We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When u are fed up of rice and beans... BARCELONA!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Barcelona

De Barcelona
Buttonwood Bay Blvd, Belize City 001, Belize (Formerly De Barcelona Beach Tapas Bar)
+501 666-4680
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 64 Restaurants in Belize City
Price range: $2 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, Spanish, Pub, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Live music every Tuesday and Thursday with Angela & Cesar (voice - guitar).
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
“When u are fed up of rice and beans... BARCELONA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were traveling around belize for more than one month... So we were absolutely fed up of rice and beans, burgers,... We were driving through Placencia when we suddenly spot a signpost saying Barcelona (we are from Barcelona so it was quiet shocking...) we decided to enter and it was amazing; the owners are super cool and the food is really GOOD!!! Stop there if you have the opportunity and order Iberic Ham! I am spanish and I can guarantee you that it is truly spanish Iberic Ham!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placencia, Belize
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Romantic Birthday Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My boyfriend surprised me to dinner at Barcelona, with my friends..Upon arriving the owners greeted us and made us feel very welcome. They served a fabulous Sangria, nice taste and smooth going down. The Tapas were even more fabulous, My Shrimp Balls, and a taste Potato fry with a nice mild sauce( sorry not sure of the name, but I think it was patatas bravas). The fried calamari, mmmmm so good, and Tracey moaned at having her eggs and fries. It was so different from the the everyday meal, but all good. As the night progressed Angela Suarez performs Latin, Jazz, Pop, Blues, with Steve Fasano on guitar... and beloved requested I say a little prayer for you... how much more romantic can it get, then lights goes out and the birthday song is sung. I am not sure if it was a brownie, but it was rich with chocolate flouvors and the the ice cream complimented it even more. Thanks to a wonderful 35 birthday evening, it shall not soon be forgetting. Can't wait to come again for dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Barcelona in the Caribbean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very tasty tapas. I was surprised by the good quality Serrano ham. Good music, if a bit loud. It is a very good alternative to the food choices in Placencia

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Take a lot of money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great food but pricey for Placencia. Great Sangria but the more expensive than I've had even in Los Angeles.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good but not super special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We ate here on our first night in town and got a few dishes, most of which were good, but some of which were nothing special; the lobster croquets were basically just cheese croquets, and the chocolate cake left something to be desired (though the vanilla ice cream that came with it was delicious! There was basically no one there, either, which may not be surprising for a Tuesday in September. We certainly wouldn't discourage someone from going there, but from what we here, there are better choices in the town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Barcelona also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to De Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.