We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It worked” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mopan

Hotel Mopan
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Belize City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mopan
Save
You added Hotel Mopan to your Saves list
55 Regent Street, Belize City, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Belize City
Seattle
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“It worked”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Nothing special. Close to everything. Rooms were sleep able. The AC was needed.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
21
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NEW YORK,NEW YORK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

If u need assistance with anything at Mopan hotel ask for a guy name MERVIN... he is a good trustworthy guy, he knows a lot about all the Cayes, Belize Zoo, the Maya Ruins, Cave Tubing, ask for him ,when u at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda, Belize
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are plain but the air conditioning is powerful for those who need it. Free high-speed internet is very fast. Taxis congregate across the street 24 hours a day, you don't need to walk around Belize City if you feel unsafe. If you miss the day's last boat to the cayes then this is a good choice, if you spend a week in the bush beforehand it will seem quite luxurious.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe Arizona - USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

I knew the Mopan was Basic from the reviews - but they left out the other stuff like the Bugs - Not the big kind that you see, but more like the ones that make you itchy and scratching in the morning!

I think this hotel is probably great for the back packers, but not your average place for someone who just spent a week in San Pedro!

We wish we had stayed in San Pedro 1 more night and taken the early morning Water Taxi.

Did'nt eat the food - but the staff was friendly!

I think it just was'nt our kind of place :(

  • Liked — Staff was friendly
  • Disliked — bugs in room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

After hearing a few bad things about Belize City we were relieved to find this hotel where we felt perfectly safe. It's still central but is a few blocks from the main street, where it was a bit daunting at night. Our room was large with shared balcony (and table and chairs) and the reception staff were friendly. The hotel is close to Bird's Isle and the cafe there is a good place to eat. We enjoyed our visit to Belize City.

  • Liked — Good area
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

Asked on the ferry coming back from Caye Caulker (visiting Belize from Canada) where to stay. Directed to the "Bell Cove" but my husband asked one of the police officers when we arrived - we ended up at Mopan. Front desk staff Nadine was very helpful as to where to go for a meal - directed us to 4 different places - we ate at 2 of the 4. Hotel itself was clean - comfortable bed and pillow. They were doing road construction right outside and there was a power failure that night - staff very accommodating and brought out a flashlight for assistance to get back to the room.

Definitely a good value and the location was very convenient. Nice breakfast in the a.m. - very reasonable.

  • Liked — clean and reasonable
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

We checked into Hotel Mopan on arrival in Belize City after travelling for 36 hours. Reviews had said it was quiet and clean - and it was both. Rooms are basic but good-sized - a/c worked and was very welcome. Breakfast is cooked to order and was v tasty. Good for short stop or as a base for exploring Belize.

  • Liked — Central, yet quiet location
  • Disliked — No pool!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mopan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mopan

Address: 55 Regent Street, Belize City, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mopan is a family oriented hotel located in the heart of Belize City with easy access to bus terminals and water taxis. We are a home away from home environment. Our aim is to help you feel comfortable with us as you come to explore Belize. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mopan Hotel Belize City
Hotel Mopan Belize/Belize City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mopan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.