We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bike Ride in Jungle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carnival Tours Belize

Carnival Tours Belize
5916 Manatee Dr. | Buttonwood Bay, Belize City, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 68 Activities in Belize City
Attraction details
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Bike Ride in Jungle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We did the excursion "Bike Ride in the Jungle". Good ride on bus through the city to park. Ride was nice, lunch was fine and seemed authentic to region. Swimming was great.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    3
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folkston, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Rendezvous Caye, Belize Snorkeling via the Belizean Pride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We took the Belizean Pride, a catamaran, along with over 100 other Carnival cruisers to a 3-4 acre island in the middle of the sea about 20 miles off the coast of Belize. We were treated to a knowledgeable talk on the way to the island. The tour guide provided us with historical and cultural information about Belize. It was very clear that he loves his country and is very enthusiastic about opportunities to tell others about the place he lives. This was our second trip to Belize. The first time we took the River Wallace and Altun Ha (Mayan ruin) excursion. I will provide a separate review of that trip.
We always take our own snorkel gear, so we didn't need any of the gear provided by the tour company, but I did notice that the guides took their time in making sure that guests were fitted appropriately with fins. They had plenty of gear and it was in good condition and very clean (my observation). They gave instructions and were sure to let people know not to wear the fins until they entered the water. Everyone was also required to wear flotation vests and were given great guidance in putting these on properly.
The big group was divided into three smaller groups according to experience (beginners, intermediate and an advance group). Each group had several guides swimming along and also had a person in a kayak to provide support if anyone got tired and needed help. We swam with the advanced group and were treated to a swimming trip around the entire island. I have included photos of what we saw in the water that day as well as a photo of the island from where we were swimming. Our group snorkeled a little over an hour. The water on one side of the island was a bit murky due to wave action, but you could still see the fish and coral clearly. The water on the other side of the island was very clear as it was protected and calm. Our guides (Clive, Elvis and Mario) were very helpful and picked up sea cucumbers and urchins for us to look at and hold then were careful to put them back on the sea floor. They also pointed out various fish, squid, and identified the different types of coral. We moved at a leisurely pace and had plenty of time to take pictures and ask questions.
This would be a good excursion for anyone wanting to learn to snorkel in a beautiful setting as well as for those that have great experience snorkeling and anything in between. There was food available for purchase on the island (hamburgers and hotdogs), soft drinks, coconut water (fresh from chilled coconuts cut open on the spot). They also have restroom facilities. This company gets gear out on the ride to the island so that more time can be spent in enjoying the activity. There is also plenty of time to relax on the beach or to swim before going back to reality. We had a great time with people that are good at what they do and would take this trip again and again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Altun Ha and River Wallace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We took a tour offered by Carnival while on a 1-day stop in Belize. I thought the tour was a nice, brief introduction to someplace I'd never been before. We drove through Belize City on our way to a longer road that took us to the ruins. The guides were knowledgeable and friendly.

After seeing the ruins, we were taken on a boat ride on the River Wallace that returned us to the dock to tender back to the ship. I also found this educational as we got to see plants, animals and buildings on the way. And again, the guides were interesting.

Overall, I thought the tour was a great overview of the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stay on the Ship!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

For my first trip to Belize I was highly disappointed. Very dirty city!!! High crime as our tour guide was telling us and obvious by the razor wire sorrounding most homes. It was my first cruise and found it quite surprising that Carnival would include such a place on their list of port of calls. Very dirty place pretty much says it all. I did visit Bacab Eco Park which wasnt bad. the staff there was very friendly and the pool was wonderful. I took a bike ride through the jungle as they called it but didnt see anything out of the ordinary other than couple of iguanas. My tip if you decide to go...... Bring the best mosquito repellent you can find and lots of it!!!!!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rendezvous Caye Snorkel: Excellent slice of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our family went on this excursion to the tiny, tiny Rendezvous Caye to snorkel. The little island is a beautiful sight and the ride over from the cruise ship is enjoyable. The actual snorkeling experience is good, and the guides in each group are helpful and friendly. After snorkeling we were able to relax on the little beach section which was extremely clean. Our kids enjoyed drinking coconut juice straight out of coconuts, and the entire experience was beyond relaxing. I would without a doubt recommend this excursion to anyone looking to snorkel casually and relax on a beautiful slice of paradise in Belize.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnival Tours Belize also viewed

 

Been to Carnival Tours Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnival Tours Belize, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.