We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slim pickings brought us to this place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel to your Saves list
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newton Barracks | Kings Park, Belize City, Belize (Formerly Princess Hotel & Casino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Belize City
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“slim pickings brought us to this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

After pulling into town and sizing up the very few options which ranged from outrageously overpriced to downright scary, we settled on the Princess. The rooms were adequate and clean, but the wifi in the rooms was awful as stated elsewhere. It worked well in the lobby/bar/restuarant. The parking area in front had security, which is definitely necessary. Service was generally unenthusiatic, but with a few exceptional employees. Overpriced, but it did include the (mediocre) breakfast buffet. Dinner was good though, I had the best grouper sandwich in memory.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    44
    46
    41
    45
See reviews for
28
51
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Hotel door left open pool dirty construction noise in hotel staff lazy and don't care only a few people cared not safe area managers don't appreciate your business and won't fix the problem it's a real joke there is way better hotels and I sure don't recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater San Diego Area
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here one night before we went to San Pedro. The hotel was average. The hotel clean and the employees were nice.

The room was clean, the view was okay. The wifi sucked. (nothing like American standards, but then again we weren't in America)

The casino was okay. Nothing like Vegas, but it has a few tables and some slots.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Things got off on the wrong foot at the Princess. The front desk staff was not friendly. The national language is english, so I know they understand people from the states. Or is it that the front desk girls don't like Americans.The key to our room did not work in the lock. After standing in the heat and humidity for a hour, we were finally let in our room. We found out that the batteries in the door lock were dead. It took another hour for the maintanance guys, (that's right 2) to change the batteries in the lock, as the hotel did not give the maintanance guys access to batteries.

Now in the room, there is no hot water or water pressure. The refrigerator did not work. I took off the shower head a knocked out the grit, but after 2 minutes it was clogged again.

The brighter side of our stay at the Princess was the breakfast our room came with was good. Fresh fruit, made to order omelets, and the restaurant staff was good. They were personable and we had great conversation with them. Maybe the hotel should put the restaurant staff behind the front desk.The pool was nice. The AC was cold, and all rooms have an ocean view. There is a movie theater that shows first run movies and a snack bar.The adjacent restaurant has great food. The hotel is in the better side of Belize City and is safer to walk in than South Belize City.

Although the Princess is in a better neighborhood, I don't believe it justifies the room rate or was the safety feature included in our room rate?

Room Tip: Make sure you have hot water and pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at the Radisson Fort George and at the Princesses. Trust me Radisson is better. Here is a rundown of the Princess.
Upon first entering the room I noticed patches of grime or dirt on the bathroom tile. They remained there for our entire stay so clearly housekeeping either didn't care or didn't look.
The Internet doesn’t work. There system requires you to go to the front desk and pick up a slip of paper with a random username and password for each device every 24hours. Then when you finally have your device logged into their network, the signal drops out and you have to start all over again. I managed to have a connection long enough to send 1 e-mail in 2 days.
The first morning we only had hot water in the shower, the shower was so hot it burned and no matter what we did we couldn't adjust the temperature. They fixed it the second day and we were able to shower.
We also only had hot water in the sink. When I tried to fix it, I found that the cold water had been turned off under the sink. I turned the cold water back on and found that the cold water knob on the sink was broken. The hotels ingenious repair was to just use the control valve under the sink instead of the knob next to the faucet to control the flow of cold water.
Housekeeping clearly ran out of clean King sized sheets so they made our bed with a pair of queen flat sheets turned sideways, the bed looked good when made, but when you pulled back the blankets you found the bottom 2 ft of the mattress exposed.
The bed was lopsided and the pillows were thin and uncomfortable.
I am not usually one to complain but this really was the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed at. Do yourself a favor, go a mile down the road and stay at the Radisson Fort George. The rooms are nicer and cleaner, the view is better, the food is better, the internet works, and the staff is friendlier and more helpful.
Better yet, don’t go to Belize City for your vacation. Try San Pedro, Caye Caluker, or Placencia instead.

Room Tip: Rooms at the Radisson are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Spent two seperate nights in Belize City, with my 2 daughters. Happy with hotel both nights, first night spent on 6th floor, beautiful view room very clean and comfortable, elevator not working for aprox. 30 minutes (numerous staff members working to resume function). Second stay on 4th floor city view from front door somewhat blocked by lower level hotel roof, window view of water still fantastic. We had breakfast and dinner at hotel resturant happy with food and service both visits.

Room Tip: Wifi better on lower floors (4th), view on 6th floor nicer and room seemed larger. Happy with both r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakota, Illinois, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was there last year in begining of the year 2011 had booked room like 2 months before. Was going to stay 2 nights but only stayed one. When I arrived the room wasn't ready so I had to wait.The person at the front desk kept me busy she was very nice and she was the only one nice to me! I think her name was Alice...Anyways I got the room.... Wanted to lay in bed and watch tv, remote was not working! I let that one slide, so I went to take a shower. No hot water, called front desk, they said to wait a while for it to get warm, waited for like 15 mins. in the shower and nothing! On top of that I got stuck in the elevator, which was scary! If the elevator isnt working why don't the put a sign "NOT WORKING!" Lobby stinks of cigar! Was a bad experience there... I had to leave the other day!

Room Tip: Rooms in the west of Belize are nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel

Address: Newton Barracks | Kings Park, Belize City, Belize (Formerly Princess Hotel & Casino)
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel And Casino
Princess Hotel Belize City
Princess Casino
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.