We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not luxury but not bad...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel to your Saves list
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newton Barracks | Kings Park, Belize City, Belize (Formerly Princess Hotel & Casino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not luxury but not bad...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here for a conference. The rooms are good, beds comfortable, flat screen tv. Bathroom could do with a bit more updates. Exterior of building needs a lot of work. Conference staff and front desk staff were very helpful. Staff at the restaurant that we go for breakfast was not so helpful and not very pleasant. Calypso restaurant food is good but could be quicker. All and all it was average at best. Had one problem, where I asked for my safe to be fixed and the maintenance guy came and tried to fix it and was to return but never did.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jodimgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hendersonville, NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was our third time staying here. We'd probably choose some place different, but we stay because one of our travel companions likes to go to the casino, and we don't like to wait up for him. We can retire, he can play and we don't have to worry about transportation to a different hotel.

The staff has been friendly and helpful both times. The rooms are large and they have sea views. The attached Calypso restaurant has good seafood. They have made some improvements since last year. We had newer towels and our bathroom was cleaner. Our a/c this year worked better, but that may have been the room. The jalousie windows in the bathroom aren't great for noise reduction or humidity control. Remember when you stay in Belize City, your hotel will probably not be like one of the resorts out on the islands.

The gift shop staff is very friendly. They have a decent selection and prices are very comparable to anywhere else.

I am not a gambler, but like I mentioned, our traveling companion is. Casino seems to be mostly locals (especially on the weekend). Last time we were there, there was a live show (dancers) that was entertaining and not too risque.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCG8RFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel smells awful! The ocean front is full of seaweed an smells like sewage. The food was edible, but not very good. A/C didn't work in 3 out of the 4 rooms our group had. My guess is that this was a nice hotel when it was built, but that was a long time ago.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mangos15fitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Belize City hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

In one sentence, I got a very itching bug in my skin within 3 nights there. It's like they don't laundry bed clothes at all. The sea food restaurant had an angry lady a very good chef Who saves the restaurant , but the quality of the ingredients is in doubt

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lomrto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Situated right on the seafront by the Belize city marina, the best argument for chosing this hotel is the great sea view, spacious guest rooms and the Calypso restaurant. The huge lobby contains several shops, a bar, and a nice seafood restaurant.
"You never get a second chance to make the first impression", is a well known phrase, and our first impression was unfortunately rather quite average. The receptionist was ok, but nothing more. (A lack of service was also the impression by the the local tourorgianzator that called the hotel in order to get in touch with us). The Caribbean sea view from the guest rooms are awesome, but the lack of a balcony disappointed us, even though the hotel is a typical city/business-hotel, and not a beach hotel.

On the positive side, the seafood restaurant was nice, and the staff was really nice and attentive! Proffessional and informal at the same time, just the way you´d expect in the Caribbean.

The is a free WiFi all over the hotel, but basically it works best in the lower levels (we stayd in 5.floor, and experienced a lot of interruptions)

If I go back to Belize, I would probabaply choose this hotel again... mainly because of the combination of ok price (200 dollar US for 2 nights for 2 pax) , great location by the sea, and ok facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Of course this hotel has everything you want if you don't want to go anywhere else. It is a long walk to town and Belize city is closed up tight on Sunday. Breakfast was included so this was a huge plus and it was an excellent breakfast. Staff is friendly though mostly not knowledgeable. If you want information, it is best to talk to a taxi driver. I agree with Doug about the breakfast sausage. I thought the selection of fruit, cheese, cereal, eggs, bread, milk, juice, water and more was fantastic. There is a casino, a movie theatre, but they need 5 to show a movie, a kids area and more. Everything is here for a fine time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
252 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Expect a clean room and great service from the staff.

Do expect great food at the restaurant on the dock.

Don't expect a great breakfast. The will make you an omlete to order with onions, tomatoes, and bell peppers. Don't even try the "breakfast sausage". It is just hot dogs cut in pieces.

Don't expect a wash cloth. Most rooms only get hand towels.

Don't expect a tv remote without asking.

Don't expect your room key to work when you get back to the hotel. They reset them every day.

Don't expect parking to be easy. They will make you park an expedition in a parking space the size of a fiat.

Don't expect a pleasant breeze out the back door. It smells like they have a sewer problem leaking into the ocean.

Don't expect clean water in the ocean outside the hotel. Multiple rivers dumping muddy water into the city make the ocean filthy unless you are on the cayes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougTMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
1.0 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
0.9 mi away
Chateau Caribbean
Chateau Caribbean
#4 of 7 in Belize City
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Caribbean Belize Pickwick Hotel
14.4 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#7 of 7 in Belize City
3.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel

Address: Newton Barracks | Kings Park, Belize City, Belize (Formerly Princess Hotel & Casino)
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel And Casino
Princess Hotel Belize City
Princess Casino
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing