We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cave Tubing with Vitalino Reyes

Cave Tubing with Vitalino Reyes
Belize City, Belize
501-602-8975
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 62 activities in Belize City
Type: Water sports
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This cave tubing experience is with one of the cave tubing pioneers in Belize. Those touring with cavetubing.bz will be educated about the country of Belize, the flora and fauna, the history of the ancient Maya, and the geological and archaeological information about the cave and the area. We have experience with taking care of guests of most ages and conditions, and the comfort and safety of our people is of utmost concern to us. Tours take place in Cayo District, an hour outside of Belize City.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Visited on Nov. 28th with a group of 4.

Everything I read was what they delivered and then some. Booking by e-mail was painless, 50$pp.

We were on the first tender off our ship that day, and boy did they take advantage of that. Our tour guide gave us a fantastic tour of belize on the way to the caves with a whole lot of history. We also took our time making the walk up the path to the caves, getting a full education on every type of tree in belize and what they offer. The river run down was fantastic, and lunch was good. Back on time to catch our ship, everything was fantastic. Our tour was 6 hours total, simply because we got on land so early and our guide took full advantage of it by giving us an extensive history lesson on everything about Belize.

Note: The walk to up the river to the starting point is pretty nasty. The length is alright, but the stones they chose to make the path is pretty horrible, 2" to 4" stones, yes, that large. Imagine walking on that for 30 minutes...not so fun. It wasn't really a pisser on the whole experience, just warning people with walking disabilities.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,039
    135
    24
    14
    8
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Don't pay cruise ship prices for a very inferior tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We booked this last minute via the Internet and everything was handled accurately and efficiently. We left the ship by tender as early as possible as requested. We left immediately and were given a bottle of cold water. We started with a sightseeing tour which was very informative and interesting by our tour guide Jenny. Our driver was Lionel. On arrival at the national park we were supplied with comfortable tubes, lifejackets, helmets with LED headlamps. We walked for about 40 minutes and Lionel carried the ladies tubes, what a gentleman! We went through 3 long caves which were awesome. The cruise ship tour only went through one! we were also first to arrive before the crowds. We then went for a lovely lunch and rum punch. They even had seconds! The trip returned to Belize City with 2 hours to spare. It cost $50. The cruise trip was $100 and very inferior. This is a no brainer book with www.cavetubing.bz The tour guides were awesome. Thank you Lionel and Jenny.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cavetubing-don't pay cruise ship prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Price on ship was $109/pp. went directly to website after referral from a thread on cruise critic. paid $50/pp(there were 5 of us) with pretty significant savings. Wonderful time. The hike is not for anyone who has difficulty walking and carrying a very large inflatable tube, but the guides are very helpful and will help carry your tube if you have trouble.Our guide hooked our tubes together and swam backwards towing us thru the caves narrating mayan history. Amazing. Not to be missed in Belize. Make sure you have a waterproof camera.Website:cavetubing.BZ.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“TAKE THIS TOUR!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Don't hesitate,just use this company. There were 20 of us and they treated us amazing! I got separated from my husband before the tour started. With my friends and the 2 other tour guides waiting patiently on the bus, D the tour guide would not leave my side until I found him,using her personal phone to call him. We drove in a very comfortable bus to our destination with a very experienced driver,Richard,, even stopping to get us beer on the way.D was very informative on everything and answered all of our questions,,even livestock questions..lol ..Carlos was a sweetie and great tour guide as well. Had a GREAT lunch which was included with the tour. It was provided by a warm and friendly local family. We are all foodies and could not stop talking about how greatit was. They sent us back on the bus with the rest of the rum punch...yum. The caves were BEAUTIFUL ... Enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't Pay Cruise Ship Prices for an INFERIOR Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Cave tubing is the number one excursion in Belize. It is an awesome experience that shouldn't be missed. We looked at booking this through the NCL and the price was twice as much as VR. Note that all tours operators go to the same place so it's not like they are offering a different experience for twice the price. We were shuttled to the caves in a modern small bus while all of the folks that booked through the cruise lines boarded old Greyhound buses. The guides were great, equipment was modern and the food was excellent.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cave Tubing with Vitalino Reyes also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Cave Tubing with Vitalino Reyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cave Tubing with Vitalino Reyes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cave Tubing with Vitalino Reyes to your Saves list