We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe area, inexpensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mopan

Hotel Mopan
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Belize City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mopan
Save
You added Hotel Mopan to your Saves list
55 Regent Street, Belize City, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Belize City
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Safe area, inexpensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Hotel Mopan at the beginning of our two week tour of Belize. It's a perfectly serviceable budget hotel. It's right next to the Cathedral and it's on a block that felt pretty safe - a different vibe from a lot of Belize City. The room was clean, there was satellite TV, and the hotel was in walking distance to pretty much everything. My only negative is that, while the staff was perfectly nice, they didn't seem to have any answers to our questions about locations of things, schedules, or suggestions for places to go. I'd think they'd get these questions pretty often so I was surprised they didn't have satisfactory answers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
21
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was adequate but overpriced. The bar and restaurant closed years ago. It's a bit shabby but ok for a night if you are in transit. Likely would not stay here a 2nd time

Room Tip: Spring for air con - it is humid and muggy. Also drowns out the neighborhood dogs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed Here March 2007. It was quite a while ago that I stayed here with my wife. We only stayed a couple of nights as we were trying out a number of hotels in Belize City so we knew where to recommend to friends coming the next year for our wedding.
Hotel was clean, and well kept. Our double room was very basic, but comfortable enough. The breakfast downstairs was pretty good from what I remember.
The only thing I would say is if you haven;t been to Belize City before this area isn't the safest in town, ie you wouldn't want to get lost down some of the side streets trying to take a short cut at night. Daytime you are a short walk from the City Centre though which is a bonus.
All in all not bad value in Belize City, and probably placed right on the trip advisor list.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copan Ruinas, Honduras
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We headed to Mopan straight from the bus terminal on the advice of our guidebook.. The location of the hotel, very close to dwntn is a plus but the hotel provides very poor value based on the rates charged. This was probably a $25 room which we grudgingly paid $50 or so. But as Belize City is more than a bit sketchy in terms of walking around and we were tired and hungry, we stayed the night. There is a nice, popular restaurant apprx 4 blks away right on the water that where dined at the suggestion of the front desk person. Very nice place to eat although the warning to watch your back upon your return to the hotel after dark put us a bit on edge. In the am there is a great fry jack shop just 3 blks or so down the same street as the hotel - its a very popular place - theres a big breakfast line running down the sidewalk and the fry jacks for breakfast were a very nice treat and a huge bargain. Belize City itself is a ramshackle jumble of a place - much like the majortiy of Belize ... interesting perhaps for a quick stroll - during daylight hours only! But that's about it. We were happy to high tail it out of Mopan and Belize City en route to the more pleasant, laid back and friendly ambiance of Placencia!

Room Tip: There are no
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

If your arriving in Belize city to late to catch a water taxi elsewhere then this is a safe place to stay. I felt it could have been cleaner overall but our beds were clean.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I chose this hotel due to the good reviews on this site. Maybe I was expecting too much of this hotel... Nothing bad to mention, but nothing great either. For 80$US a night, I think the no frills room was OK. Hot water, good clean shower, and cold A/C (needed), but the decoration was blend, and room was very basic. Very friendly staff at the reception.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

This is such a pretty hotel with a wooden facade adorned with climbing pink flowers.
The rooms are perfectly adequate but expect to hear every word of the conversation being had in the next room.
Good location, south of the swing bridge.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mopan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mopan

Address: 55 Regent Street, Belize City, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mopan is a family oriented hotel located in the heart of Belize City with easy access to bus terminals and water taxis. We are a home away from home environment. Our aim is to help you feel comfortable with us as you come to explore Belize. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mopan Hotel Belize City
Hotel Mopan Belize/Belize City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mopan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.