We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belize Zip Line Canopy Tours

Belize Zip Line Canopy Tours
122 Brown Street, Belize City, Belize
501-664-1975
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Zip line canopy tour that we offer is designed to last approximately 3.5 hour. It includes a 50 minuted drive to the site where the zip line canopy tour is done. As we drive to the canopy tour site we will be narrating the history of Belize and pointing out important site as we drive. Upon our arrival at the site where the zip line canopy tour is done we will have a short restroom break. After the break you will be assisted with your gears for the zip line canopy tour. You will zipping through the canopy of Belize's rain forest for approximately an hour. After the zip line canopy tour we will be heading to the Belize City. We will be passing the Belize Zoo. You can add the zoo to the day's activities with no extra cost. All you need to do is pay your entrance fees ( $15.00 per/ adult & $7.50 per/child ). We don't sell the Belize Zoo as a tour since we pass by.We also do this tour with kids.We offer our services to visitors staying in San Ignacio, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Caye Caulker, Belize City, and every other part of the country of Belize.We offer personalize tour services to families, groups, and all other visitors to Belize. We also do free hotel pick ups in the Belize City area.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I thought this would be fun but, it was very exciting! I almost couldn't finish as we were so high and travelling so fast on the zip lines! Not for the faint of heart!

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    10
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
middleburg
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome day in Belize jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Belize was one of the ports we visited on our cruise. We booked a combo cave tubing/zip line excursion on line and saved over $100.00 US for 2 by not booking off the ship. The excursion started with about an hour bus ride. During the ride our guide talked about the area and with his humor it shortened the ride. Once there we took about a 1/2 hour walk thru the jungle, crossing the river 3 time carring our tubes. We were hooked up in teams of 8 along with a guide and away we went. Traveling thru a pitch black cave that was easily a half mile long. They issue head lanterns so you can see all the interesting formations inside. Once out of the cave you float down river thru the Belize jungle. There were no bugs to speek of this time of year (December) After exiting the river we took a very short walk back to the lodge area where we showered and changed into dry clothes. Another short walk to the start of the zip line. There were 7 in all the longest around 600 ft and some 100 feet or higher off the canopy floor. My wife went first and on several she just disappeared into the jungle. You travel faster on the lines then I thought you would. It was very safe and exciting. We took several great videos. When completed we were treated to a wonderfull lunch buffet ( included in the price) that included several local dishes and spices. After a fun day and being tired and full, we did not mind the nap we took on the return to the city. This was one of the best excursions we have ever taken on a cruise. Well worth the price. You can leave all your gear on the bus which has security durning the day so bring a change of clothes, towell, water shoes,a waterproof camera for the tubing and a video camera for the zipping around. They say "No one can hear you scream" but we heard screaming all day long. What a blast! You will love this tour in the Belize jungle.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, TN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Belize Zip What a Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We sailed to Belize City on the NCL Spirit. The zipline canopy tour sounded interesting so we signed up. Our guide on the bus (Doreen) to the tour site was very pleasant and informative. She pointed out places of interest and gave us a history lesson on Belize. Our driver was Miguel. When we arrived at the tour site we were provided with a lunch and drinks. We were then driven to the area of the zipline and where given a safety brief and issued equipment. Everyone was extremely polite. It was about a 20 minute hike up to the first platform where we hooked up and took the first zip. My wife has to walk with a cane but was able to navigate the hike with no problem. They were very accomidating to people who were taking pictures and I also videoed portions. They did not try to hurry us along. After the zip tour was complete we were driven back to the lunch area and were given free drinks and samples of local wines. You can purchase photos that the crew took of you while you were ziplining. Then we were driven back to the cruise ship. It was a great trip and if I am every in Belize City again I will definitely take this tour again. PS: The bathrooms were really clean.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ziplining and Mayan Ruin Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

After a recent liveaboard dive trip, a friend and I decided to spend some time topside seeing the sights. We prebooked a full-day tour to see the Xunatunich Mayan Ruins and go ziplining though Way To Go travel. They subcontracted it out to a local company who had another person on the tour who had booked locally. Our tour guide, Robert Lopez (roblopez1964@yahoo.com) was excellent and extremely knowledgable. He picked us up at our hotel in a van, and there was 1 other single lady from South Africa on the tour with us. We were unable to get to Xunatunich as the river we had to cross was too swollen, so they substituted a visit to Cahal Pech ruins. During the nearly 2 hour ride to the ruins, he told us all about Belize - the history, people, culture, wildlife, plants/trees, etc. Several times, he spotted a bird, critter, or vantage point and pulled over to let us take pictures. He was also very patient with our hundreds of questions, but didn't try to force conversation when we just wanted some quiet. Cahal Pech was very interesting, and we were able to crawl all over the ruins as he told us about the Mayan culture and history of the Mayan cities. It amazed us that there was no one else at the site so we had the entire "park" to ourselves, and that we were able to climb and go into the ruins - the Belize government doesn't have the money to protect them very well, so they are open for people explore as closely as they want. After several hours there, we drove about 75 mins back to the area where we were going zipline and have lunch. As an aside, this area is also where we had been a few days earlier when we went cave tubing - they also offer kayaking/canoeing and horseback trips and have a gift shop, restaurant, bar, restrooms and changing facilities. Lunch was good - there was no one else in the area so instead of the buffet, they prepared meals individually. After lunch, we got fitted in harnesses and had our safety brief before taking a hike into the jungle. I will admit that I have issues with heights, but I never once felt uncomfortable or hesitant to go down the zipline. The guides were very friendly, professional, and instilled confidence in their safety procedures, abilities, and equipment. They were also very patient with pictures and when we wanted to change the order that we went down the zipline so that we could get pictures/movies. The ziplines are actually 2 separate cables and your harness has to pulleys, 1 attached to each line. As I always worry about the equipment breaking and me falling, this provided great security. The entire tour lasted just over an hour - it would have been longer, of course, if there were more than 3 of us - and was very fun. It is not very strenuous, though there is some hiking and stair climbing involved. Overall, a very good day and well worth the time and money.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Woop! Zip Line was a lot of Fun & Safe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Great first time experience for the whole family -- 2 teenage boys and my wife enjoyed it too. The guides were very friendly, funny and they did not compromise on safety. We took a short hike up the side of a mountain and were given instruction and a safety briefing. The zip lines were well above the tree line and the repelling down was a lot of fun too. The bus ride (approx 1 hr +/-) was made interesting by our guide who informed us of the history of Belize. Given the long ride away from the cruise pier, I highly recommend booking this excursion through the cruise line (if not and you bus breaks down you are SOL).

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belize Zip Line Canopy Tours also viewed

 
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Belize Zip Line Canopy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belize Zip Line Canopy Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.