We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience Awesome excursion & Exceptional staff!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlie's Cave Tubing Tours

Charlie's Cave Tubing Tours
Orange Walk District, Belize City, Belize
501-607-2128
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Charlie's Tours are very educational, ecological-oriented and adequate for school kids and students of all ages. Charlie offers an excellent ecological tour on the trails just prior to having to tube through the mysterious caves where the Maya priests once prayed to and worshiped the Gods of the Underworld. At Charlie's Cave Tubing we cater especially to our Eco-friendly guests. We are very serious about the conservation and preservation of the caves. We are sure you will find this a very relaxing and pleasant experience.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience Awesome excursion & Exceptional staff!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Charlie's Cave Tubing Tours in Belize City was the excursion highlight of our cruise. Charlie and Roberto are college educated and the original cave tubing "Mentors" who began cave tours in the mid 90's. They are consummate professionals who obviously love what they do and do not simply provide a day of tubing through a cave but use their time to educate on the history of Belize, their Mayan culture and the wonders of the Belize rainforest. The assisting guides Brian and Bret also went above and beyond by carrying the tubes ahead of us to our river entry point (no other outfit provides this perk). With our tubes waiting for us this gave Roberto the opportunity to show his down to earth yet funny nature as he skillfully educated us on the amazing surroundings from the available food to the natural remedies that the rainforest provides. The tubing portion was nothing short of awesome from the caves to the jungle it couldnt have been better. Even the constant 65 degree temp of the water was a relief from the heat. Once the tubing portion was complete they had an authentic delicious hot meal of Chicken with Red Beans & Rice waiting for us at the trailhead. Not sure how but this was all done on a VERY reasonable per person price and with ample time to get back to the port for some souvenier shopping. Now I understand why they wear shirts with the Superman style logo with C's on it. Couldn't recommend them higher.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    17
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable Excursion and Staff!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

"the mentor to the Pioneers of cave tubing" Roberto, Brian, and Brett were awesome! The excursion is by far one of the best times I had in my life. One of the only companies that carry your tubes for you and the tubes are top notch, head rest and mesh bottoms!! Roberto is knowledge and draws you into his Mayan culture. During the walk to the caves he guides you through the jungle and educates you about some of the most fascinating things I have ever seen. The tubing is exciting, relaxing, fun, and amazing. We were even surprised with fabulous meal at the end of our tour.

This is a MUST if you are visiting Belize!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Our cruise ship arrived at Belize with a sunny sky. After driving an hour out from the port, it was pouring rain. Make sure to wear sturdy foot ware as the river rock trail was slippery in the rain. Everything you read about this family business is true. With their gas price over $6/gallon and the ride out is an hour one way, they don't over charge their customers at all for $50/person, lunch included. I saw other companies rushing their groups down the river like a dragon boat race, Charlie's son just let us enjoy the tranquility in the cave letting the tubes drifted. Not carrying the tube is a big bonus on a rainy day. The heavy rain didn't bother us at all as we'd get wet anyway. The bonus was no insect bite. Bring a towel and a set of clothes to change. Highly recommend this excursion.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best excursion of our cruise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our family of 5 ( kids ages 10, 13, 13) booked Charlie's Cave Tubing for our stop in Belize while cruising. It was a great excursion. Charlie met us wearing the Superman shirt and took us to meet Roberto "the mentor to the Pioneers of cave tubing". Robert is very knowledgable about Belize, the jungle and guiding tours. Charlie has a wonderful employee! After a 50 minute ride in a van we were led through the jungle on a rocky trail. Our deflated tubes were carried by a young man that came with us and were inflated and waiting for us at the river. Others on the trail were carrying their own tubes. Our tubes were hooked together and all the other groups I saw had their feet under the armpits of the person in front of them. After the awesome float down the beautiful river we had lunch, that was included in the price. I highly recommend this excursion and Charlie's Cave tubing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun day with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Being of the adventurous and budget-minded soul that I am I didn't book anything through the cruise line. I prefer the service you get with a smaller group and don't care to pay the over-inflated prices that the cruise lines charge. They also try to scare you by saying you might not get back in time before the boat sets sail. These private companies livelihoods depend on the cruislines and will get you back with plenty of time to spare. So after doing some research I came upon Charlie's and after reading the reviews our group of 9 booked our excursion. This was one of our most enjoyable days. Our driver was very friendly and gave us a nice guide as we drove. On our short and easy walk to the cave we stopped frequently so he could point out various plant and animal life and what was edible etc. Unlike other companies including the cruiselines, our tubes were carried for us and were vary comfortable. Our tubes were attached by carabiners so we didnt have to put our feet under someones armpits like other groups. The tubes have mesh bottoms so perfectly fine for children. The trip through the cave was relaxing and beautiful. The lunch afterwards was delicious! The service from start to finish on this trip was outstanding!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Cave Tubing Tours also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Charlie's Cave Tubing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlie's Cave Tubing Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.