We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not luxury but not bad...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newton Barracks | Kings Park, Belize City, Belize (Formerly Princess Hotel & Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Belize City
Weston, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not luxury but not bad...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here for a conference. The rooms are good, beds comfortable, flat screen tv. Bathroom could do with a bit more updates. Exterior of building needs a lot of work. Conference staff and front desk staff were very helpful. Staff at the restaurant that we go for breakfast was not so helpful and not very pleasant. Calypso restaurant food is good but could be quicker. All and all it was average at best. Had one problem, where I asked for my safe to be fixed and the maintenance guy came and tried to fix it and was to return but never did.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    42
    40
    38
    42
See reviews for
26
46
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was our third time staying here. We'd probably choose some place different, but we stay because one of our travel companions likes to go to the casino, and we don't like to wait up for him. We can retire, he can play and we don't have to worry about transportation to a different hotel.

The staff has been friendly and helpful both times. The rooms are large and they have sea views. The attached Calypso restaurant has good seafood. They have made some improvements since last year. We had newer towels and our bathroom was cleaner. Our a/c this year worked better, but that may have been the room. The jalousie windows in the bathroom aren't great for noise reduction or humidity control. Remember when you stay in Belize City, your hotel will probably not be like one of the resorts out on the islands.

The gift shop staff is very friendly. They have a decent selection and prices are very comparable to anywhere else.

I am not a gambler, but like I mentioned, our traveling companion is. Casino seems to be mostly locals (especially on the weekend). Last time we were there, there was a live show (dancers) that was entertaining and not too risque.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel smells awful! The ocean front is full of seaweed an smells like sewage. The food was edible, but not very good. A/C didn't work in 3 out of the 4 rooms our group had. My guess is that this was a nice hotel when it was built, but that was a long time ago.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

In one sentence, I got a very itching bug in my skin within 3 nights there. It's like they don't laundry bed clothes at all. The sea food restaurant had an angry lady a very good chef Who saves the restaurant , but the quality of the ingredients is in doubt

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Situated right on the seafront by the Belize city marina, the best argument for chosing this hotel is the great sea view, spacious guest rooms and the Calypso restaurant. The huge lobby contains several shops, a bar, and a nice seafood restaurant.
"You never get a second chance to make the first impression", is a well known phrase, and our first impression was unfortunately rather quite average. The receptionist was ok, but nothing more. (A lack of service was also the impression by the the local tourorgianzator that called the hotel in order to get in touch with us). The Caribbean sea view from the guest rooms are awesome, but the lack of a balcony disappointed us, even though the hotel is a typical city/business-hotel, and not a beach hotel.

On the positive side, the seafood restaurant was nice, and the staff was really nice and attentive! Proffessional and informal at the same time, just the way you´d expect in the Caribbean.

The is a free WiFi all over the hotel, but basically it works best in the lower levels (we stayd in 5.floor, and experienced a lot of interruptions)

If I go back to Belize, I would probabaply choose this hotel again... mainly because of the combination of ok price (200 dollar US for 2 nights for 2 pax) , great location by the sea, and ok facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Of course this hotel has everything you want if you don't want to go anywhere else. It is a long walk to town and Belize city is closed up tight on Sunday. Breakfast was included so this was a huge plus and it was an excellent breakfast. Staff is friendly though mostly not knowledgeable. If you want information, it is best to talk to a taxi driver. I agree with Doug about the breakfast sausage. I thought the selection of fruit, cheese, cereal, eggs, bread, milk, juice, water and more was fantastic. There is a casino, a movie theatre, but they need 5 to show a movie, a kids area and more. Everything is here for a fine time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Expect a clean room and great service from the staff.

Do expect great food at the restaurant on the dock.

Don't expect a great breakfast. The will make you an omlete to order with onions, tomatoes, and bell peppers. Don't even try the "breakfast sausage". It is just hot dogs cut in pieces.

Don't expect a wash cloth. Most rooms only get hand towels.

Don't expect a tv remote without asking.

Don't expect your room key to work when you get back to the hotel. They reset them every day.

Don't expect parking to be easy. They will make you park an expedition in a parking space the size of a fiat.

Don't expect a pleasant breeze out the back door. It smells like they have a sewer problem leaking into the ocean.

Don't expect clean water in the ocean outside the hotel. Multiple rivers dumping muddy water into the city make the ocean filthy unless you are on the cayes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel

Address: Newton Barracks | Kings Park, Belize City, Belize (Formerly Princess Hotel & Casino)
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel And Casino
Princess Hotel Belize City
Princess Casino
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.