We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cave Tubing and Jungle Walk in Belize” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belize Jungle Trek

Belize Jungle Trek
Forth St, Tourism Village | San Pedro, Belize City, Belize
+501 669-8415
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 68 Activities in Belize City
Type: Sports Camps/ Clinics, Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cruise Ship Passengers and Overnight visitors can enjoy some of the most unique adventures in Belize. Our tours are fun, safe and a must do at this port of Belize. Apart from the turquoise seas, the sandy beaches of the many islands dotted off our shores and the rich blanket of rainforest that spreads across the country, there is a world yet to be explored beneath the surface. Discover the secrets of the ancient Mayas tubing through an underground realm exploring majestic caves, known as the Mayan underworld. This cave tubing adventure is done several places in Belize, including at the Caves Branch Archaeological Reserve. Visitors can experience a journey of a lifetime into a dark but mysterious place and learn about the Mayas who utilized these caves from as early as 300 A.D. The Mayas who occupied Belize thousands of years ago, considered these caves as Sacred. The Mayas only visited these caves periodically to conduct important rituals.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
World Traveller
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cave Tubing and Jungle Walk in Belize”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Beautiful scenery, so picturesque. Flip flops and bare feet are not permitted. Water shoes or sandals with a back strap are necessary. The employees were very kind and patient and helped us to enjoy the fun. A delicious buffet was served after the fun. The lunch was included with the admission fee.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    20
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cave Tubing Great! Belize JungleTrek Tour Company Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was our first trip to Belize - 2 adults and 2 college-aged children. Overall, our trip was fabuolous - beautiful country, unique sites and activities, great food, and friendly people. All made for easy travel and a top-notch vacation. We did Hol Chin/Shark Ray Alley and fishing with great tour group Tuff-E-Nuff on Ambergris Caye - and we selected Belize JungleTrek for our day trip to the mainland for a tour of the Xunatunich Mayan ruins and to go Cave Tubing at Caves Branch.

Our only disappointment of our entire Belize trip was our experience with this tour company - Belize JungleTrek. As other reviewers have noted, Jovan was very responsive and clear on the agenda and pricing when I inquired about the trip. No issues at all here -

The issue was with our guide and then with Jovan's response when we brought the issue forward. As I told Jovan, we've taken tours in multiple South Amercan/Central American/Caribbean countries - and we've never had a tour guide get angry with us and just leave the tour. We had seen about 25% of Xunatunich when the guide just walked away from us and back to the entrance - it was clear he was very angry with us. We were shocked - and told him we wanted to see the rest of the site, so we tagged along with other groups and toured the visitor center on our own. We then went on to cave tubing - as you can imagine, there was considerable friction the rest of the day.

We are not sure exactly what made the tour guide angry at us (as I noted, we've never had this happen before) - no matter the cause, there is absolutely no valid reason whatsoever for a tour guide to leave a tour group - ever. When we brought the issue to Jovan's attention, he provided a vague explanation that we must have done something to trigger the incident. We strongly disagree - there was nothing that would justify the guide walking off as he did.

Unfortunately, we have been unable to get Jovan to respond all all since his initial response. So, although we loved Belize and have posted several positive reviews on our wonderful experiences there, we cannot endorse this firm at all. Xunatunich and Cave Tubing at Caves Branch were absolutely fabulous, though - check out my separate reviews on them, and be sure to visit them!

When we originally researched, we ranked Amigos Jungle Tours a close second to this company - sure wish we had picked them or someone else There are plenty of tour companies to choose from, so be sure to pick someone besides Belize JungleTrek - and enjoy the beautiful country and people of Belize!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern new jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Jungle trek?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

It really wasn't a jungle trek but a walk on uncomfortable big pebbles and rocks carrying your tube. Make sure to bring your own water shoes

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Butts Up/Butts Down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great experience, especially after zip-lining as away to cool down. The trip is unique in that you are floating down river in a cave for about an hour.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockstone Pond, Belize
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cave Tubing is a blast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have done the cave tubing several times, its alot of fun going in and out of several caves sitting on an inner tube. The water is refreshingly cold, but the whole experience is worth it. The jungle trails are exciting as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belize Jungle Trek also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Belize Jungle Trek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belize Jungle Trek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.