We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“He took us to Lamanai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavetubing with Major Tom

Cavetubing with Major Tom
Cor. Regent and Albert East, Belize City, Belize
+501 660-0495
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Major Tom is a guide in Belize for 27 years assisted now by His two sons Minor Tom a guide and Julian. He provides visitors to Belize with tours consisting of the ultimate mix of ecological, friendly, dependable, and informative adventures. Guests are Informed of the rich history of Belize as we tour the country side, tour pristine rain forests of Belize, and even enjoy a lazy river float through the underworld dwelling places of the Mayan Gods.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“He took us to Lamanai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We met Major Tom in Belize City at the water taxi. Super honest and friendly man. He agreed to pick us up at the water taxi terminal the next day. He was there to greet us on time, he took us to a mango stand (excellent mango's). He dropped us off at Reye's and Sons river trip to Lamanai. Reye's and Son was a great experience too. They served us a homemade lunch and patiently waited on us to go at our own pace. When Major Tom picked us up, he offered to take us to a fruit stand. He had water and Snickers waiting for us when he was there to pick us up after we got off the boat from the river. If you're laid back kinda person, who enjoys hearing about other's life experiences.... contact Major Tom!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    28
    11
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unforgettable day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Thanks to Major Tom and his sons for an amazing day in Belize! We chose the Maya ruin tour and cave tubbing! It was a long drive to the ruins, but we had a fun time learning about local culture and just watching the views from the van! We felt like old friends! We were able to try local cuisine for lunch, and also Major Tom stopped at a farmers market and had a watermelon cut up for us to enjoy! The ruins were beautiful and we were the only ones there (we were not on a cruise) We had a spectacular time on the river, where Minor Tom was our guide, he was really fun and full of knowledge as well, he has been floating that river since he was 3!! The guys went out of their way to ensure our day was fun and memorable! I would recommend them, and I want to take my husband back for sure! Its a nice family ran tour company, not like the "big guys" we had a true experience of Belize through local eyes! It is a must do! Go with Major and Minor your trip will be Unbelizeable!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc, ut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Day! Great Guys!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had such a great trip! We were staying out at Caye Caulker and Major Tom and sons picked us up at the water taxi. We had a relaxing drive and were able to view a lot of the country side on our ride. Nice local guys with a deep knowledge of Belize. They drove us to the Maya ruins and Major Tom was very knowledgeable. After the ruins, we stopped at a delicious road side lunch, and had rice, potato salad and chicken! It was my sisters favorite meal of our entire trip! Major Tom stopped and would get us fruit from fruit stands and we were able to try several local fruits. We were taken to the Cave tubes, and walked about a half hour into the Jungle, where Minor Tom pointed out local trees, and pineapple! The cave tubing was amazing! It is a must do while you're in Belize! I recommend going with Major Tom, they were fun, friendly and knowledgeable and just felt like old friends!! We were very safe and taken care of all day. We had a bit of a mad dash getting back to the water taxi at the end of the day, but Major and Minor Tom made sure we made it! Such great guys, the day was "UNBELIZEABLE"

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“UnBelizeable!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

From the start to the finish of our trip with Major and Minor Tom we were completely impressed. There were 8 people in our group. Major Tom took us ziplining (awesome), and then cave tubing (unbelizeable)! As guides, Major & Minor Tom are a wealth of knowlege about Belize and its culture. We did our part by getting off the ship 1st thing so that our day would not be rushed. Our guides did the rest. Lunch was delicious. Major Tom even made a special stop for me to get spices so I could make the chicken at home. Had it tonight. Ahhh, the wonderful flavor of Belize. I would recommend this trip to anyone. Major Tom and his son are wonderful ambassadors of their country. We felt like we left two friends in Belize and we can't wait to go back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

this is the first and only trip advisor review i'll ever write, but i had such a good day last week that i feel this company deserves more positive feedback.

major tom and minor tom were wonderful hosts for a great day in Belize. they were the perfect combination of being both relaxed and knowledgeable. they answered any question we asked, but also let us do our own thing at a chill pace. they were upbeat and funny, and i felt very safe the entire time. the cave tubing was AWESOME, and the jungle was beautiful. i'd definitely consider going back, and would happily recommend them to anyone who asks.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cavetubing with Major Tom also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Cavetubing with Major Tom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavetubing with Major Tom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.