We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birders Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Garden Eco-Village Hotel Belize

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Orchid Garden Eco-Village Hotel Belize to your Saves list
Orchid Garden Eco-Village Hotel Belize
14.5 Mile Western Highway, Belize City 225, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 23 Belize City B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Birders Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Orchid Eco-Village Lodge is an absolutely wonderful place to stay! Christine was an absolutely terrific host providing info about the island, places to visit and best tours to take. Thanks Christine, Jason, Alviro and Alfredo for making our trip so pleasurable.

The lodge location is very central to most attractions! Snorkeling, Tubing, ATM caving, Lamanai Ruins, Bird watching and River Cruise, Crooked Tree Bird Sanctuary are all less than 2 hours away so everything can be seen within a day's outing. If you are a bird watcher, this is the biggest secret as no one has ever mentioned. There are so many birds can be spotted within the lodge's huge yard like flycatchers, kiskadees, tanagers, redstarts, antbirds, wrens, bananaquit, grosbeaks, orioles, kingfishers, vultures, chachalaca, many species of warblers, mockingbirds, thrushes, jays, herons, doves, parakeets, parrots, robins, hummingbirds and last not least her Muscovy ducks. Every day we watched the mother duck leads a group of newly hatched ducklings to the pond. Don't miss this place if you are a birder. Thank you to Alfredo and Alviro for helping pointing out some birds and wildlife to us.

Room Tip: Rooms near the TV room have stronger Internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    38
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
62
105
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We booked an all-inclusive package at this hotel for two reasons: they were offering vegan food (we are vegan), and they were offering trips to most places we wanted to see. Jason (the owner) was extremely helpful over email to customize our trip, adding things that were not advertised on their website (a trip to Altun Ha, a trip to Xunatunich, both Mayan ruins, also a trip to snorkel and see manatees from San Pedro). The place is unassuming from the road, but an actual jungle botanical garden once you wander on its paths. The rooms are basic but comfortable, and have amenities such as A/c and fridge. There is bottled water available. Only thing you may need to bring is a hair dryer if you want (although one can probably be borrowed from the common room which has a TV and internet; no TV in the rooms, which actually I enjoyed). The FOOD is fantastic!!! We had wonderful Belizean breakfasts and dinners with Chinese flair (Christine, the owner and her staff are great cooks), and the only problem was i could not always finish all of it :).
Lunch was provided on our trips (at different restaurants), and the trips were informative, the guides were very knowledgeable and friendly. There is no swimming pool but an actual swimming hole on the property grounds. We loved our stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

For my first trip out of the US, Ihad the time of my life! This all inclusive package for a nine day adventure, going through cave ruins, hiking into Mayan ruins, zip lining, cave tubing, snorkeling with the nurse sharks andf stingrays, to name a few, could not have been better! The individual attention our four person party recieved was nothing less than subperb, making us feel as though we were the only guests at their lodge. The food, homegrown and chemical free, was delicious; formal in a rustic atmosphere; and leaving you walking away from the table very well fed. The excursions were top notch; offering you a personal guide who was handpicked for the best outing possible. If I were to describe the best excursion, it was the ATM: Actun Tunichil Muknal: The Cave of the Crystal Sepulture. Going through the river into the cave to the ruin was incredible and unforgetting!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My fiancee (we got engaged in Tikal) and I stayed here for about 12 nights and felt right at home almost immediately. Christine, Jason and all of the staff were wonderful and really took great care of us. We really felt like we made new friends, including the resident Pato Loco (the crazy duck-he thinks he is a dog).

This place was just our speed -basic clean comfort without expensive luxuries we don't need, and not Spartan either. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a firm King bed. A hot shower is a must for me and I was not disappointed. It was quiet every night, even though it was nearly a full house at least half the time. If you want fancy 5-star accommodations, you might go elsewhere, but if you are visiting the interior of Belize, that might be tough. I might like to see a bit more soft lighting especially in the dining room - you know, garden lights, candles on the table, and floor lamps and more table lamps instead of bare fluorescent tubes in the room, but that wont stop me from coming back.

Christine is wonderfully attentive and genuinely cares for the comfort and satisfaction of her guests. I trusted her to hang onto the bling until it was time to present it to my bride to be. My mate got ill one evening (NOT from eating at Orchid Garden) and Christine showed deep maternal concern for her health. It was nothing that 24 hours wont cure, but it was reassuring to feel such concern for her. She reshuffled our outside reservations while we waited it out.

You wont see much of Jason, but he is "on it" from the keyboard. We booked all of our excursions through them, and their driver-guides were excellent. We spent most of our time with Alfredo who was gentlemanly delightful. He's very knowledgeable about the history, ecology, archaeology and culture of Belize (not to mention all the good places to eat!). Alvaro was also a pleasure, and they both speak perfect English along with Spanish, Kriol, and Mayan.

It was a joy to converse with them in the van rides to our destinations about a myriad of topics while the got us from door to door.

Let's talk about the food! We ate breakfast and dinner in the dining room every day we stayed and the meals were absolutely exceptional. Jason and Christine are Taiwanese, and bring Asian flair to their kitchen where meals are prepared fresh. Chicken, fish, shrimp were the dinner entrees, prepared different ways but usually with Asian flavor and stir fry vegetables. The soups were outstanding....I'm sure I'm forgetting something. They accommodated our gluten free requests without batting an eye. Breakfast was equally delicious and nourishing-eggs, beans, tortillas, oatmeal, fruit, FRESH orange juice, toast -HOT DAMN!

Props to the staff- roomkeepers, servers, bellman, and hostesses all rolled into one.

If you want to explore Belize without the hassle of booking everything yourself and the uncertainty that goes along with driving yourself around - do what we did: Stay out of Belize City, and Trust Christine and Jason to make your Belize adventure as comfortable and memorable as ours was. Oh, and be certain to go to the ATM cave- you will never forget it!


Thank you so much Christine and Jason!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

For our Belize vacation in February we were looking for something different from the typical 4 or 5 star hotel stay. We selected the Orchid Garden Eco Village outside Belize City for our 12 day vacation. Jason provided us with an all-inclusive package that included 9 days sightseeing and adventures in Belize, an overnight Guatemala tour of Tikal and 3 days in San Pedro which included a snorkeling tour. It turned out to be an excellent choice both for the cost and the level of service we received. The natural environment of the Orchid Garden Eco village added to adventure. Christine provided very personalized service and made us feel like part of the family. The food was excellent and the service level provided by the staff was great. Alfredo and Alverto made our airport and water taxi transportation , day trips, and excursions easy and worry free. They made sure we were never left alone and took outstanding care of us during our stay. If you are looking for something truly unique I would highly recommend the Orchid Garden Eco-Village.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I chose Orchid Garden Eco-Village for our December vacation in Belize based on the TripAdvisor reviews, and was thrilled with my decision. My husband and two children, ages 16 and 22 spent four days there, and every minute was memorable. We all had a fabulous time. Orchid Garden is NOT a "5-star" resort, and it is located in the middle of nowhere (okay, technically it's near Ladyville, but blink and you'll miss that town entirely). However, this simple hotel offers a great package of spotlessly clean, simple rooms (cleaned thoroughly every morning), simple but fresh and varied meals, an extremely attentive staff, and FABULOUS outings. Each day was planned out for us by Jason and Christine, the owners. At breakfast, Christine walks around to the tables and tells you what's in store for your day, then one of the drivers drives you there. Here's what we did: Day One (arrived mid-day), visited the Baboon Sanctuary; Day 2, went zip-lining and cave river tubing, then took a guided walking tour of the Orchid Garden property; Day 3, visited the Lamanai Ruins; and Day 4, trekked to and into the ATM cave (Day 5, after breakfast, we were driven Belize City to catch a boat to Ambergris Caye) . Our guides at every location were truly fabulous. My guess is that most of the tour operators at these locations are excellent, but I want to credit Christine and Jason for setting us up every day with knowledgeable, dynamic guides. And EVERYTHING was included; in fact, when Alfredo dropped us off for the boat ride to Lamanai, he made sure to tell us that not only was lunch included but a tip had already been paid to the tour operator, so we didn't have to worry about that. This made the whole experience so easy and stress-free. I want to speak briefly about the food. As many reviewers have noted, it is fresh and varied, with a lot of vegetables and fruit. My daughter and I are vegetarians, and I had let Jason know this ahead of time. Each evening, the kitchen prepared a special vegetarian dish for us - even on the night when they were serving a delicious tofu dish! They still made an additional dish for us! (I think it was sauteed mushrooms.) Breakfasts tended to be more Belizean and dinners, which are served buffet-style, have an Asian feel - a lot of stir-fried dishes. The only thing not included are alcoholic drinks. I like to have wine with dinner on vacation, so on our way from the airport on our first day, Alfredo stopped at a grocery store so we could buy a couple bottles of wine, and some Belizean beer. We probably didn't need to stock up quite as much as we did, because although the hotel is located in the middle of nowhere, you pass through towns traveling to and from each excursion. In sum, if you want to see Belize, have an adventurous vacation, and be extremely well taken care of, book your stay at the Orchid Garden Eco-Village.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

What a wonderful time we had during our stay – Christine, Jason and staff provided us with a most enjoyable vacation. From the moment we cleared customs at the airport to the moment we arrived back at the airport 8 days later we were treated as royal visitors. The details and coordination of all of our activities were set-up for us through their care so we had nothing more to do than immerse ourselves in the planned event – and those events were amazing. We learned more about Belize, its history and its flora and fauna than we could ever have imagined and we owe that all to the great drivers/guides that were provided. The meals provided each and every day were creative, eye appealing, and so delicious – perhaps our favorite part of them was the very delicious and unexpected fruit drinks, yum. If you’ve ever considered visiting Belize, our recommendation to you would be to book your visit at Orchid Garden Eco Village.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid Garden Eco-Village Hotel Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Garden Eco-Village Hotel Belize

Address: 14.5 Mile Western Highway, Belize City 225, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Belize Vacations package take in the tropical rain forests, abundant wildlife, fascinating Mayan monuments, awesome underground caves, amazing coral reefs, mangroves and wetlands; they involve activities such as world-class snorkeling or diving along the coral reef, zip-lining through the rainforest canopy, tubing through a caves branch system, jungle horseback riding, river and lagoon wildlife cruising, exploring the ruins of ancient Mayan cities and other activities to experience the beauty of the tropical ecology in Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Orchid Garden Eco-Village Hotel Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Garden Eco-Village Hotel Belize Belize City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Garden Eco-Village Hotel Belize, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.