We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for local food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bird's Isle

Bird's Isle
90 Albert Street | Bird's Isle, Belize City, Belize
+501(0)207 2179
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 64 Restaurants in Belize City
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great choice for local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

It was recommended by our hotel. We had very good fish and pork. The service was nice, and food was very reasonably priced. The restaurant has great views, but don't forget mosquito repellant if you want to seat outside

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    64
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
144 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and local food! Great view and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was the highlight of our time in Belize City! We had an excellent snapper (the WHOLE fish grilled with a hot sauce coated skin), rice with black beans, coleslaw, fried plantains and we rolled away from the table. The portions were generous and food excellent. If you do nothing else in Belize try this place for a meal. The service was friendly and helpful and it's a bit of the real Belize. The customers were mainly locals and the thached roof and plastic chairs all gave it the local flavor that tourist so often miss in a city.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great restaurant by the Sea & Huge Ceviche!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

A little bit of a far drive to get here from outside Belize City but heading south over the Swing Bridge and then straight down Albert street for a mile puts you at the restaurant on the water. Out waiter here was very attentive even though the place was busy and full of locals for lunch on a Friday. The Ceviche comes in a huge portion for $20 BZ and is highly recommended. The food here is cheap and we will come back many more times!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Way better than options at the port”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The Belize Port area is a well defined, fairly small area of shopping and a few restaurants. We were advised by the ship not to venture out into the city. But when we asked a local bartender where he liked to eat he said Bird's Isle is the best place on the island. I wouldn't advise walking there but our short taxi ride was fine and the well worth it. It is obviously a local place and the food, service, and view were great. A much nicer experience than the touristy places at the port. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stopped here at the suggestion of our tour guide, what great advise, the staff was friendly, the food top 10. Sitting overlooking the ocean and eating a great meal. Can't beat it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bird's Isle also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Bird's Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird's Isle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.