We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Garden Eco-Village Hotel Belize

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Orchid Garden Eco-Village Hotel Belize to your Saves list
Orchid Garden Eco-Village Hotel Belize
14.5 Mile Western Highway, Belize City 225, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 23 Belize City B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

In 2-1/2 weeks of traveling in Belize, this was by far the nicest place we stayed and great value compared to other facilities. This unique lodge / natural museum (!) has been built to capture the flavour of the Belizean countryside. It is staffed by wonderful people who were very friendly and thoughtful and who went the extra mile to ensure our needs were met, including taking the time to walk us around the grounds and show us the wildlife. The setting is very pretty and natural, while just a short drive from the airport, and they serve great organic/local food. (Though the rooms are plain, we found all accommodations in Belize to be fairly rustic and relatively highly priced.) It is just a short distance from the Belize Zoo (which we almost made the mistake of skipping) and though there aren't a lot of other local attractions (i.e. within 1 hour drive), we'd definitely recommend the Eco-Village for a brief stay. It is just a short ride out of Belize City and a much, MUCH better option than staying in BC when you're transiting through. (Having spent a bit of time in BC, we can definitely second the opinions of the locals that BC is pretty dangerous, grim and surprisingly had absolutely nothing of interest.) Private airport transport is basically the same price as a taxi to/from Belize City. (We arrived by local bus, which is a much cheaper option, but not recommended as the facility is neither well signed nor well known to the locals.)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    38
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
62
105
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My fiance and I went for a 5 day short get away. When we arrived at the airport it was great hospitality. We were able to take adventure trips everyday including the Mayan Ruins, snorkeling and a ATM cave tour. They chose the top tour guides to make sure you have the best experience. Breakfast and dinner are included and all the lunches were on the tour! The food was amazing and very fresh. I do not have any complaints and all the staff is very knowledgeable about the Mayan culture!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were looking for a nature/wildlife/Mayan experience and we got exactly that. The "jungle" setting and ecological attitude were rewarding. All of the staff were friendly, professional and extremely competent. Planning of our desired excursions was excellent, flexible and conducted with a high knowledge level of the various tour options. Food was plentiful, fresh, local and deliciouly prepared. Service by Debbie and Elda and presentation were very professional. Alfredo & Alvaron were very informative while transporting us safely and efficiently as well. BY the time we left we felt like "family". The accommodations, while spartan, were comfortable. TV/computer were available in a stocked library. WiFi for internet was best in the main dining/lounge/office area and not accessible in the room. Overall Jason & Christine provided a wonderful Belizean experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We are not too sure how fair or true-to-form this review will be because we were the ONLY guests staying here at the time, and it was only for one night. Yup - it was literally just Jason & I at the hotel. The rooms are simple with very little hot water in the showers. The beds were fairly comfortable. The food was amazing and you get a lot of it! It is flavorful, but not overbearing. We got fruit, breads, homemade jams, and everything was Belizean-style and very good. The tour guide, Alfredo, was 'unBelizeable' - seriously amazing!!! He is knowledgeable about the local trees, flowers, culture, history, all the animals at the zoo, and is also very personable, funny and easy to get along with. We toured the Belize Zoo, Belize City, and the Eco-Village with him and they were all absolutely fantastic. Many many thanks to all who made our stay truly memorable!

Room Tip: Definitely not a resort, but it has everything you will need & more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I spent some time in Belize this summer. We had a great time. Christine and Jason at the Eco Village were great hosts. It is very great to see that they grow many of their own plants and use as many sustainable processes as possible when operating their establishment. There is so much wildlife right on the resort!! We did soo many great things on our trip. Cave tubing, world class snorkling (we saw manatees!!!), and cave exploring. Our driver Alvaro who took us from excursion to excursion was also a great host and an ambassador to the Belizean hospitality. Cannot say enough good things about the meals that we had everyday as well. You will not be dissappointed!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This year, without much time for research and planning, my family and I ended up going to Belize where it turned out to be wonderful.

Our package, which was well prepared by Orchid Garden/Eco-Village Hotel, included accommodations, delicious cuisines, and abundant excursions. We explored the beauty of the tropical ecology in Belize; granted knowledge and history of the Mayan cities; adventured the awesome underground caves; and fascinated by the pyramids and temples in Tikal, Guatamela.

We truly enjoyed the time we spent in Belize. The hotel staffs were welcoming and courteous. Their food was extremely delicious, and our tours were privately guided and well planned from one point to another. We could not stop talking about our vacation after coming back to America. Several friends and families had asked for information and I sure would not hesitate to recommend Orchid Garden/Eco-Village Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Eco-Village is a convenient and caring hideaway from which to launch an exotic jungle adventure. Whether caving through the depths of the Mayan underworld, ziplining through the treetops of the rainforest, or visiting the ancient ruins of Tikal, our family was continuously educated and entertained. Requests to customize the creative itinerary were also expeditiously arranged. Once in Belize, Christine and her staff attended to every detail. Culinary feasts, insightful tours, dedicated workers, and well-organized transportation are the hallmark of this unpretentious hotel. We will miss them!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid Garden Eco-Village Hotel Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Garden Eco-Village Hotel Belize

Address: 14.5 Mile Western Highway, Belize City 225, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Belize Vacations package take in the tropical rain forests, abundant wildlife, fascinating Mayan monuments, awesome underground caves, amazing coral reefs, mangroves and wetlands; they involve activities such as world-class snorkeling or diving along the coral reef, zip-lining through the rainforest canopy, tubing through a caves branch system, jungle horseback riding, river and lagoon wildlife cruising, exploring the ruins of ancient Mayan cities and other activities to experience the beauty of the tropical ecology in Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Orchid Garden Eco-Village Hotel Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Garden Eco-Village Hotel Belize Belize City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Garden Eco-Village Hotel Belize, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.