We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ISLAND MARKETING LTD (CAYMAN)-Belize Cruise Excursions” 2 of 5 stars
Review of X-Stream Cave Tubing

X-Stream Cave Tubing
Belize City, Belize
Website
Improve this listing
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ISLAND MARKETING LTD (CAYMAN)-Belize Cruise Excursions”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I recently returned from a cruise to Belize and Cozumel. I was traveling as a single parent with a 12 and 9 year old and booked a zip-line/cave tubing adventure for all of us in Belize with Island Marketing. We met our guides Magic Mike, TooTall and Charlie at the dock. We were put on the bus quickly and went off on our hour journey.

But for some reason we were forced to stop at a local market on the way which is an irritating thing that happens a lot with these tours. Because of our late start it seemed awfully irresponsible to take the time to sell us food we didn't need.

During the bus ride Magic Mike told us a lot about Belize but as the ride continued, he seemed to forget there were kids on the bus and his discussion took an uncomfortable sexual bent. And many times, passengers tried to remind him about the kids, but he didn't seem to notice. He told bizarre stories about pissed off clients which seemed really odd. If he had stuck to the history of Belize it would have been better.

Once we arrived there was really no plan in place. We managed to go zip lining which was wonderful and my kids loved it. Then we changed and picked up our tubes and hiked 30 minutes to tubing. The hike was really easy and pretty. The tubing was lovely as well.

But upon our return, they insisted on feeding us even though we were really crunched for time to make it back to the last tender. Finally they agreed to let us eat on the bus so we could leave. It was clear as Charlie, driving us home, passed car after car, that we were running really late. But Magic Mike kept telling his inappropriate stories and forced us to stop at one point so he could run off the bus and pee. I think he may have been slightly drunk.

We arrived at the pier five minutes before the last tender left which was really not comfortable.

While the ziplining and cave tubing were great, I am not sure I would recommend this company. Their inability to keep to a timetable is worrisome and the guides lack of sensitivity to the fact that children are among them, is just wrong. Although they are nice guys, they are just not all that professional.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    28
    10
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Cave tubing awesome - rest of Belize... not so much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We wanted to do something memorable for our two kids (6 and 15) and we had to do the kids x-stream cave tubing for our younger one. Off the RC ship, long tender plus HOUR drive to the tubing area was LOOOONG. Also, during the drive there is not much to look at. Our guide - Mario was very nice and talked the whole time - which we loved - he told us about the area and it was interesting. He was super friendly and funny and good with the kids. It was just the four of us in the group. The tubing area was nice though it was a 30 minute walk to where we started - WITH the tubes... kind of a long time to walk with tubes. BUT, the walk was interesting - walked though caves etc. Our little one loved the caves - especially seeing the bats:) The tubing through the caves was awesome - a mile and a half long! It was worth it. Then we had the hour drive back to where the tender was. We would not have done it if we didn't want this experience for our kids. Just a long ride. Next time we go to Belize I may not get off the boat. I feel like we did the best thing there.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnett, Kansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A disorganized mess”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We thought our guide Magic Mike was wonderful. This tour was disorganized mess.
When we finally reached the tubing park area is when everything went down hill. Mike got off the bus and disappeared. We sat on the bus and waited. It had to be 20 minutes if not more. As we waited we watched many other buses come and their passengers would get off the bus and be on their way. We didn't understand what the hold up was. Then Mike came back and told us he required more guides and was trying to find them. We all got off the bus. Mike disappeared again. We all stood around the bus waiting again. This time it must of been around 30 minutes. Finally a man told us to go get our tubes. We walked across the grounds to the tube area. We were all given tubes and life vests. We then stood around and waited again. It was another 30 minutes. We could see Mike running back and forth like mad. Finally Mike came back to tell us that he could not find us guides. All the guides went with other higher paying companies. Mike looked like his brother just died. He was very upset. We had to turn in our tubes and vests and went back to the bus. It seemed our day was over. We boarded the bus and again waited. Mike was off somewhere. Again we waited around 20 minutes. Mike returned to say he spoke to some supervisor at the park and we could go tubing. Suddenly he had found guides? Some people on the bus had purchased both tubing and zipping and now didn't have time to do both. So some people went zipping and some went tubing. So we all got off the bus and went back across the grounds to get a tube and vest. Now we had trouble getting tubes and vests as they were all gone. We got tubes that were in disrepair but at least they held air. Oh, this is when it got so disorganized. Some people went with one guide while others went with other guides. Yelling and pushing. Some people not having a vest some not having a tube. Finally everyone left except for 7 of us. Magic Mike was going to be our guide. On the way down the gravel road to the river we got our head lights from another group coming up the from the river. It was all rush, rush, rush, hurry, hurry, hurry. We walked past the dry caves but didn't get to stop or look since we were so late getting started we had to hurry. We took the hike down to the river where we boarded our tubes and started our float. We went thru only one cave but it was a long one. There really was no narration during the tubing as it was too noisy. We did encounter a traffic jam inside the cave. A lot of other groups were going thru the cave at the same time. They obviously did not have trouble getting guides. Mike took care of us and made sure we didn't strike the sides of the cave. We couldn't have been on the river more than 15 minutes or less. All too soon it was over. We turned in our tubes, vests and lights and went back to the bus where they were serving lunch. The meal we had could not be called lunch but a snack. It consisted of one small teaspoon of coleslaw, a small portion of rice and beans and a very small piece of chicken. The rice and chicken were cold. To get water we had to walk to this old trashy pick up truck that was full of garbage and lots and lots of flies. It was disgusting. After we ate we boarded our bus for our ride back to town. Mike didn't say a word to us on the way back. He sat in a empty seat with his head in his hands and sulked. I am not joking. We finally made it back to the cruise terminal.
Wow this tour could have been so good but for the constant waiting, lack of organization and a joke of a lunch. We paid Island marketing to take care of the details. Why was this not done? Why did other buses arrive after us and be taken care of while we waited on the bus. We shouldn't have to hear how guides went with other companies because other companies paid more. I guess we booked with the wrong company.
I say pay a little more and go with another company.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Something you don't want to miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I booked this adventure through Island Marketing. I tried to reach another company who advertised that they carried your tubes for you, but never received a return e-mail. (He did call me after I had already booked this. Internet connections are not great in this part of the world.)

This company did a good job. Yes, we carried our tubes a little bit longer than a few of the other companies, but the walk was easy. Not much up and down until you reached the river. Then you had to negotiate a few steps down between some rocks. If I can do it at 60, I'd say most anyone can.

We were ready for some nice cool water after the hike, and that's what you get when you sit in the tube. Make sure you bring along a waterproof camera so you can get some good pictures of the formations.

This isn't a high energy kind of adventure, just a nice relaxing float. We did go to the farthest cave and enjoyed going through both cave systems. I did notice some guides with the other companies stopping to explain about the plants in the jungle. Ours did not do that.... it would have been nice since I'm sure many would have appreciated a chance to find out about the uniqueness of the ecosystem.

The only thing that was awful was the food. Eating a lunch served in a "to-go box" out of the back of a pickup truck was terrible. The chicken wings and legs were tiny and cold, the rice was bland. The fresh fruit was good, but you had to fight a swarm of flies to eat it. On other excursions in Belize they took us to a nice open-air restaurant and the food was much better.

Interestingly, my brother-in-law and his family went with on the Altan Ha trip also through Island Marketing and they ate the very same menu in the to-go box out of a pickup. IMPROVE THE FOOD!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

When going on this trip make sure to tell your guide you want to go to the farthest cave. It's a little farther down the trail but well worth it. This is a great excursion for everyone, the caves were beautiful and a unique and fun adventure. A must do in Belize!!!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed X-Stream Cave Tubing also viewed

 
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to X-Stream Cave Tubing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage X-Stream Cave Tubing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.