We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home away from home in Belize City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Hut Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Red Hut Inn to your Saves list
The Red Hut Inn
90 Bella Vista, Belize City, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Belize City B&B and Inns
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great home away from home in Belize City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at the Red Hut for 2 nights for a short stay in Belize prior to heading to Guatemala. The owners are lovely. They will pick you up from the airport and drive you to town for a good price. The place is simple but very clean and it has a nice rooftop terrace. Lewis does breakfast and a wicked BBQ. For longer stays, there is a kitchen you can use and a grocery store close by. A great choice for a good price!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redhutinn, Manager at The Red Hut Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hello Mr & Mrs. Duguay:

Thanks for the recommendation, and it was our pleasure to have you with us. Hope your trip to Central America will be fun and safe. Have a great one, and keep us posted on your trip :-) Thanks. Hope to see you in the near future :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    29
    6
    2
    8
See reviews for
6
35
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
391 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a ideal guesthouse if you are headed to airport for an early flight or just getting in late and need to crash before you head to the islands. The guesthouse itself was nice but came with no perks included. Breakfast was a charge, tours were overpriced, and they even charged us for dinner that they offered us after we got in late . Hospitality is not free at this hotel. Be prepared to pay a price for airport pick-up and drop off also. The house is located three blocks from the bus stop for those looking to head downtown on Budget or you can take a TAXI. Knowing what I know today about Belize I would not have reserved more than a day here. Host and Hostess were nice and very helpful but it was not money well spent by me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A comfortable Belize room at an extremely fair price. This basic room comes t life when you meet Julia and Lewis. They can not do enough to make your stay fantastic. You feel you have become part of the family. Their engaging conversations make you feel you are a part of Belize.

Trish, a working guest of theirs is one of the most interesting people I have ever met.
Extremely intelligent. You can spend hours with her and be on a continuous learing experience.

Lewis, a fantastic cook, gave me excellent advice concerning our Belize banking problem. I will definitely be back. Will bring my wife next time.

Thank you: Julia, Lewis, & Trish

Herb

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redhutinn, Manager at The Red Hut Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you very much. It was our pleasure to have you, and hope to see you in the near future. From all of us here The Red Hut Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was a good budget hotel with a clean room and plenty of hot water.
The little kitchen was adequately stocked with utensils.
Our room was large with a good bed, plenty of furniture, a small 'fridge and an Air Con.
The room was serviced daily.
We have been touring South and Central America for over 3 months.
In our opinion the off season tariff of US$60 (US$65 for the larger room we had) was excessive, particularly with being located just north of the main city.
After staying at other places in Belize I would consider US$50/night would be more reasonable.
Our main gripe was the WiFi which was hopeless.
It was either non-existent or constantly fading out and when present was not of sufficient strength to upload photos or attachments.
The owners had all sorts of excuses ('the telephone lines are down', 'it does not work well with Apple products', 'my brother has just fixed it') and it just became more and more frustrating.

The real gem of this place is Trisha - an English lady who came for 3 weeks and has stayed for 6 years.
She is highly intelligent and is an absolute fountain of knowledge on all things Belizean, particularly the Maya.
She runs tours.
We did a tour of the ruins at Altun Ha (with the Baboon Sanctuary and lunch all included) and it was one of the highlights of our stay in Belize.
We would highly recommend using her services even if not staying at this establishment.
She can be contacted at : info@planetbelize.com

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Do yourself a favor and stay at the The Red Hut Inn.
I stayed there in April 2013 and will return in September 2013. I could stay anywhere, but choose to stay with Julia, Louis and Trish at The Red Hut. Clean, simple rooms with AC and lots of hot water. They make everything so simple, including pick ups and drop offs at the airport.
Everyone was so welcoming and helpful. I could not have done my trip without them. Our group spent 4 nights with them. I love that it is not in the center of town. It is in a quiet neighborhood close to the water, but not on the water. The food was fabulous and Louis catered to our needs. We never ate anywhere else!
Belize city is not a tourist destination, but The Red Hut Inn is!

Room Tip: Just let them know what you want and they will make it happen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redhutinn, Manager at The Red Hut Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you very much. It was our pleasure to serve you and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I needed a place to stay for one night on our honeymoon after snorkling at a Caye. We chose Red Hut Inn because it appeared to be a charming bed and breakfast. It was not at all. The woman (Jerry?) that picked us up from the dock was beyond rude and unprofessional. The "inn" is nothing more than a dirty old house that is not close to any restaurants and is certainly not waterfront. We were showed to our room, which was dirty. The toilet had not been cleaned in quite sometime, and the bathroom smelled. We did not stay, but took a taxi back to the main part of Belize City. For almost the same price, we stayed at The Great House, which was waterfront, clean, and very friendly. I would be wary of the Red Hut Inn!!

Jerry did tell us that she was the new manager, so I do not know how it was run prior to her.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redhutinn, Manager at The Red Hut Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Well Ms. Ann here was actually checked in the hotel, and after her stay for the night ( as per the reservation she made), she checked out, and then later on, we received from the bank, that she claimed to her bank that the charged was a fraudulent one. We can understand that if you do not like the room, because we understand that we can not please everyone comes through our door, but we are doing the best we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
182 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

The owner is very friendly and made us feel welcome. He was always ready to help. The hotel is a bit far from the centre but I didn't feel it was a problem (short taxi ride away costing BZD15). It also meant that it was quiet. Th aircon was splendid and very much a relief. Breakfasts were nice and the hot shower worked perfectly.
Our room was fairly cheaply decorated and with too much furniture. The main thing I would object to is very cheap nylon bed sheets and pillow cases as it makes sleeping in hot climates rather unpleasant.
So all in all, it's a good budget place to stop at whilst in Belize city. That's if you don't mind the new on-site helper, who is very opinionated and will go into endless lecturing monologues about her political views and all the cars she's owned, with detailed specifications. I had to go back to my room a few times for some respite.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redhutinn, Manager at The Red Hut Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you very much. It was our pleasure to have serve you and have you with us. We will try our best to continue to make improvements for the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
3.2 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
3.2 mi away
Chateau Caribbean
Chateau Caribbean
#4 of 9 in Belize City
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
11.9 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
2.7 mi away
Belcove Hotel
Belcove Hotel
#8 of 25 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Hut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Hut Inn

Address: 90 Bella Vista, Belize City, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We here at The Red Hut Inn provide the most ultimate quiet and comfortable room available for the reasonable price. We are situated only 6 miles away from the airport, and in an up scale and quiet residential area, where only few houses from the sea, and the environment is safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Red Hut Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Hut Hotel Belize City
The Red Hut Inn Belize/Belize City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Hut Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.