We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral's Bay

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Admiral's Bay
5865 Seashore Drive, Belize City, Belize
624-1471
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 64 Restaurants in Belize City
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Ottawa, Canada (YOW)
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Unassuming little waterfront place. Service is attentive and relaxed. My dining companion and I both had grilled grouper filet. It was cooked to perfection! Not expensive!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“pleasant lunch, decent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a nice spot on the bay with tables on a shaded deck. We enjoyed the breeze and water view while eating a lunch of local cuisine. One of us had escabeche, which was very flavorful, and the other had grilled fish with stewed rice and beans. One of the fish fillets was excellent and the other tasted not quite as fresh although quite edible. Nothing fancy - just good, decent food at a reasonable price in a pleasant spot.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We came here for dinner as we were staying at Villa Boscardi which is around the corner. It is a simple place on the sea front with a menu that doesn't include prices. However, everything costs around BZ$16 and is reasonable. It only offers fish and meat dishes with nothing for vegetarians. All dishes come with a choice of fries, rice and beans or beans and rice which isn't clear from the menu.

The food was excellent but we were disappointed with the service. I had finished my meal before my boyfriend had even received his meal which wasn't ideal! There weren't really any apologies and the waitress seemed embarrassed to talk to us when the second meal finally arrived. This spoilt our opinion of the place which is a shame as the food really was great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Unique little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Very nice. Rough kind of place built alongside the sea. Nice breeze in the evening. Limited menu but that seems to be common here in Belize. Ate snapper two nights. Inexpensive and friendly.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burien, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice local food with a nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This restaurant is recently reopened under new management. It is situated on Buttonwood Bay, just north of Belize City proper. It is right on the water, with a (currently) derelict pier. It has an open air dining area with a 180 degree view of the water. I visited here while staying at Villa Boscardi, at the recommendation of their manager. I'm glad I took her advice. I visited between lunch and dinner, and between dentist appointments, so I wasn't really interested in a large meal. The service was very attentive--especially by Belize standards. The food was presented nicely, and it was quite tasty. And the Belikin beer was nice and cold. If you are in the area (e.g., staying at the Biltmore or closer), this is definitely worth the stop. Call to check on their hours because I think the kitchen closes at about 8pm.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Admiral's Bay also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Admiral's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral's Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.