We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Best Part of Belize City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Marine Parade | PO Box 321, Belize City, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Belize City
Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Best Part of Belize City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The Radisson was a very comfortable hotel in the better part of Belize City with an adequate restaurant, pool and the other amenities you would expect. The staff was very helpful with arranging transportation. The rooms were clean and quiet and the hotel overlooked the yacht harbour.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Media_Mngr201, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hello and thank you for your review of our hotel. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to write back and let us know that we were able to meet your expectations; your kind words are indeed appreciated. Should you be in Belize again, we hope that you allow us the pleasure of being your hosts once again.

Kindest regards,

Pamela
Online Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    179
    83
    28
    21
See reviews for
67
131
37
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed 6 nights at this hotel while we explored all of Belize. The hotel is great, the staff is extremely friendly and very accommodating. It is in a great central location to the water taxis, restaurants, etc.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Media_Mngr201, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hello and thank you for your kind review of our hotel and employees. We are thrilled to know that we were able to make your Belize stay a memorable one and that our employees were a stand out for you. We look forward to hosting you on your next Belize trip.

Have a wonderful day,

Pamela
Online Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here in February, after having earlier stayed at the competitor hotel (the Best Western). This is a far superior hotel. Rooms were clean. Beds very comfortable. Air conditioner a little loud but effective. Restaurant is quite good and service was excellent. Pool is fine but nothing spectacular. The hotel is quite well-located, close to some tourist shopping. During the non-cruise days, the nearby handicraft shop is open, but little else, however. The hotel gift shop is quite good. Very good hotel by Belize City standards.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Media_Mngr201, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you so much for reaching out and letting us know more about your time here at the Radisson Fort George Hotel. We are very happy to know that we were able to make your Belize stay enjoyable and that our property and employees had a very positive impact on you.

We thank you for deciding to stay with us and hope to see you on your next Belize trip.

All the best,

Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

If you're in Belize City, stay at the Radisson. It's on a nice side of town, there are reputable taxi drivers right outside the door, the staff is helpful and trustworthy, and the rooms are clean. We had a nice room overlooking the pool.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Media_Mngr201, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hi and thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel. We are very happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and that our employees and property had a positive impact on your Belize stay.

Kindest regards

Pamela Gideon
Online Manager
Radisson Fort George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I got a tip from someone that Radisson was a crappy hotel in my country and was over rated but I tried it for myself with spouse in tow and found the Hotel security to be great and the staff to be very helpful.
In the morning St Georges Diner was up and running early with great Belizean Breakfast....Had Bacon Eggs and Beans with Fry Jacks...simply magical!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Media_Mngr201, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello and thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very pleased to know that your experience was a plesantly memorable one and that all your needs were happily met.

Thank you so much for your kind words about our employees, it means a lot to know that they played a big role in making your stay memorable.

It was a pleasure hosting you and should you be in Belize city again, we hope to be your home away from home.

Kind regards

Pamela Gideon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Arriving in Belize City too late to take the plane to Placencia, we stayed in this comfortable and pretty hotel with a view of the water. The Radisson is probably one of the best hotels in Belize City, a very poor and, by reputation, dicey city to stay in. A walk rambles along the edge of the water and is frequented by runners and other walkers. The hotel outdoor bar got us in the mood for our Belize vacation. Dinner in the dining room was quite good. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Media_Mngr201, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hi Carol,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our property, services and employees. We are honored that we were able to make your Belize experience a pleasantly memorable one.

Once again, thank you.

Kindest regards,

Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

It would be nice if the Radisson had some competition so that it could come up to the standards of Radissons in other cities, but until then, it'll probably remain just adequate. Beds are clean and comfortable but the carpet looked kind of grimy. Good wifi, solid safe, and plenty of TV options. The tiles on the shower floor of my bathroom got slippery when wet (no bathtub), so I had to be careful while showering. There was also almost no place in the bathroom to put my stuff - one narrow glass shelf below the mirror and the back of the toilet doesn't cut it, especially at these prices. Breakfasts in the King George were good, but otherwise food was just edible. Belize City has better restaurant options, but those require a taxi ride. Check-out was fast & efficient. Bring earplugs for the bird community that wakes up at 5am outside the doors.

Room Tip: Rooms that end in -01 seem to have smaller bathrooms with little space to put toiletries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Media_Mngr201, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello Sophie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on your recent stay. Please know that we are in the first phase of our renovation project in an effort to update the over look and amenities of our property. These renovations will affect most areas including the removal of room carpets and seeing them replaced with modern tiles and this also includes the ones in the bathrooms. We will also be changing many of the features of some of the baths in an effort to offer you a better experience. We apologize that this was not yet completed at the time of your stay, but we certainly have the work under way.

Kindest regards,

Pamela Gideon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina

Address: 2 Marine Parade | PO Box 321, Belize City, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina is old world charm meets modern style. Located on the shores of the Caribbean Sea, in Belize City's historic Fort George area, it caters to both business and leisure travelers and serves as an ideal stepping stone to the best of Belize. 102 stylishly appointed rooms including Business Class rooms, with sleep number beds, Jr Suites and Standard rooms. The Radisson Fort George offers the convenience of a full service restaurant serving daily breakfast buffet as well as nightly specials; 2 bars and the popular Le Petit Cafe. Our hotel features two swimming pools, complimentary 24 hour gym, and full-service marina. All complimented by a spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea. The spacious rooms at The Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina offers guests such comforts as cable TV with over 100 channels of free cable, direct dial phones, coffee makers, ironing boards and refrigerators in our Club Tower and Business Class Suites. Many of the hotel rooms feature a view of Belize City Harbor as well as access to handcrafted furniture made by Belizean craftsmen. Some rooms also feature sleep number beds and in-room safes. Services: When it's time to relax, guest at The Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina in Belize can enjoy two swimming pools, Jacuzzi, well equipped fitness center and a full service marina. The hotel's Concierge desk can arrange tours, including most land and dive trips. Restaurants/Cafe: Le Petit: Satisfy every craving at one of Belize's most popular cafes where you can enjoy freshly baked delights, natural fruit juices, hot beverages including both Belizean and international coffee and espresso options for that quick "pick me up". Healthy freshly made salads, sandwiches and other light menu items are also offered at the Le Petit Cafe. Enjoy the fresh air by dining on our open - air patio or be cool and relax in our air-conditioned cafe' while enjoying exquisite service, pastries and locally baked snacks from the Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marinas' bakery. Open from 6:00 am - 8:00 pm. Stonegrill Restaurant:The Stonegrill is carving out a whole new experience in dining. Treat yourself to a memorable experience with our inimitable technique of preparing your lean and delectable steak and healthy side options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize City Radisson
Radisson Belize City
Radisson Fort George Hotel And Marina Belize/Belize City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.