We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back to Pine Ridge Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Ridge Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cayo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Ridge Lodge
Save
You added Pine Ridge Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Mile 18 San Ignacio-Augustine Road | PO Box 128, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Cayo
Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back to Pine Ridge Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

We had a wonderful time at Pine Ridge Lodge! Myself, husband, my kids (daughter-23, son-21) thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Gary and Vicki made us feel like we were staying at someone's home instead of a resort. They were always there to greet you and recommended excursions that they would book for you. These were most memorable...all excellent. The villas were rustic and comforatable with big hot showers and fresh flowers. You can drink the water directly our of the tap and the stream. The gardens are beautiful and Vicki/Gary gave us a wonderful tour pointing out the unusual orchids. The crowning jewel was dinner. The dining room was cozy with the kerosen lamps glowing, great conversation and the big screen windows. Vivki and her staff prepared delicious, full-course, homecooked meals without electricity. Vicki had no problem with our no red meat requests and provided us with many culinary treats that I have since received recipes for from her. The Lodge was an experience that we are all still talking about. It is a real treat to stay with such warm, caring people that really know what they are doing.

  • Liked — staff/location/food
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2007

Staying at the pine ridge lodge was wonderful. My girlfriend and I vacationed in Belize this past june and spent 4 days basking in this little gem in the middle of a mountains. The ride from the airport was about two hours long. If possible, try and travel the road through san ignacio and some of the last preserved functioning mayan villages in the world. They are breathtaking. There is another road but it is extremely hilly and rocky. The pine ridge lodge is a series of several cabins located on an 13 acre organic orchard nestled in the pine forest. There is a mountain stream that abuts the property and it is only a short walk down to a beautiful and completely private waterfall. If you want to relax, this is the place for you. There are hammocks everywhere and the rooms are very comfortable. If you are adventurous, there are several activities that can be booked from the lodge. We toured the mayan ruins in the rainforest at caracol, explored mountain caves, cliff jumped at a large local waterfall and hiked all over the place. It was sooo peaceful. Also the food was immaculate!

  • Liked — food, nature and relaxation
  • Disliked — black flies
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

Pine Ridge Lodge rocks, that is, it's built on the solid granite of the Pine Ridge. My daughter and I stayed for two nights, July 2-3, and had a great time. Richard was a great host and Steeler fan! The cooks even made plain food for my daughter, who loved the zucchini pancakes. We were the only two people staying at the lodge those nights and it was silent, only the moonlight and the music of a stream outside our cabin. The morning coffee was wonderful. Just one thing - you need to be careful with the hot water which gets really hot - but then you don't really need it. A cold shower feels great. I will definitely stay again when I'm in the Mountain Pine Ridge.

Bill Englehart and Tamlyn

  • Liked — Location in Mountain Pine Ridge
  • Disliked — scalding hot water in shower
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

My family stayed at Pine Ridge lodge for 4 nights and then when to San Pedro for 5 nights. The dinners at Pine Ridge were fabulous: the food was great, and the conversation around the table with the other guests and with Richard was very enjoyable.

We visited a Mayan ruin and several waterfall swimming holes. The swimming holes were more fun than going to a water amusement park--natural whirlpools, natural water slides down slippery rocks, etc. We also had some nice down time relaxing in the screened hammock house by the stream.

If you are looking for air-conditioned luxury, Pine Ridge is not the place for you, but if you are looking for a family adventure in the jungle with good food and good company, Pine Ridge is great.

  • Liked — Being out in the jungle
  • Disliked — Once you get off the Western Hwy, the road to Pine Ridge is a little rough.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

We just returned from the Lodge after 3 days in the area. It is located on a ridge of pine and other lush vegatation west of Belize City. The lodge is reached via paved and dirt roads through a few small villiages. The site contains an attractive creek, beautiful gardens, cabins and other buildings for guests. The manager, Richard, offers excellent cuisine and is an interesting person. He shares his interest in birds, foxes and other wildlife native to this region. He is well informed about plants and takes pride in his well cared for grounds, There is an attractive falls on the creek, a nearby cave, ruins and interesting sights nearby.
At this time there seem to be very few tourists visiting the lodge or even the area in general. This relatively unknown jewel above the jungle and seacoast offers a sancuary for any who wish to get to a somewhat remote vacation spot that is quite eaisily accessed from more populated areas.
No mosquitoes but small blackflies are around.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon Ohio
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2007

Lodge:
We stayed March 1st through 5th. Very nice rooms...very clean (some were in the process of being painted). We had room 7 by the stream and had it lulled us to sleep each night. No electricity...but that was kind of nice with the kerosene lanterns and there is plenty of hot water. My girlfriend and I got up early each morning to birdwatch so we were pretty tired after dinner anyway.
One day should be planned to explore the grounds. The tall pines in the area are all dead but it is interesting to see the regeneration and all the lanscaping they have done around the cabanas. They have a private waterfall that is a nice walk and an even nicer cool down for those hot days. The black flies come out about 6 AM but are gone by 7:00 AM...I did not notice any other bugs at the lodge but there were mosquitos on the side trips that were down the mountain. The other thing that is hard to believe is the great sleeping weather. We stayed the last 4 nights of a 12 day trip and weere used to hot nights, here we needed the two extra wool balnkets they provide. The evenings are WONDERFULL. They can only accomodate 19 people with their 7 person staff...and that is how the owners like it. There was only one other couple the 4 nights we stayed. You are sure to see birds here and they are different ones from the broadleaf forest. We added the Pygmy Owl, Swallow Tail Kite, White Hawk, and others on the property itself along with their friendly fox
The water is right from the stream, it is clear, pure, and we drank gallons of it with no problems.
Staff:
Excellent...very informative. Richard is the manager but will likely tell you he is the janator...or a fighter pilot...or the mayor...or maybe your long lost brother...you will love his sense of humor. He can tell you the practicality of your plans and help you set up anything you would like to do. Vickie, the owner was there for our stay and she made us feel welcome right away and made some tremendous meals without electricity. The trip up can be bad and the road tore up our rear tire on the way. Richard found me a used tire, his staff mounted it on their lunch break and had me back on the road the next day. Richard even helped me get reimbursed for the tire and mounting from the rental compnay.
Area:
There are a lot of things to do in the area...waterfalls, caves, and Caracol. We did them all. Be sure to ask about the ATM cave if you are really adventurous. It takes all day and you get wet cold and dirty...but the things you get to see will put you in a very small elite group. The are some more family friendly caves and places right in the area. The broadleaf forest is only 40 min away so you can hang out in both climates. San Ignacio can be a little intimidating to drive in with the narrow streets, but everywhere else was ok as long as you watched the road and the speed bumps.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Pine Ridge Lodge for three nights in January 2007, and had a terrific time. Our comfortable cottage was next to a small river that gurgled us to sleep. The food was excellent, and the hosts (Vicki, Gary and Richard Seewald) were most hospitable. Pine Ridge Lodge makes a convenient staging point for a trip to the magnificent Mayan ruins at Caracol.

  • Liked — the hospitality
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Ridge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Ridge Lodge

Address: Mile 18 San Ignacio-Augustine Road | PO Box 128, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Cayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Ridge Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Ridge Lodge offers the adventurous traveler a unique location, 5 miles within the Mountain Pine Ridge Forest Reserve, to accompany our superior accommodations, tropical gardens, orchid lined paths and terrific food. Being within the Reserve provides Pine Ridge Lodge with the best location for an exploration of the massive Caracol ruins or an investigation of the Mountain Pine Ridge and its’ wonders (Rio Frio Cave, Rio On Pools, 1000’ Falls etc.). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Ridge Lodge Belize/Cayo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Ridge Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.