to us except some furniture. All in all this resort has a great future ahead of it and i hope travellers find it when they are looking for jungle options. I promised my wife it would not be another birthday before heading back to the resort for dinner or to stay. The one final observation is that we only stayed one night but i can imagine if we had stayed a few nights we would probably have spent more time than usual at the resort versus touring around the region because the resort lends itself to that. The small touches, decorative art were all amazing, Only thing i did not like (but its purely personal and no reflection on the resort) was the sheets which seemed like a satin type of mix, i am just a fan of 100% cotton linen on hotel beds. Good job Yaima and her staff, we will be back!

Room Tip: Spend the extra US$ 100 on the upgrade to the luxury cabana it was worth every dollar. The rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Valley Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Valley Jungle Lodge

Address: Young Gial Road | Teakettle Village, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Cayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dream Valley Jungle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dream Valley Jungle Resort; our romantic & intimate jungle retreat. Dream Valley Resort settles on 60 acres of rich jungle. The property was carefully chosen to capture the theme of romance and nature. We opened doors on 25th February, 2012. Our 6 Chalets sit along raised platforms nestled on the bank of the enchanting Belize River. We boast our abundance in wildlife, different species of birds, magnificent gardens, vegetation and lush rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Dream Valley Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Valley Jungle Lodge Belize/Cayo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Valley Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.