We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made me fall in love with Belize” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chukka Caribbean Adventures in Belize

Chukka Caribbean Adventures in Belize
1 Belize Ave, Belize City, Belize
+501 18774248552
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$55*
and up
Private Belize City Adventure: Zipline Tour at Jaguar Paw and Crystal Cave...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chukka Belize - Exclusive locations and tours for families, couples and friends. For the adventurous crowd we offer ziplines, cave tubing, rappelling, airboats and more. Or visit a Mayan Temple, national parks, of the Belize Zoo; view wildlife, take a rum tasting or city tour, or tour historic buildings. We create custom tours, and can arrange transportation to and from all major hotels and piers. Chukka offers the best of Jamaica, Belize, Grand Turk and Dominican Republic.
SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Made me fall in love with Belize”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We did this as a Carnival shore excursion. It was truly the highlight of our cruise. We have done city tours in other places that were less than spectacular. Not so with Chukka. Nuri, our city tour guide made us fall in love with Belize. He was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable. His pride for his country really shone. His firsthand knowledge of Belize and everyday life was so interesting. When we got to the Airboat outpost, the fun continued. We were saluted by the staff upon arrival. The boat ride was so much fun. We saw birds, crocodiles, iguanas. No manatees unfortunately. I highly recommend this excursion. It was well worth the money, and if you are lucky, you'll get Nuri as your guide and Butch as your driver. They also had a photographer present who offered to sell discs of all the photos taken of your party as well as some nature photos of the location. This was reasonably priced at $20. The photographer was not pushy to those who chose not to purchase. They had water available, but also had some drinks as well as chips and candy for purchase. Bathrooms were clean.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    27
    11
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our Cave Tubing and Zip Lining event at Chukka Belize Jaguar Paw was a totally awesome adventure. The experience got off to a great start by the extremely personable and cheerful front desk staff who gave us a through overview of what we could expect on our days' adventure. Elmer was the guide for the cave tubing portion of the adventure and there was no detail too small for him to point out to us. Benji and Richard was the guides for our Zip Lining Adventure. Their attention to safety on the course and their willingness to accommodate our lineup change and photography request was above and beyond. Over the last thirty years I have taken tours in many countries all over the world and I must say that the Jaguar Paw experience is in the top three tours I have ever taken. Our adventure was capped off by having some freshly prepared and very delicious local food right on the site.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We chose this as a shore excursion from Carnival Cruise Lines. The bus ride was interesting and gives you a glimpse of Belize. Wear your swim suits there; there is not enough time to change before hand, plenty of time after. There are very clean small individual change rooms with a sink and a commode, but no hooks to hang anything. There are various locker sizes starting at $5.00 plenty of room. You actually finish tubing where started (right were the lockers are). After everyone has their stuff in the lockers, they give you a tube with handles, size you up for your life jacket and helmet with a head lamp that is so dim it’s worthless. Oh well that was the only negative of the whole trip, I consider that a success. Then you start the 35 minute walk through the jungle with very rocky trail, we have canyoneering boots that are made for this type of trail. You need footwear that you don’t mind getting wet with a sturdy sole. The caves were really cool in the experience and the temperature. Our guide had a helmet light that actually worked so that helped us all to see what he was talking about. He was very informed, interesting and professional. At the Jaguar camp you get to try the local cuisine and they have free wine tasting of five different wines. There is also a gift shop and of course you can purchase the photo they took of you. By the way no matter what the water level is, they put you together two rows side by side with your feet locked under the arm pit of the person in front of you. The day we went it was so low it ripped the bottom of my trunks.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best tour of our cruise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

What an amazing tour! The cave tubling we did in Xcaret's man-made cave did not compare.
We were picked up at the Belize City dock after tendering from the ship, put on a nice bus with 2 informative guides and driven about an hour out into the jungle. There's bathrooms and lockers to shore anything you don't want to get wet. Then you have to walk with your tube over rocks for about half an hour; but it was well worth it! It was a cloudy day ( May 7, 2013); but it would be a lot more difficult in the heat. The 2 mile cave is awesome and very relaxing since your guide (in our case, Miguel) pulls you along the way after strapping 8 of us together on our tubes. You have a helmet with a light and a comfortable life vest and I felt safe even though I don't swim. It's a short walk back to the lockers and a building with an excellent lunch. We also got to sample some of the local wines for free. The cenote is beautiful!!!! A must do!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beyond Compare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Chukka Belize gave me one of the most AMAZING experience in my entire lifetime to date. I did the Ultimate Adventure Tours (Ziplinning, Rappeling and Cave Tubing) and the Crystal Cave Exploration and I must say it was the BEST TIME OF MY LIFE! Tours were excellent, the guides were exceptionally professional and the service (food, drinks etc.) were toppings on the cake! Totally recommend doing these tours any day :)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chukka Caribbean Adventures in Belize also viewed

 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Chukka Caribbean Adventures in Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chukka Caribbean Adventures in Belize, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.