We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Friendly Staff and Very Affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belcove Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Belcove Hotel to your Saves list
Belcove Hotel
9 Regent Street West, Belize City, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 Belize City B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Super Friendly Staff and Very Affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

This is a great place to stay if you are going to check out the mainland attractions, like: Mayan ruins, Belize Zoo, CAVE TUBING.com (this one shouldnt even be optional its so amazing!), etc.. Belize City itself isn't really attractive, but if you were going to stay in Caye Caulker or San Pedro and wanted to see any of those things, it would add soooo much travel time to your day and cost alot more too! Belcove was a great hub, awesome staff willing to help you out with anything! Good little rooms that they kept squeaky clean, they even folded our clothes that we left on the bed! :)
It was nice to sit on the balcony after a long day of touristing and watch the city at night....if you are lucky a guy will come by with baskets of baked goods and pastries for sale. The guy who works the night shift is really cool and good to talk to for tips and info.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty similar, go 4 top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    69
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
19
58
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed at the Belcove Hotel for three days. The hotel is very well decorated and very clean. The owners as well as the workers are extremely friendly and accomodating. If we had any questions about the area they were more than willing to give us advice on where to go and where to stay away from. There was a night guard on duty every night to ensure the safety of the guests. If you stay here or near here you must go around the corner to Marva's Restaurant. Marva is the owner and cook. The meals are absolutely delicious and are authentic belizean food. The environment friendly. Try the conch soup and the chicken with rice and beans!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

we travelled down through mexico and were heading across to san pedro then down to placencia so decided to stopover for 2 nights in the city.We wanted something pretty cheap and close to ferry point.This was it.It was only 5 min from bus station an2 mins from ferry point.It was pretty basic and small, but at the price we paid you can not expect more than we got.It was clean, the staff very friendly and we had 2 good nights sleep.The location is a bit of a culture shock, but once you get around that it was all ok.The views from the back of the hotel are excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

We stayed in May 2009 for 1 night enroute from Ambergris Caye. I felt I should write a review to balance some of the negativity because basically, you get what you pay for. And maybe even a little more in terms of courtesy and hospitality, because the front desk staff was lovely. Yes, it is a bit run-down but we found it clean and had all the basics for a bargain price. Overall, a super option for a pit-stop while enroute to/from your real vacation destination. And if that happens to be Belize City itself....well, I'm not sure why it would be!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

STAY AWAY! This place has gotta be one of the worst places I have stayed in in my extensive worldwide travels. My daughter is still suffering from the BUG BITES and requires extensive medical treatment. Filthy, idiot hosts, BedBug infested, noisy, extremely dangerous area, disgusting. I could go on but not necessary. My daughter and I scrammed out of there and setup at D'Nest which proved to be one of the really nice experiences in Belize. Host and Hostess there were the genuine article and the place is first rate and affordable. What a difference!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Good location & good service. Chance to meet the street people of this country. good walking distance to all of the " down town " sections. Couldn't get better service anywhere, these people are beautiful. Stay here with an open mind. We will return in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

My husband and I drove here from Virginia. Arriving to Belize City on New Years Eve was an adventure in itself. We chose to stay here to experience true culture of Belize City and its people. It was a great choice for us! The hotel was very clean, homey and the staff was great! Even though we didn't stay here every night we kept our belongings here and had somewhere to call home. Being that we drove here, the hotel staff made sure we had parking and provided us with maps and advice on local sights. We would definitely stay here again when staying in Belize City --- Thanks to Norma, Nicole, Lorraine and the rest of the Belcove Staff!! You guys are great! Irvine---I know you're not a part of the Belcove, but thanks to you too -----we had a blast! There is great food within walking distance from the hotel!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
0.6 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
0.5 mi away
Chateau Caribbean
Chateau Caribbean
#3 of 9 in Belize City
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
14.5 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#6 of 25 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belcove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belcove Hotel

Address: 9 Regent Street West, Belize City, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belcove Hotel, located in the very center of downtown Belize City, with a view of the Hallover Creek and the famous Swing Bridge, welcomes you to its friendly, comfortable and cozy atmosphere. This family owned and operated business, offers you the very best in personal comfort that makes each of our guests feel like a V.I.P indeed. Our clean, comfortable rooms offer you the choice of a budget or deluxe rate accommodation of your choice in single, double or triple occupancy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Belcove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belcove Hotel Belize City
Belcove Hotel Belize/Belize City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belcove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.