We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secure, good service, good AC.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mopan

Hotel Mopan
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Belize City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mopan
Save Saved
You added Hotel Mopan to your Saves list
55 Regent Street, Belize City, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Belize City
California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Secure, good service, good AC.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This seemed a questionable part of town, but the entire city feels the same way. My question is, why would anyone want to be in this city if they don't have to be!! The desk clerk was helpful and the hotel itself was secure, as the only real entrance was through the front office lobby. The AC was great and much needed. Rooms were a reasonable size and clean, but bare-bones basic. Nice little roof top deck, but no view to speak of. If you have to be in Belize City, this is a pretty good choice of hotel. Can't say there is a lot around there, but the hotel is basic and decent. I did walk to a restaurant after dark a few blocks away and did not feel uneasy at all, but some may not be as adventurous.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
21
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellensburg, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I was drawn in by the "quaint looking" photo I saw online. Dangerous part of Belize City; dingy, unkept "lobby." No food or beverage service though the clerk said he could sell us a coke or a sprite. There were a couple of curio cabinets in the hall covered with dust. The stairs were uneven concrete as were the walkways. The door to the room was weathered similarly to a 100 year old barn door. There was one deadbolt which was loose enough to move with our hands and held to the door by a sheetrock screw. One small picture on the wall. Worn out patio bench with mismatched pillows. One towel and one tiny soap per bed. No towel or TP rods. Suffocating heat. Decent looking AC unit belted out a screeching that was impossible to sleep with. Likewise the overhead fans. Awakened by scratching noise to see something dart into the suitcase. Couldn't locate it, returned to bed to have something large drop on the back of my neck - a cockroach about 1.5" long. Made it through the night and bolted the next, leaving one unused paid night.

Room Tip: Try the Radisson if you have to stay in Belize City; the "Guest House" across the street d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

There are several hotels in the same price range on regent street in downtown Belize city, of those this is the best, but overall it is just OK and not half as nice as the bed and breakfasts or more upscale hotels. I have been told by local friends that his area is ok during the day but not safe for walking after dark (6pm).

The actual rooms are clean, nice views and chairs to sit and look at the sea. Bathroom and TV worked fine. The overall building is dark, painted concrete. At last word there were no kitchen facilities and no breakfast or other food provided. Staff let me borrow a hotpot, but otherwise it's tough to be in a neighborhood where you are not supposed to walk around without access to food. Front desk transactions seemed to take a very long time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Hotel Mopan at the beginning of our two week tour of Belize. It's a perfectly serviceable budget hotel. It's right next to the Cathedral and it's on a block that felt pretty safe - a different vibe from a lot of Belize City. The room was clean, there was satellite TV, and the hotel was in walking distance to pretty much everything. My only negative is that, while the staff was perfectly nice, they didn't seem to have any answers to our questions about locations of things, schedules, or suggestions for places to go. I'd think they'd get these questions pretty often so I was surprised they didn't have satisfactory answers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was adequate but overpriced. The bar and restaurant closed years ago. It's a bit shabby but ok for a night if you are in transit. Likely would not stay here a 2nd time

Room Tip: Spring for air con - it is humid and muggy. Also drowns out the neighborhood dogs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed Here March 2007. It was quite a while ago that I stayed here with my wife. We only stayed a couple of nights as we were trying out a number of hotels in Belize City so we knew where to recommend to friends coming the next year for our wedding.
Hotel was clean, and well kept. Our double room was very basic, but comfortable enough. The breakfast downstairs was pretty good from what I remember.
The only thing I would say is if you haven;t been to Belize City before this area isn't the safest in town, ie you wouldn't want to get lost down some of the side streets trying to take a short cut at night. Daytime you are a short walk from the City Centre though which is a bonus.
All in all not bad value in Belize City, and probably placed right on the trip advisor list.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copan Ruinas, Honduras
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We headed to Mopan straight from the bus terminal on the advice of our guidebook.. The location of the hotel, very close to dwntn is a plus but the hotel provides very poor value based on the rates charged. This was probably a $25 room which we grudgingly paid $50 or so. But as Belize City is more than a bit sketchy in terms of walking around and we were tired and hungry, we stayed the night. There is a nice, popular restaurant apprx 4 blks away right on the water that where dined at the suggestion of the front desk person. Very nice place to eat although the warning to watch your back upon your return to the hotel after dark put us a bit on edge. In the am there is a great fry jack shop just 3 blks or so down the same street as the hotel - its a very popular place - theres a big breakfast line running down the sidewalk and the fry jacks for breakfast were a very nice treat and a huge bargain. Belize City itself is a ramshackle jumble of a place - much like the majortiy of Belize ... interesting perhaps for a quick stroll - during daylight hours only! But that's about it. We were happy to high tail it out of Mopan and Belize City en route to the more pleasant, laid back and friendly ambiance of Placencia!

Room Tip: There are no
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mopan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mopan

Address: 55 Regent Street, Belize City, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mopan is a family oriented hotel located in the heart of Belize City with easy access to bus terminals and water taxis. We are a home away from home environment. Our aim is to help you feel comfortable with us as you come to explore Belize. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mopan Hotel Belize City
Hotel Mopan Belize/Belize City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mopan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.