We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe & comfortable - with a deck over Haullover Creek for a cold beer watching the world go by” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belcove Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Belcove Hotel to your Saves list
Belcove Hotel
9 Regent Street West, Belize City, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Belize City
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“Clean, safe & comfortable - with a deck over Haullover Creek for a cold beer watching the world go by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

Unexpectedly good small hotel in the middle of gritty Belize City - clean, comfortable, cheap & friendly + with really good security - which in this town is a must. You can walk most places here during the day as long as you don´t wear expensive jewellery & look like a target , but you´ll definitely need a taxi at night...
Absolutely not a luxury hotel, but the upstairs air con rooms are very good indeed.
The deck over Haullover Creek where you can drink a cold beer in the late afternoon & watch all the small harbour boats go by is a huge bonus - not to mention if you´re into birds more frigate birds & pelicans than you can count...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    66
    31
    7
    2
See reviews for
18
56
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Rooms are very minimal and simple, but very clean with surprisingly thick & fluffy towels! Great water pressure and hot water in the shower, which you'd never guess looking at it. Room 24 has a private bath and a fan in the room, there's a public phone downstairs, a great balcony overlooking the canal down the hall, and decent cheap, simple food right next door. Brodie's is within easy walking distance, as is almost all else, though the neighborhood is a bit rough around the edges, so don't go out alone at night. Staff is fantastic and will pick you up and take you wherever you need to go (airport $20US).

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Needed spot for just one nite before being picked up for Turneffe Isalnd Lodge. Located near the swing bridge, Picked us up at the airport as previously agreed. Rooms were small but clean. Full size bed. One room smelled like moth balls. It's not the Ritz but beers were available, cold and cheap.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

I spent one night here with a family member while waiting to go on a tour the following day. The hotel provided prompt email to book and Norma offered to pick us up at the airport, for a fee of $20 USD. The guesthouse is very modest, but extremely clean and within walking distance of the ferry terminal, tourist village and several good restaurants. The staff was helpful about advising us where to go and what was safe (they discouraged us from side streets after dark). A double room with fan was $32 USD and had a nice balcony overlooking Haulover Creek. There were lots of interesting birds that we saw from the Balcony. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

This is not the Ritz, however, the staff is Five Star... the comfortable room was very clean, and efficient. (we had a two bed / AC/ private bath, on the second floor). You'll be right in the center of town near the Belize City Swing Bridge, so bring your 'street smarts' with you. A wonderful day trip that was recommended by the staff turned out to be even better than they said, "Old Belize", about 15 minutes away, on the public bus. A nice touch was the shuttle to the airport at the end of our stay. I would return.
James G./ Dallas, Tx.

  • Liked — in city
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

Our first room was horrible. No private bath, no TV just two single beds with a rusty fan and tattered window coverings. It was so terrible that all we could do was laugh. Luckily the front desk guy happened to be hanging out in another room and invited us to watch TV with him (we checked in at 10pm). That room was paradise compared to what we had and we convinced him to let us upgrade (it was the best $20 I've ever spent). The room was clean with a nice bathroom, air conditioning and cable TV. I did feel safe even though we were in a sketchy part of town. If you want to be near the water taxi terminal this is a good location. The airport transfer was reasonable-$20.

Just be prepared for the sketchiness of that part of town. We didn't leave the hotel room until morning because it really did not seem safe.

If you book here make sure to specify private bath if you want one, otherwise you might get stuck sharing with a creepy guy that won't put his towel on all the way (true story).

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for one night in November. The location was ok, it was near the swing bridge and it has a porch on the water. For $37.00 it was a room. Other reviewers make it sound better than it actually is. I did have some issues, the spider in my room was HUGE, 3 inches with meaty legs. Also, rats run back and forth along the porch. That said, all the guests staying there were interesting people and made for a great evening of conversation sitting by the water. In fact, other people didn't seem to mind the rats at all. For 37$, it wasn't terrible. My husband and I felt safe enough to walk around town for awhile. We didn't appreciate that the guy working the desk charged us $20.00 US for a ride to the municipal airport and $20 US for a 12 inch pizza. He said the restaurants were all closed. We found out later that this was untrue. I say, stay there for a cheap hotel(if you don't mind the wildlife) but take care of other arrangements yourself(food and transportation).

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belcove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belcove Hotel

Address: 9 Regent Street West, Belize City, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belcove Hotel, located in the very center of downtown Belize City, with a view of the Hallover Creek and the famous Swing Bridge, welcomes you to its friendly, comfortable and cozy atmosphere. This family owned and operated business, offers you the very best in personal comfort that makes each of our guests feel like a V.I.P indeed. Our clean, comfortable rooms offer you the choice of a budget or deluxe rate accommodation of your choice in single, double or triple occupancy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Belcove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belcove Hotel Belize City
Belcove Hotel Belize/Belize City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belcove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.