We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel as a touring base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mile 3, Phillip Goldson Highway | PO Box 959, Belize City, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Belize City
Culver City, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Decent hotel as a touring base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our tour group stayed in this hotel as a base for visiting the Lamanai Mayan site some distance away. The hotel is located on the North Highway several miles outside of Belize City and there is really nothing located nearby. The hotel itself is modern and comfortable, built around a courtyard with a pool and several outside sitting areas. The room was comfortable and clean with a modern bathroom. I enjoyed the pool after a long and hot day of sightseeing. We had breakfast, drinks and one dinner at the hotel, the food was fine, the service was average. Great wifi signal in the lobby with comfortable seating area. There is a small gift shop, not a lot of items available. If you are going to be sightseeing and not spending a lot of time in the hotel, it's a comfortable base.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager05, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate your comments which helps us improve the standards of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    112
    79
    39
    19
See reviews for
57
80
34
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We spent a Wednesday and Thursday nights separated by a full week. Both times the noise was louder than my ear phones could muffle. Both times when I complained to the front desk was unaware that there was a problem. Not just people mingling at the bar, but full blown Karaoke with loud speakers and screamers. Due to a large convention, we were not able to relocate to another hotel in Belize City, Belize CA.

Internet access was non existent for 24 hours on July 18-19

I lodged a complaint with the front desk, and they hadn't been told about either problem.

Not again Never

Bob Jensen

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool and bar area,,,, so choose a room at the Radisson .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager05, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Mr. Jensen,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We sincerely apologize for your discomfort and hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you once again to show you that our services have improved. Comments like yours help us to see where we can make adjustments to enhance our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hotel is nice but keep in mind from 8 AM to 5 PM there are community swim lessons held here. The kids take over the entire pool, their parents take up all the pool seating, the instructors are rude to the paying guests and it really ruined our stay there. It was a nightmare. The bar closes at around 10 pm and there's no where to even get a coke or a water. If you eat the breakfast buffet, arrive early to avoid empty food bins and food that has been sitting out forever. No taxi service available or shuttle to the airport. We were late for our flight due to this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager05, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel! We write with regards to your complaint about the swimming pool. We were having a Summer Program during the time you were here with us, which was held as a part of our Summer Community Outreach Project, which actually ended on July 26th, 2012.

We know that you are very concerned about your future stay with us but would like to assure you that we will make all necessary arrangements to ensure that this does not occur in the future, as our guests are our number one priority.

Our most sincere apologies goes out to you regarding this occurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdsville
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Two towels in a room for 4 people, no coffee pot or coffee. Pool full of children taking swimming lessons. Deck full of parents watching children take lessons. Complimentary items listed in hotel booklet when asked for we were told they were for sale in the gift shop.
The dinning room was great, service a bit slow, but food excellent and staff very friendly.
Way over priced for Belize. As are all of the decent hotels in Belize. They charge North American prices without the north american treats or service.

Room Tip: Stay away from pool area noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My son and I stayed three nights at the Biltmore Plaza. I chose the hotel because of the Best Western affiliation. I was not let down. The hotel itself is a great value and with pool, restaurant, and bar could be a very nice base from which to visit the sights of Belize. The rooms are comfortable with coffeey maker and refrigerator. While we were there they were replacing all mattresses and bedding. Taxi service is easy and the front desk is willing to call and firm up the price of the ride. Tell them to call Mervin. He provided my son and I transportation and much more in terms of setting us up with water taxis, tours, and just stops to get some shopping done. The staff were very accomodating and friendly throughout our stay. I would be unlikely to walk anywhere in Belize City so the fact that the Biltmore is away from the waterfront and city center is not really an issue. The Riverside Tavern halfway between the Biltmore and city center is a great choice for dinner or pub food.

Room Tip: I usually like a ground floor room. We had a second floor room assigned to us and it turned out jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My family stayed at The Best Western Biltmore for one night after a great vacation in San Pedro on Ambergris Caye. Coming from North Carolina, where the Biltmore name is synonymous with high end top quality, this basic Best Western throws the Biltmore name around like to too deserve high kudos. Keep in mind, IT'S A BEST WESTERN! Don't expect American standards to apply here. On our June stay, the kitchen had caught fire earlier in the day and food was very limited. Thank goodness for Sahara's Grill across the street. Front Desk staff was unable to issue us room keys since the computers were down. Check out was easy since we never officially checked in. Luckily, we had prepaid for the stay and simply signed the back of that form and left.

Considering what Belize City has to offer, this Best Western was a good choice but it was overpriced and amenities were limited. Hotel staff was helpful and we sympathized with their plight. Overall, the accommodations were average at best. If you are expecting more than that, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager05, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We sincerely appreciate you coming to our hotel. I agree that we unfortunately had a small fire in our kitchen but service was on time nonetheless. We extend our apologies and hope that you return in the near future so you can see our improvements. Thanks for your comments once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I have been coming to Belize for ten years to work with the government. I first stayed at the Belize Biltmore about six years ago. The quality of service, location, management, comfort, and general experience then and now is beyond comparison. I truly had a great experience during my last stay in May. In relation to price, service and cleanliness, the Biltmore is one of the best in Belize.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
3.2 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
3.2 mi away
Chateau Caribbean
Chateau Caribbean
#4 of 9 in Belize City
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Caribbean Belize Pickwick Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#6 of 25 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel

Address: Mile 3, Phillip Goldson Highway | PO Box 959, Belize City, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belize Biltmore Plaza, situated literally minutes from the Caribbean Sea, the choices for incredible adventures are many. A day of fishing, snorkeling or scuba diving is just a short boat ride away; after which, your "home away from home" awaits you. A beautifully appointed room, a wonderful dinner, a stop in our bar for a relaxing nightcap and "swapping stories of the day’s adventures with others" is a wonderful way to end your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Belize City
Belize City Best Western
BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel Belize City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.