We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to come back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Hut Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Red Hut Inn to your Saves list
The Red Hut Inn
90 Bella Vista, Belize City, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Belize City B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Looking forward to come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend just came back from Belize, it was our first visit and we had the luck to make our first stop at Julia and Lewis's hotel, they are amazing hosts! We tried Lewis's dinner food and it was great then we talked for several hours where I did not only have the chance to meet him but learnt a great deal about the details of Belize that are hard to get from blogs or Internet, this really gave us a great confident to start our journey around the country. Belize is amazing, we had more fun than we expected. We ended up our trip in The Red Hut Inn before coming back to the states. I can only say MUCHAS GRACIAS!!! To Julia and Lewis for his hospitality... I can't wait to go back to Belize.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redhutinn, Owner at The Red Hut Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
GozandoAndo: Thank you very much. Thank you for choosing us and gave us a chance to serve you. It was our pleasure having you with us. We appreciates you very much. Hope to see you in the future again. So give us another chance to serve you again. Indeed we enjoy your company with us. As Lewis says, The food is not as great as the company :-) Thank you again! From all of here at The Red Hut Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    29
    6
    2
    8
See reviews for
6
35
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

What did I like about this place? Honestly, nothing! Despite the wrong booking that led us into another room instead of king suite room that we had originally booked, the condition of the inn, its room and the bath was horrific. We were surprised to see this inn being awarded by Trip Advisor for 2012. No proper amenities (coffee maker, microwave etc.), dirty bed sheets, foam bed, un-cleaned moisture laden towels...and the list goes on. We were not disclosed about the wrong booking. It was only when we preemptively asked about it. The inn owner suggested that she was being very accommodative by cancelling our reservation at the last hour 11:00 pm and showing us our way out to another hotel of our choice, not even considering to pay for the taxi. How accommodative! I have pictures taken of that inn to share with anybody who is interested. BEWARE of this place! We were told that everything would have been the same except for the room size if the booking had gone right. It would have still been a complete rip off looking at the room, bathroom and inn condition.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redhutinn, Owner at The Red Hut Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
The guests, Mr. & Mrs. XXXX arrived at the hotel at 10:30am, 28thDec, 2012 accompanied by a tour guide whom they hired to escort them to various attractions. They had a reservation; however, due to the checkout time at the hotel being midday they were unable to move into their reserved room until the previous occupants had checked out and the room sanitized and properly prepared for the new guests. At that point in time, their tour guide insisted that they immediately leave to go on tour owing to time constraints, so they stored their luggage in the office and left on their tour. On returning at 6:30pm, they were shown to their room, where they showered and dressed for dinner. Before leaving for dinner with their tour guide at 7:30pm, they engaged me in a conversation confirming that they had enjoyed their tour and asked whether the front gate would be open at 10:30pm when they returned. I confirmed it would be since I was expecting the late arrival of other guests. Looking back at the time frame, it has been an hour since the guests have occupied and utilized the room. This was ample time for the guests to have inspected the room and made a decision on their stay.

When they returned after dinner at 10:30 pm, Mrs. XXXX complained that she did not like the room. I explained to her that we did not have the King Suite she had booked because of a overbooked in the online booking reservations. We were somehow overbooked on the King Suite. Mrs. XXXX said she wished to find another hotel. We respected her wishes and did our best to accommodate her decisions. We were not even going to charge her for the room where she took a shower and stored her baggage. Although Mrs. XXXX decided not to stay with us, we undertook to drive her free of charge to another hotel once she had identified one of her liking. Using our internet services for an hour, she finally found one pleasantly enough. I made a call to the hotel for further information on the amenities she requested and deemed essential, but eventually she informed me that the cost of the room exceeded her budget. Then she insisted that I chauffeur her around Belize City and waited outside of each hotel while she inspected their rooms before she decides to move in or remain at our hotel. I politely declined. She demanded that we pay for a taxi to relocate her to another hotel. Again I respectfully declined, but offered to have our driver take her the moment he was available and that a hotel had been identified. Eventually, she said that she had resigned herself to remain at our hotel with the reason being that it was too late to find another one that suited her budget and requirements.

She stayed overnight and checked out the following morning. We charged her the reduced rate for the smaller room.

There are two sides to every story. In this situation, it is my belief that both parties suffered tremendously in the events that occurred. Maybe a better or more effective communication would have prevented the above incidents, or maybe not. We are not completely unaccountable for all that transpired, but I believe that it was also unfair of Mrs. XXXX of the negative reviews she gave us. A few points I would like to clarify. It was our responsibility to have notified the guests of the technical error of the booking system on the King Suite. However, Mr. and Mrs. XXXX had sufficient time from her arrival.



I believe that, yes, it was our fault that we never disclosed the non-availability of the room she'd booked upon her arrival, but because of the tight schedule she had committed to with the tour guide she was unable to complete the check in procedure at which point this problem could have been dealt with and if, needs be, an alternative hotel located. It should also be noted that upon her return from the tours, at 6.30 pm, she had an opportunity to inform us that the room we were offering her was unacceptable. She elected, instead, to take a shower and go out for dinner and it was only upon her return at 10.30 pm, when locating another hotel room within her price range would be difficult, did she raise any objection to the room we'd offered her.

We understand, we did offer to cancel the room without penalty and move her to another hotel if she wished. We accept that if we do not have the room a guest is expecting we should find accommodation of equal or better quality in the local area and convey them there, subject to the guest's budget. However, Mrs. XXXX failed to inform us of her dislike of the room until after she'd used it and it was too late to find an alternative.

We are known for our service and accommodation for our guests and it is not a fair review as it does not reflect our genuine effort to mitigate the problem. But we would like to share our side of story to her review.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I chose the Red Hut Inn as our "base camp" for excursions throughout the country. Are we glad we did!! Lewis and Julia are the ultimate hosts. They quickly answered multiple questions prior to our arrival which helped us formulate a plan for our 7-day Belize blitze. Everything from Lewis' cooking to Julia's expert advice helped us get the most from our trip. And, Trisha, the on-site tour guide, was an absolute hoot. Not only does she know where to go and what to see, she kept us entertained along the way while giving us insight as to the history and current goings-on of the various regions. This allowed us to have a deeper experience rather than just sight-seeing.

All-in-all, we had a great time at the RHI and it will certainly be included in our next trip to Belize. We want to thank Lewis and Julia for being such great hosts and making our trip there memorable. We truly felt welcome. Can't wait to return!

Mary and Dan -- Phoenix, AZ

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redhutinn, Owner at The Red Hut Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you Mary & Dan. It was our pleasure having you guys with us. We totally enjoy your company with us, all the chats and laughs on the deck after dinners. Hope to see you in the near future again. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I spent 3 weeks at the Red Hut Inn during summer 2012, whilst working at a local hospital.

Julia and Lewis are amazing hosts and constantly strive to improve their service! They provide a car rental service (the cars look pretty good, but i never used it), a taxi service (which really comes in handy), amazing food and a place to stay! They're also full of hints about where to go and how to get there!

My room was very clean, with A/C, a fridge, en-suite and a TV. The very big plus were the self-catering facilities and the proximity of two massive shops. Also present, a massive 'common' area, with a free-for-all grill and a couple of hammocks. Lots of travelers, so good opportunity to socialise, but you can have your privacy, if you so desire.

There's a hotel nearby where you can use the pool free of charge, with a little swagger.

Overall it was a really good experience, although maybe a little bit more expensive than I hoped - although compared to other places, it's safer and friendlier and the self catering means it works out cheaper in the long run!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redhutinn, Owner at The Red Hut Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hello Mike: Thank you very much for choosing us while you are in Belize. It was our pleasure having you with us. All the BBQ and chats after dinners. Hope to see you in the near future. Thanks again for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Can't really say much else other than it was a great place to stay, people. People very friendly and will help you out with what ever you need, travel plans, car rental....home cooked meal!! And those were very very tasty!! Walking distance from any shopping you need, scotia bank same distance....shuttle service from owners anywhere you need to go...if they not busy that is. They their for you which is great. First timers....I recommend this place as they have great info on what/where to go do. Wicked awesome place!!

Riley B
Hippy :)
Sorry I'm sooo late writing this...should have been up months ago!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redhutinn, Owner at The Red Hut Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Riley: Thank you very much for choosing us and it was our pleasure to have you with us. Hope to see you in the near future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have stayed with Julia & Lewis several times when we needed to overnight in Belize City. The accommodations are not fancy, but they're very clean, safe (which is a serious consideration in Belize City) and much more than adequate. The BIG plus is the comprehensive service provided by Julia and Lewis, especially Lewis' cooking. This place is near enough to the airport to be handy, far enough from downtown Belize City to be safe, and accessible to everything else. Lewis will drive you wherever you want, or rent you a car so you can drive yourself. They're both very knowledgeable about the entire country, and very eager to help in any way they can. Can't say enough positive stuff about Lewis' cooking -- a true master of sauces, from fish to ribs, it's all GREAT, and way easier than going to a restaurant (and probably better than most restaurants you could find.) We don't often spend the night in Belize City, since we live on Ambergris Caye, but when we need to be in Belize City, the Red Hut Inn is where you'll find us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redhutinn, Owner at The Red Hut Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear DLeT3: Thank you for choosing us and it was our pleasure having your company with us and hope to see you in the near future so we can have a chance to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Julia and Lewis really make you feel at home, they welcome you in and offer assitance with anything you could need. Easy place to come and go from once you find it! Close to Belize City and the airport which is great if you want to be near those things or are in a tranistion togo to your next area in Belize.The rooms are nothing fancy, but fully adequate, king bed, hot water , cold AC a mini-frig you can stock or just get a beer (or water) from the main one and they are a real deal for the price. The Food that Lewis prepares is better than what you can buy in many of the restaurants there and in a nice open air atmosphere with some of the other guests. Great place and wonderful hosts. I'll be back!

Room Tip: I was in room #4 which was fine, but there was a bit of middle ofthe night dog barking that will ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redhutinn, Owner at The Red Hut Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Ben: Thank you very much. It was our pleasure to have you and serve you. Gotta remember the large fish you brought home and everyone go at it on the deck for the last night before you left. :-) Thanks again for choosing us and hope we will be able to see you in the near future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
3.2 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
3.2 mi away
Chateau Caribbean
Chateau Caribbean
#3 of 9 in Belize City
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
11.9 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
2.7 mi away
Belcove Hotel
Belcove Hotel
#8 of 25 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Hut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Hut Inn

Address: 90 Bella Vista, Belize City, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We here at The Red Hut Inn provide the most ultimate quiet and comfortable room available for the reasonable price. We are situated only 6 miles away from the airport, and in an up scale and quiet residential area, where only few houses from the sea, and the environment is safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Red Hut Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Hut Hotel Belize City
The Red Hut Inn Belize/Belize City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Hut Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.