We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Deal for the price but out of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newton Barracks | Kings Park, Belize City, Belize (Formerly Princess Hotel & Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Belize City
Riverside, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Deal for the price but out of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Of course this hotel has everything you want if you don't want to go anywhere else. It is a long walk to town and Belize city is closed up tight on Sunday. Breakfast was included so this was a huge plus and it was an excellent breakfast. Staff is friendly though mostly not knowledgeable. If you want information, it is best to talk to a taxi driver. I agree with Doug about the breakfast sausage. I thought the selection of fruit, cheese, cereal, eggs, bread, milk, juice, water and more was fantastic. There is a casino, a movie theatre, but they need 5 to show a movie, a kids area and more. Everything is here for a fine time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    45
    41
    38
    43
See reviews for
26
46
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Expect a clean room and great service from the staff.

Do expect great food at the restaurant on the dock.

Don't expect a great breakfast. The will make you an omlete to order with onions, tomatoes, and bell peppers. Don't even try the "breakfast sausage". It is just hot dogs cut in pieces.

Don't expect a wash cloth. Most rooms only get hand towels.

Don't expect a tv remote without asking.

Don't expect your room key to work when you get back to the hotel. They reset them every day.

Don't expect parking to be easy. They will make you park an expedition in a parking space the size of a fiat.

Don't expect a pleasant breeze out the back door. It smells like they have a sewer problem leaking into the ocean.

Don't expect clean water in the ocean outside the hotel. Multiple rivers dumping muddy water into the city make the ocean filthy unless you are on the cayes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Ive been here just once and although the scenery was amazing and the atmosphere was brilliant it was less than I imagined, it boasted to be one of the best but the furnitures were crumbling apart, if it has singed been changed I would sure hope so. The third floor scenery is beautiful and I would recommend asking for a room on the third floor, I never did use any of the amenities that hey offered not even the free breakfast, I'm just nit that early of a person but it was a nice stay with everything in the compound!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed only one night at the hotel due to an unexpected stay in Belize. It is a decent average hotel and considered one of the nicer places to stay in Belize City. If you are looking for a little night time activity there is a casino right within the hotel. The room, which was a fairly basic hotel room was clean and had a nice view of the bay. You have a choice of dining at the Calypso restaurant right on the dock or the restaurant inside the hotel. The breakfast was complimentary and was excellent, including eggs cooked to order. It is not a 5 star hotel but for a couple of nights it fits the bill.

Room Tip: See if you can get a "locals" rate rather than a rack rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Well me and my hubby needed a weekend get away so we decided to stay at the princess. I was a bit skeptical because I had stayed here some years ago and it was kind of run down. Well they did not disappoint the rooms have been renovated my room had a king size bed, AC a futon a flat screen TV plus an extra sofa and a table. Minor problem the closet was broken. The food was excellent downstairs and the casino well not so good seems its hard to win there now. But honestly we were well satisfied and kudos to the lovely creole young lady at the front desk with a sense of humor she really brightened our day. Great Job princess keep it up

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel was so-so, however there aren't many options for major chains in Belize City. The hotel is very outdated although the room was pretty clean. The amenities are very basic and by no means luxury. The Hotel restaurant was good and the staff there was Excellent..very attentive, friendly and helpful. The Seafood restaurant out on the bay out back of the hotel didn't give us a warm feeling so we ate inside both days. The bay out back is pretty dirty and ugly..as well as smelly. We did feel fairly safe here given all the comments we heard from locals about not going out into Belize City at night.

Probably won't visit Belize again, but if we did we would look at other options as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here the evening before our return flight. We thought it was a great value for the money. Got it cheaper booking online. The breakfast thats included was wonderful. Hot food served buffet style in the Princess' beautiful dining room. We enjoyed a nice steak dinner here too. A lot to do at the hotel... Food, drink, 24 hour swimming pool, casino, bowling alley, theater, game room and more. You can book your island tours right from the private diving shop at the hotel. Just a taxi ride to Cucumber Beach in Old Belize. The hotel is in a safte part of the city.
We did have to wait a very long time for towels, absent from our room, to be delivered and the smell in the lobby was really bad.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel

Address: Newton Barracks | Kings Park, Belize City, Belize (Formerly Princess Hotel & Casino)
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel And Casino
Princess Hotel Belize City
Princess Casino
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.