We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Conch soup!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marva's Restaurant

Marva's Restaurant
Water Lane, Belize City, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 64 Restaurants in Belize City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: This restaurant is around the corner from the Belcove Hotel and has the best authentic food in Belize. It definitely deserves a spot on your site!
Sammamish, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the Conch soup!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I enjoyed the fried fish with red beans and rice. Marva's habanero sauce packs quick a kick, but adds a new dimension to red beans and rice. Her watermelon juice is fresh and quenching. My favorite, however, was the conch soup. Wow! She doesn't skimp on the conch meat either! I'm not a big fan of okra, but it works perfectly in her soup.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“juicy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The rice and beans were actually moist! Tender pork, yummy potato salad, love the plantain. And watermelon juice!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Karen's Eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Marva is an excellent cook. The food was absolutely delicious! Take a photo with Marva, she is not only a good cook, but she will now be a must stop and eat on the tour spot.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Local restaurant with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Had a really good meal at Marva's serving local Belizian cuisine. Although salads are not the norm, daughter, Marva whipped us up a lettuce and tomatoe salad to go along with our fish and rice and peas.....yummy.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Marva's is a traditional Belizean restaurant, no frills just good hearty food. The restaurant has a cozy welcoming atmosphere and traditional Belizean food you can't get enough of. The owner Marva is the cook and boy can she cook! I could have eaten here for every meal. It was by far the best food we had eaten in Belize City! The prices are inexpensive and Marva will go out of her way to make you happy. Try her conch soup or her chicken with rice and beans! You will be back for more I promise you that:)

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marva's Restaurant also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Marva's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marva's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.