We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Howler Monkey Treehouse” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howler Monkey Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belize District
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howler Monkey Lodge
Save
You added Howler Monkey Lodge to your Saves list
River Side | Bermudian Landing Village, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Howler Monkey Treehouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

When first planning our Belize trip our 1 night stay in the Treehouse Cabin of the Howler Monkey Resort was all that I could think about. Being a lover of all things monkey it seemed like a childhood dream come true. Sadly, it did not live up to my fair expectations 100%. The treehouse cabin was the rustic "camping in a tree" feel that I had hoped for. Unfortunately, it was each of the other elements that lacked. We had arrived after dinner time, which was not a problem at all since we had not selected to have dinner at time of booking. Had I known that meant the hotel would not be doing ANY shopping for our stay then I would have checked that "dinner" box on the reservation form. Lucky for us there was a nearby shop still open where we were able to purchase our dinner (Pringles) and beer! We are both able to skip a meal here-and-there so it wasn't that big of an issue. We were pleased to find out that we made it in time for the jungle night hike, which is organized by the Visitor's Center only a few buildings away. I highly recommend taking that tour. It was quite a blast! Robert, our guide was such a kind fellow and extremely experienced with the jungle, which gave us an advantage to seeing creatures in the dark. Staying at a resort amidst many howker monkeys I did not expect that much sleep, if any at all, but did think something more along the lines of "Let the sounds of the jungle lullably your sweet dreams during the night and then wake you up to the melodious birds singing on a beautiful morning in the jungle." would occur. The only thing thing singing us to "sleep" was the very drunk man at the near-by bar. We've all been that guy in our drinking days so even that was not a huge issue. I did, however, phone the owners to make sure everything was okay since it sounded like he was in attack mode at our door-step. They seemed annoyed and informed me "he was just celebrating the new year", which was still 4 days away... For me the main complaint with the Howler Monkey Resort was the lack of friendliness of the owners. We didn't expect 5-star service, but a little smile would have been nice for our first night in Belize.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdTurton, Owner at Howler Monkey Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
This review we were expecting. This kind of review is the reason why we no longer accept walk-ins nor reservations through agents. We want to prepare for your arrival and we want you to know where/what you are coming to before you come. This way there are no regrets on either side. She booked through the CBS and when we received the booking from the CBS, they insisted that the guests did not want any meals. We reluctantly accepted and therefore did not prepare for their meals (especially since they had their own vehicle and we presumed they would have eaten before they arrived). Our meals are prepared fresh using fresh produce - we do not serve reheated food, we do not even own a microwave. Our provisions are very perishable and would been a lost to us if not used. By the time she asked for breakfast there was no way we could get provisions in time. We felt very sad for these guests because there was nothing we could do to help their situation with the meals --this feeling on our part is what I guess they interpreted as a "lack of friendliness". We are very sorry but that is why we do not have a restaurant and why our meals (dinner and breakfast) are now included in our rates.

Yeah, we agree, that guy was drunk and was definitely having a good time singing Karaoke (not in the least threatening to anyone, not even close) . This is the Christmas/New Year season in Belize. Bermudian Landing is a very quiet village far away from the City and does not require the bar to have a sound proof building - not much we can do about that (we are not the Belizean Government). Also during this time the children (of all ages) burst fireworks/dynamites in celebration of the season. Please do not travel to Belize during this season if these festivities will anger you. Our villagers are also human do have fun sometimes although very, very, very rarely are they this boisterous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    13
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
25
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We spent one night for 120 US dollars here for my birthday. Unfortunately, although you think you are driving into the middle of the jungle - the hotel is set within a village and is just off the road. They are surrounded by neighbours - one of which decided to play very loud music for several hours when we first arrived (booming bass), and then decided to wake us up at 6.30am with the same booming bass music. You can also hear the road traffic noise which is fine - if that was the only thing. The food is included and the portions are large and tasty, but the place itself it scruffy and needs some tidying up. (Swimming pool dirty, a half built building within the grounds, satellite dishes). If this was cheaper then I would recommend it, but overall it is overpriced compared to other places (see Crooked Tree). The monkeys were as promised howling on occasion and that was definitely cool, so maybe just canoe down the river to hear them and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdTurton, Owner at Howler Monkey Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks for your review. We generally welcome reviews whether good or bad. Unfortunately in your case, the problem the way we see it was your domestic dispute you arrived here with, and which had nothing to do with us or who we are. You guys scared my wife and the other guests, we even considered calling the authorities; but, then you cooled down, and now you have turned your wrath on us.

The "music" you speak of was coming from the other side of the village and you would literally have to strain your ears to hear it (sounds travel far when it is quiet). Even so the "music" played only for a few minutes. Please understand that we are located in the COMMUNITY Baboon Sanctuary where the people and the monkeys have learnt how to live together.

When you come visit Belize there are not only monkeys, birds and trees but also Belizeans. Belize is not the NatGeo channel -- there is no remote control and definitely no mute button.

Belize in NOT a "tourist" destination it is for travelers who want to EXPERIENCE nature and the Belizean culture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Howler Monkey Lodge is The best place to stay, profesional customer service, clean place, Delicious Food! Perfect place to enjoy and rest. Beautiful cabins to relax! “It's close to all the main attractions and the decor was very nice!”

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights during a short trip over from Mexico. It was the best four days of the holiday!

Ed and Mel were the loveliest hosts ever, always there to give advise, Ed even leant us a canoe to go up the river, amazing fun.

The food was to die for and the accomodation was really cosy.

Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Go to the caves if you get the chance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordonvale, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay as a family here. The food was excellent. Mel, Ed, and their boys made us feel very welcome. Howler monkey troupes came through the grounds - babies in tow. We ended each day with a swim in the pool, staring at star-filled sky and distant lightning. We travelled to the Belize Zoo , Altun Ha and Lamanai Ruins from here - all amazing experiences. Ed, Mel and Russell organized a trip by canoe down the Belize River - putting us in at Double Head Cabbage, and us pulling out at the lodge ( got to see iguanas, herons, ospreys, vultures). Accommodation is clean, and the boys loved the upstairs loft.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have been staying with Ed and Mel for the past 5 yrs. They are the best! You feel like family when you're there....the cabins are comortable, clean and homey....great view of the river and the wildlife! Food....excellent! Breakfast is out of this world every morning and supper....there are just no words! Great place to just relax and get away....cant be beat!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I really enjoyed my 2 days at Howler Monkey Lodge. I'm a wildlife biologist, and it's rare to see wild monkeys at such close range, and for such a long period. One of the troops stayed in the Lodge grounds for an entire day and night, so lots of opportunities for observing and photographing the lovely and endangered black howlers. The Lodge hosts, Mel and Ed, are just great..so friendly and kind, and the food was fabulous. Also, do visit the Community Baboon Sanctuary down the road, a community conservation success story. Geraldine was a very knowledgeable guide, and that most of the community participates in this project by allowing the monkey troops to range through their properties is really impressive. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belize District hotels
9.1 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
23.5 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
23.4 mi away
Chateau Caribbean
Chateau Caribbean
#4 of 9 in Belize City
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Villa Boscardi
Villa Boscardi
#2 of 25 in Belize City
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#6 of 25 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
22.9 mi away
Belcove Hotel
Belcove Hotel
#8 of 25 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howler Monkey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howler Monkey Lodge

Address: River Side | Bermudian Landing Village, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Belize District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howler Monkey Resort, a microcosm of Belizean Culture, is a full-service family oriented Eco Resort offering personalized service since 1998, catering to eco travelers looking for an authentic inland Belize adventure. Located on 20 beautiful acres of riparian rainforest overlooking the Belize river. As we're in the middle of everything, we act as the perfect base for your Belize vacation - only 30mins from the airport/45 from Belize City, excellent paved roads. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howler Monkey Hotel Belize District
Howler Monkey Lodge Belize

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howler Monkey Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.