We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chukka Cave Tour at Jaguar Paw Outpost” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chukka Caribbean Adventures in Belize

Chukka Caribbean Adventures in Belize
1 Belize Ave, Belize City, Belize
+501 18774248552
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$55*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chukka Belize - Exclusive locations and tours for families, couples and friends. For the adventurous crowd we offer ziplines, cave tubing, rappelling, airboats and more. Or visit a Mayan Temple, national parks, of the Belize Zoo; view wildlife, take a rum tasting or city tour, or tour historic buildings. We create custom tours, and can arrange transportation to and from all major hotels and piers. Chukka offers the best of Jamaica, Belize, Grand Turk and Dominican Republic.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Chukka Cave Tour at Jaguar Paw Outpost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

On the recommendation of our daughter, we chose to try out the Cave Tubing in Belize. We were doubtful about the excursion because it involved 1-1.5 hours in a bus EACH WAY, and only around 45 minutes in the tube after a 20 minute hike through a jungle. We seriously doubted that it could be worth the time, but she loved it last year with another company and since there is basically nothing to do in Belize City Port, we went for it. Well, we were pleasantly surprised. Our tour guide was Elvis and he was AWESOME! He talked the whole time there and most of the way back giving us all kinds of historical and local information about Belize and the sites along the way. When we got to the site, we rented lockers (even the large is pretty small, so we had to get 2 at $6 each), split into smaller groups of about 8, got geared up and went for a short 20 minute hike. You MUST wear water shoes or sandals with straps, so bring your own or rent them there. They stopped along the way to show us plants, etc. which was very interesting. We had to carry our own tubes, but it was manageable. Then we came to the river. We sat in our tubes, linked together in our group with our guide, and started down the river and into the caves. They are incredible. They told us it was a 100% we tour, but I could have easily kept my camera dry inside a dry bag and took a few pictures on the way (but I wouldn't risk a really expensive one on it, FYI - as some groups went into a small waterfall or I suppose you could fall out or have someone flip you) The guide told us all about the caves, cave structure, Mayan culture regarding caves, etc. It was beautiful and informative. When we were back to the starting point we climbed out and carried our gear back. There was a changing area, outside showers, restrooms, a swimming pool, restaurant, and gift shop all there and we had about 30 minutes or so to do as we liked until we were ready for the trip back to port. Elvis had a game at the end to see who could remember some of the facts he told us along the way and gave away coins from Belize as the prize, as well as a few little flags, etc. Overall, it was a great way to spend the day in Belize and definitely something I would recommend to anyone who hasn't done something like this before. I was worried about bugs, etc. and it really wasn't an issue. The water was pretty cool, but we quickly adjusted and enjoyed the ride.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHUKKATours, Guest Relations Manager at Chukka Caribbean Adventures in Belize, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We are thrilled that you had a wonderful time at Chukka on our Cave Tubing excursion. Elvis and Team will love reading your post. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we look forward to discovering more of Jamaica, Belize or Turks and Caicos with you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    25
    10
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denton, TX USA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Island Beach Break with lunch- Water Caye”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hm... key words? Private island... pale sand... gorgeous water... shady spots on the beach... inflatable water trampoline for the kids... lunch included... and a water taxi from and back to the cruise ship... yeah, we'll take this excursion! It was totally worth it. Your guide, Natalie, was so friendly and really knew how to get us engaged. She really knew her stuff. Once we got to Water Caye, everything was laid out and waiting... we just set up camp at the spot we picked and dove right in. Lunch was delicious, by the way... going back to Natalie's comments about "we don't have fast food in Belize!" It was a nice, relaxing time off the cruise ship... just what we needed.

Note to future cruisers: It's worth it to just buy this excursion with lunch. You get a wristband if you pay for lunch, which they take from you when they serve you. The restaurant on the island serves three kind of chicken, rice and beans, and cheese nachos. For your included lunch, you get a plate of seasoned (but not spicy-hot) grilled chicken with a mound of rice and beans and cole slaw, and they put out a big cooler of tropical fruit punch. You can also buy drinks. If you'd rather pick your "flavor" of chicken or you've got a picky eater who'll only eat the nachos, then maybe it's worth it to you to pay separately.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChukkaCaribbean, Public Relations Manager at Chukka Caribbean Adventures in Belize, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are thrilled to know you have really enjoyed your day with Chukka at Water Caye and we will be sure to let Natalie know how she made your excursion even more unforgettable. Thank you for making it Chukka and we do hope to see you again soon in Jamaica, Belize or Turks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cave Tubing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We booked this tour through Carnival Cruise and had an excellent experience. Before we even boarded the bus, our tour guide Elvis got us pumped up and excited to go. From the moment the bus began moving, Elvis talked about where we were, things we were passing by, history of the island, and other interesting tidbits. He even brought his own photos and memorabilia to share with the group. I learned so much about this beautiful country!

The bus ride lasts a little over an hour. At the destination, you rent lockers for your bags (nothing allowed on the tube except you and a waterproof camera), get a life vest, helmet, miner's light and tube. Once outfitted, the group crosses the river and takes a 20-25 minute "rainforest jungle walk". This is how you get yourself and your tube to the launch spot. Don't expect parrots in the trees and monkeys swinging from the branches. Still, it's an interesting walk through native trees.

Once at the launch spot, tubers are connected arm to foot to keep the group together. The guide points out different geologic features and formations and talks about the Mayan history with caves. It's a relaxing 30 minute float to the extraction point.

After tubing, be sure to visit the gift shop and restaurant. The food tastes fresh and good, and the gift shop has some items you won't find back at the pier. Then it's back on the bus for the ride back.

Summer 2014: locker rental = $6, water shoe rental = $5, chicken and rice lunch = $8, tacos = $2, nachos = $4.

Tip: Buy lunch directly at the restaurant, not with the tour. It's $2 cheaper per person this way. Also, bring closed toe shoes. They're required.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChukkaCaribbean, Public Relations Manager at Chukka Caribbean Adventures in Belize, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
What a great, detailed recount of your adventure. We are glad you had such an excellent experience while Cave Tubing with Chukka, we’ll be sure to congratulate Elvis for having made the excursion extra special. Thank you for your review! We hope you return soon for more exciting adventures together! Feel free to share your pictures in our social media pages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Zip Lining and Cave Tubbing ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I don't typically write reviews but wanted to share what an awesome experience we had on this excursion. Out of all the cruise excursions I've ever done, this was one of my favorite! Yes the bus ride was long but it was like a tour through Belize. The guide, David, was wonderful and shared very interesting information while traveling. He was also our guide through the caves. Again, very informative. In addition to the fun, it was a awesome hands on learning experience for my son. The zip line was exciting and afterwards we enjoyed a nice lunch that was very reasonably priced. I would highly recommend this tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChukkaCaribbean, Public Relations Manager at Chukka Caribbean Adventures in Belize, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hi Bethany, thank you for your review! We always want our clients to have amazing experiences and we're thrilled to know that you had a great time. We are also delighted that David made this excursion so memorable for you and your party. We hope to see you again soon for more adventure in your next Caribbean vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“wow!!!! what fun! Best excursion of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Elvis was our tour guide. The entire bus ride he gave us a fun and factual tour of his country. His enthusiasm and love of Belize was contagious! My family and I did the rappel, zip line, and tubing. They were very safety conscious! When we were anywhere near a point where we could possibly fall we were hooked to a line. The lunch was an authentic local dish and it was delicious. The staff was incredible friendly. All cruise excursions are expensive but I would say that this one was worth the price!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChukkaCaribbean, Public Relations Manager at Chukka Caribbean Adventures in Belize, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hi Gabriel! We love guest feedback and we are overjoyed to know that you and your group enjoyed our Ultimate 3 in 1 Adventure, an exhilarating mix of nature, adrenaline and speed! We will definitely congratulate Elvis on your behalf. Thank you for choosing Chukka and we cannot wait to welcome you back for another adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chukka Caribbean Adventures in Belize also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Chukka Caribbean Adventures in Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chukka Caribbean Adventures in Belize, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.