We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caracol Defeated Tikal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caracol Mayan Ruins

Caracol Mayan Ruins
65 km (40 mi) south of San Ignacio, Belize
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$100*
and up
Caracol Day Trip from San Ignacio
Ranked #4 of 38 Attractions in Cayo
Type: Ancient Ruins, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Cultural
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 30-acre complex is the largest Mayan ruin in Belize.
San Ignacio, Belize
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Caracol Defeated Tikal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Caracol is the supreme boss of Tikal- (When in A.D.562) You don't want to miss visiting this famous highest temple up to now in Belize with a population of one hundred and eighty thousand people during the maya hiatus.a lot of people complain about the road let me tell you i love it it's a free massage road,you never get any where else in the world.form San Ignacio it"s 2 1/2 hrs drive a beautiful scenery of the mountain pine ridge and then into the rain-forrest where caracol is,on the way you stop at rio frio cave and then to cool off at the rio on pools before you head back to town,we do this on a daily run as the owner of Bzmtours used to work their so he knows all of caracol an it"s history and being the best guide ever for caracol,this is his phone 621-0312 you will be amazed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    47
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Indeed, as people write the drive to Caracol is brutal but the rewards when you get there are worth it. The ruins were bigger and more intact then expected. We had a guide but I would recommended going on your own and taking the day to walk around and see all the different sites. Although, our guide, provided by Edwin Turs was great and helpful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Caracol, unspoiled adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Caracol is located about 50 miles from San Ignacio, but is well worth the journey. The road is 'exciting' and full of flora and fauna from the surrounding Chiquibul Forest.

Once you reach the impressive site, note that the largest pyramid in Caracol is actually the largest pyramid in Belize, and for a long time was the largest structure in the country. (no longer the case)

When exploring Caracol we highly recommend hiring a local guide who can give you great history about the site, and really help you experience what life might have been like for the ancient Maya. Caracol is also unique because of its location. The drive excludes most people from visiting, so you will often be one of the few people exploring the huge site (which is magical!)

Be sure to stop at the Rio On pools on your way home to cool off and enjoy a refreshing swim.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
292 helpful votes 292 helpful votes
“well worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We drove there ourselves in our hired tiny hatchback (hired in Mexico) The journey was 50 miles from San Ignacio on a road that is a poor bumpy surface, except strangely for the last 5 miles which is smooth tarmac. A reward perhaps for enduring the previous 45 miles! Most people come on organised excursions in 4x4’s, easy for driving but still bumpy though. And at $100+ per person somewhat more expensive than our $10 each. It’s a safe drive. You still have to sign in and out at a military checkpoint and the road is narrow in parts but everyone goes in in the morning and out after lunch so you are unlikely to encounter any traffic. Only 6 cars, all 4x4 except us, in the car park and the guide/drivers of other vehicles offered to let us drive out first in case they had to rescue our tiny vehicle. All very friendly banter as it always was with the people of Belize. A stunning site.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellogg Mn USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“dusty roads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The site was well worth the drive to get there. It is still being developed but is very interesting. Don't worry about the warning to follow the convoy in for safety. Four other vehicles and our selves went in alone and had no problem.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caracol Mayan Ruins also viewed

 

Been to Caracol Mayan Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caracol Mayan Ruins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.