We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Belize City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Marine Parade | PO Box 321, Belize City, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Belize City
St. Paul
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best place in Belize City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here our first and only night in Belize City. It was a nice standard hotel with great amenities. It is really the only place to stay in Belize City as far as I could tell. The Stone Grill Restaurant was great. We had a room right off of the pool which was great. I don't know that we would have stayed much longer in Belize City but if we did this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    176
    82
    28
    21
See reviews for
65
131
36
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro, Belize
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I would guess I have stayed at The Radisson Fort George at least 20 times. In fact, a couple months ago, after being hospitalized for an emergency, it was not home that I went when released, but straight to The Radisson, where I knew the amazing staff would take care of me and I could recuperate in comfort. I have since been back 4 times and the staff have never failed to ask how I am feeling, address me by name etc.

The Radisson is located in a handy neighbourhood from which I can easily access shopping, run errands etc. all on foot. When I need to go further, there are great taxi drivers (personally approved by the Radisson's GM, Mr. James Scott) which can take me there including Homer, Floyd, Mario and other friendly and reliable drivers.

As a repeat guest, the staff have noted my preferences and continue to provide exemplary service. This is not a Ritz Carlton, that simply does not exist in Belize City, but so far as hotels in Belize City, there is no other choice for me. I have tried other hotels including those close to The Radisson and the service (or lack there of) made me feel unwelcome. The Radisson makes me feel special, and isn't that what providing a great experience for your guests is supposed to do?

Of particular note I would like to give a shout out to Micsheki who assists me with my reservations, Shakira and Keith in the F&B department, Camille, one of the amazing Managers, Dulce who seems to be the head-housekeeper and her amazing team of ladies, Robert one of the BEST Bell Captains in the business and the lovely man across the street who has restored many a pair of my favorite shoes.

The Radisson Fort George has simply become my second home, I will continue to stay there, and am happy to recommend it. If I had to come up with one area for improvement, it would be the room service menu, but as I am sure you can imagine, once you have stayed somewhere 2 dozen times, you have literally tried it all.

Room Tip: Pay extra for Tower Club Section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My family and I wanted somewhere nice to have dinner . We decided to dine at the Stone Grill Restaurant located inside the Radisson Fort George Hotel. I must say although we did not stay at this hotel it was fabulous!!!!!!!. The atmosphere was nice and relaxing. It's located underneath a thatched roof with tables and chairs and the scenery is so relaxing wtih a garden view and palm trees.

The food was amazing!!!!! you cook your food on a volcanic stone. Our waitress Janella was very attentive and very professional kudos to her!!!!
Marcia the bartender was awesome mixing up those drinks and keeping those Belikin's cold for us. I cant forget our cook Marilyn who prep our meal, she did a wonderful job.

I highly recommend as the food is fantastic, and the staff are amazing what more could you ask for when you looking for great dining.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

There's nowhere better to stay in Belize City than at the Radisson Fort George. The staff are amazing. The rooms are decadent and clean. And the food is among the best in Belize City. I don't like to spend a lot of time in Belize City, but this is my hotel when I do. Hands down.

I write this while I'm still in Belize on a two-week stay and I've been to the Fort George twice now - a week in between stays - and they were both top-notch. The second time last week, one of our rooms wasn't quite ready on time (it was around 3:30) and a bottle of champagne was sent as a thoughtful apology. It wasn't necessary as my dad is 84 and doesn't drink but it was a nice touch.

Do yourself a favour and bookend any trip to Belize with a stay at the Fort George. Yes, it's more than the other places in town, but you'll never feel it was money not well spent. This is the hotel of Belize City.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the tower. Stay in one of the Colonial rooms overlooking the pool areas. The ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, Caribbean
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel was the best in belize city. Clean and very helpful and friendly staff. Wifi available. food at restaurant was very good. breakfast and dinner. room sevice menu is limited but there are three options to dine at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel was comfortable. The rooms could use a little updating but they were perfectly fine. We stayed in a very good location on the first floor next to the pool in the adjoining building. The blackbirds outside the main building were incredibly loud but we couldn't hear them in the building we stayed in.

There isn't much to do in the area but we did go for a nice walk in early evening. The hotel staff didn't suggest walking after dark. There's a restaurant, tapas bar, and pastry shop in and around the hotel but we took taxis to eat in town without problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Radisson is located in a nice area on the water and away from the city but that's a good thing since you probably don't want to be in the city. The rooms, service, food, etc were all above average. This is a good place to stay for a night while going to/from the airport or a ferry to an island

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina

Address: 2 Marine Parade | PO Box 321, Belize City, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina is old world charm meets modern style. Located on the shores of the Caribbean Sea, in Belize City's historic Fort George area, it caters to both business and leisure travelers and serves as an ideal stepping stone to the best of Belize. 102 stylishly appointed rooms including Business Class rooms, with sleep number beds, Jr Suites and Standard rooms. The Radisson Fort George offers the convenience of a full service restaurant serving daily breakfast buffet as well as nightly specials; 2 bars and the popular Le Petit Cafe. Our hotel features two swimming pools, complimentary 24 hour gym, and full-service marina. All complimented by a spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea. The spacious rooms at The Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina offers guests such comforts as cable TV with over 100 channels of free cable, direct dial phones, coffee makers, ironing boards and refrigerators in our Club Tower and Business Class Suites. Many of the hotel rooms feature a view of Belize City Harbor as well as access to handcrafted furniture made by Belizean craftsmen. Some rooms also feature sleep number beds and in-room safes. Services: When it's time to relax, guest at The Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina in Belize can enjoy two swimming pools, Jacuzzi, well equipped fitness center and a full service marina. The hotel's Concierge desk can arrange tours, including most land and dive trips. Restaurants/Cafe: Le Petit: Satisfy every craving at one of Belize's most popular cafes where you can enjoy freshly baked delights, natural fruit juices, hot beverages including both Belizean and international coffee and espresso options for that quick "pick me up". Healthy freshly made salads, sandwiches and other light menu items are also offered at the Le Petit Cafe. Enjoy the fresh air by dining on our open - air patio or be cool and relax in our air-conditioned cafe' while enjoying exquisite service, pastries and locally baked snacks from the Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marinas' bakery. Open from 6:00 am - 8:00 pm. Stonegrill Restaurant:The Stonegrill is carving out a whole new experience in dining. Treat yourself to a memorable experience with our inimitable technique of preparing your lean and delectable steak and healthy side options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize City Radisson
Radisson Belize City
Radisson Fort George Hotel And Marina Belize/Belize City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.