We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lamanai Ruins and New River boat tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamanai Mayan Site and New River Tour

Lamanai Mayan Site and New River Tour
Belize
(011)501-223-6025
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canmore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lamanai Ruins and New River boat tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

An excellent day out starting with a guided boat tour on the New River - our guide pointed out many different birds, and both spider and howler monkeys - followed by a guided tour of the ruins with a very knowledgeable guide. We used Vitalino Reyes' Vital Nature and Mayan Tours company (www.cavetubing.bz; 011-501-602-8975/832-2640) which included pick-up in a private car from our hotel in Belize City, boat tour, ruins tour, lunch, and bonus rum punch on the return boat ride! Cost was US$110/person, and everything went smoothly right from the initial email inquiry and booking. Everything was on schedule, and we were paired up with just one other couple for the boat and ruins tours so lots of personal attention (even though it was a cruise boat day).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    57
    13
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“All day excursion from San Pedro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Get ready for an hour by boat from San Pedro, an hour by bus, then another hour by boat, that's only 1 way! A lot of traveling but if you've never seen Mayan Ruins & can't afford to go to Tikal, it's a unique look into Mayan culture. I've been to Chichen Itza, so nothing really compares to that, but at Lamanai, you can climb the structures.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Lam'an'ain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our trip to Lamanai was a great experience for us! We booked the trip 2 days prior through our resort on Ambergris Caye & Seaduced adventures picked us up around 7 am. The boat ride to the mainland and up the Northern River to the town of Bomba took about 1.5 hour. After a bus ride and another boat ride down the New River (2.5 hr), we arrived at Lamanai. We were told that that is not the way to correctly spell the sites name and I cannot remember how our guide, Eddie, spelled it (The title of this review is my best hypothesis). After getting to the dock, we had a delicious lunch and then started our tour. Eddie was extremely knowledgeable and let us take our time and climb 3 pyramids. There was so much to see and the weather was humid and hot. We loved climbing up the ruins and at the top of High Temple we were granted some "Mayan Air-Conditioning." Over 3,000 years of occupation, so there is a lot of history here and the museum does a good job of laying it all out. I am extremely happy I finally saw Mayan ruins! It is a long day from the cayes, but I believe that it was worth every bit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
489 reviews 489 reviews
133 attraction reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“Worth the visit because the river trip and the Mayan ruins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Highly recommended experience in Belize. Plenty of wildlife in the river trip to Lamanai and great very inspiring Maya archeological sites covering the 3 Mayan periods.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mayan Ruins!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We booked this as an excursion on our Caribbean cruise. The bus ride from Belize city was kind of boring but the tour along the river made up for it. It was so awesome to go back in time and see the ruins. It was hot as can be at the ruins but that didn't stop our fun.

I highly recommend checking out the ruins if you are in the area...it is spectacular!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lamanai Mayan Site and New River Tour also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
Belize District, Belize
 
Belize City, Belize District
Orange Walk, Orange Walk District
 

Been to Lamanai Mayan Site and New River Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamanai Mayan Site and New River Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.