We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything, except leaving!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Equestrian Trails

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cayo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Equestrian Trails
Save
You added Mountain Equestrian Trails to your Saves list
Mile 8 Mountain Pine Ridge Rd | Cayo District, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 49 Cayo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vanderpool, Texas
1 review
“Loved everything, except leaving!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Loved every moment of my recent stay at MET except for the part where I had to leave and come back to reality! The food was plentiful & fabulous! The cabana was exactly what I expected. It is the jungle after all. It was cozy & decorated well with fresh flowers on the pillow, & mosquito nets which we did not need. I don't think I saw a single one during our stay. The open air windows, thatched roof, and an occasional visit by a praying mantis or gecko just added to the adventure. I hope they never get electricity because it is much more fun with the kerosene lamps. A true jungle experience!

Our group consisted of riders with horse experience ranging from expert to "dude" as we say in Texas. We all had an equal amount of fun & found the horses to be well mannered & sure footed. The guides were fabulous and the Bevis family welcoming. My only regret is that we didn't have more time to visit all of the ruins. We shall return!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marguerite B, Owner at Mountain Equestrian Trails, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review! I apologize for taking so long to respond. We had such a nice time with your group! I'm so glad you all enjoyed your stay. Good times we won't forget!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
46
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Staying at MET is like staying with a family rather than staying at a resort. You will join the Bevis family for breakfast and dinner every day. The family included the grandparents who founded the lodge, the adult age children, and the 3 young grandchildren. Food was homestyle cooking - not gourmet, but I enjoyed the food - and the family was very nice.

The cabins are spacious but very rustic. There is no electricity. The lack of electricity was not a problem, but the number of bugs was a bit disconcerting. The cabins are thatched roof with open holes for windows - no screens. Every night, we had a large number of creatures - large beetles (3-4 in. beetles on the last night), ghekoes, spiders (of all shapes and sizes including large hairy ones), and a giant preying mantis. They supply bug nets which mostly kept the bugs out of the bed, but some occasional guests found their way in. The rooms also have straw brooms to sweep larger bugs out the door. Screens would have been much appreciated.

The trails were very pretty, but riding is a bit hit or miss. Your riding will be very affected by who is present at the lodge during your stay. While they say that they cater to beginner to experienced riders, guests were grouped together regardless of experience. As a result, advanced riders will likely be very bored and beginner riders pushed more than they may feel comfortable. Trails included some beautiful areas to canter, so these would be great if all advanced riders, but they also included very steep mountain trails up and down which would presumable be very slippery and dangerous if wet. It appears that the lodge does not get many guests during rainy season though, and the horses were very sure-footed. The horses were also very well behaved, so they are good for beginners.

The excursions included in the stay were the best part. Guides selected for excursions were very knowledgeable. The Tikal trip was great. There was not much easily spotted mammal wildlife around MET (lots of birds but don't expect to see mammals- though you can hear howler monkeys in the distance). Sightings of monkeys and coatis are more frequent at Tikal and the pyramids were impressive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marguerite B, Owner at Mountain Equestrian Trails, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You gave a good description of our rides, thank you. We manage to make it work regardless of the composition of the group. We also appreciate your warning that our guests may see some insects and geckos, we do want guests to know what to expect. We have installed trail cameras and will begin posting some of the photos of wildlife we are catching on our trails. The animals are there, it is just not easy to see them. We are glad you enjoyed the excursions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I loved my time at MET. I was travelling alone and enjoyed the family meals, which were absolutely delicious. They kindly provided me with a room that was atmospheric and affordable. A really special place with a lot of personal attention. The rides were a great opportunity to feel the forest.
Hopefully they will build a pool, and then I would have to just move in..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marguerite B, Owner at Mountain Equestrian Trails, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Thank you for writing a review! We enjoyed our time with you!
Keep checking back, hoping there will be a pool some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Finally got around to writing a review! :-)
We spent four nights at MET in July/August 2013 and, like everyone else here, have only good things to say. Gio picked us up in Belize City and looked after us for most of our stay. When we arrived to our cabana it was beautifully decorated with flowers from the garden. As many previous reviewers have stated, it is very romantic with only the kerosene lights after dark - too bad we were brother and sister travelling together! :-)
The Bevis family is truly lovely and it was very nice having dinner together with them - and the food is indeed fantastic with generous portions.
As for excursions, we went to see Caracol which is highly recommended, and having a knowledgable guide like Gio makes all the difference. The ATM cave is definitely something not to miss as you both get to experience a jungle walk, the adventure of wading/swimming/climbing through the cave, and also see the beautiful cave formations and Mayan artifacts and remains. A useful piece of information though is that cameras are not allowed to bring into the cave, so there is no point in bringing one - just wear shoes and clothes that you don't mind getting wet, plus they recommend wearing socks while walking around in the dry part of the cave, so as to not damage the cave floor. Finally, if staying at MET of course one has to go for a horse riding adventure - we rode to Barton Creek Cave with our excellent guide Rigo, who answered any questions we had about the flora and fauna. The ride took us past a mennonite village which was interesting to see, and the cave itself is also well worth visiting (accessed by canoe).
Another highlight of staying at MET was to see humming birds for the first time - several beautiful species come to the cantina every day!
A big thanks to the Bevis family for the wonderful time, we really would like to come back and spend more time at MET!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marguerite B, Owner at Mountain Equestrian Trails, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Thank you for writing a wonderful review! It is greatly appreciated! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you can return one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Spent here a couple of days, went horseriding and a car transfer to belize City City with a number of stops.
Place is amazing and run by great people who really try to make you feel you part of the family. Giovanni, the main tour guy is absolutely a knowledgeable. This is an authentic place in the nature to and would be a pity to miss this part of belize.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metbelize, Owner at Mountain Equestrian Trails, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you so much for writing a great review for us. We're so glad you happened upon our place and that you enjoyed your stay. We also appreciate the compliments for Gio, who we think is the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The folks at MET are fantastically friendly, helpful and just plain nice people. They took us on exploration trips to newly discovered waterfalls, to beautiful overlooks and on fantastic birding excursions. They were competing in a bird watch event and we identified to 55 species in an hour just strolling around their grounds. Aaron and Gio were fantastic birding guides, and I was able to identify 40 new birds in one day, including three male Lovely Cotinga.

The facilities are rustic yet provide you with almost every convenience you need while making you feel like you're living in the jungle. This is our second trip to MET, after 22 years, and it was just as nice as the first time. Highly recommended for the adventurous spirit even if, like us, you're not horse people.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metbelize, Owner at Mountain Equestrian Trails, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you! The Lovely Cotinga was a definite highlight for all of us! I'm so glad you were there during our bird count and that you were able to add so many species to your list. Birding is generally not what people think of when seeing the name Mountain Equestrian Trails, but in fact, the birding, as you said, is pretty spectacular. We appreciate you taking the time to writing a glowing review. Hope we'll see you again another day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I recently completed a 17 day visit to Belize, which included 5 days at Mountain Equestrian Trails. The staff, accommodations, food, and horseback tours into the jungle, exceeded any expectations I had prior to arrival. The tour guides are extremely knowledgeable in the flora, fauna, geology, and Mayan history of the Cayo region. Regardless of your interests, I would recommend Mountain Equestrian Trails as a must see on any trip to Belize.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metbelize, Owner at Mountain Equestrian Trails, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you! We enjoyed hanging out with you! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you taking the time to write for us. Hope to see you again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Equestrian Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Equestrian Trails

Address: Mile 8 Mountain Pine Ridge Rd | Cayo District, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecotel-certified Belize Ecotourism Jungle Lodge offering adventure vacations: horseback riding tours, hiking, bird watching, butterfly gardens, waterfalls, river caves & vehicle tours to Mayan ruins. Cabanas are made of stucco with thatched roofs, with private baths, hot water and intimate kerosene lighting. The Cantina is a restaurant and bar where you'll enjoy open-air, home-style dining and bird watching from your table. MET is one of "1,000 Places to See Before You Die" by Patricia Schultz. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Equestrian Trails Hotel San Ignacio
Mountain Equestrian Trails Belize/Cayo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Equestrian Trails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.