We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howler Monkey Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belize District
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howler Monkey Lodge
Save
You added Howler Monkey Lodge to your Saves list
River Side | Bermudian Landing Village, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
fredericton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value and experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The owners Ed and Mel are the sweetest and nicest couple! Our little lodge was rustic, clean and great view of the Belize river!. the couple have canoes you can use and they will drop you up the river for a beautiful 3 hour canoe ride enjoying the sound and view of Howler monkeys, tons of birds and Iguanas roasting in the sun. oh and there cuisine is excellent!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    13
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
25
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

The Howler Monkey Lodge should be your first stop after arriving in Belize. Just a short drive from the airport, you will be staying in a jungle setting, complete with all the jungle sounds you would expect, including several different troops of Howler Monkeys. The host were both helpful and accommodating. As vegatarians, they prepared two great meals for us and I don't mean a typical pasta primivera and a salad meal. Our cabin was rustic, but comfortable with a great river view. The Community Baboon Sanctuary is for the most part, right next door and if you have a limited amount of time, a 45 minute tour is all you need to see some Howler Monkeys upclose. Again, I will make this my first stop whenever we travel to Belize.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corozal Town, Belize
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

What an amazing time we had at the Howler Monkey Lodge. Ed and Mel(issa) were perfect hosts. Their sons Joseph and Yusef were interested and intelligent. We had Cabin #5... a delight to swing on the back porch and listen to the bands of howler monkeys calling to one another. It was simply great! We will go back and smile!!! Fantastic!

Room Tip: You cannot beat Cabin #5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

It's pretty impressive how such a small monkey can make that dinosaure sound. If you want to be sourrounded with 4000 of them and hear them all night, it's the right place to be. We absolutely don't regret stopping by Bermudian landing and its Baboon sanctuary. We think it's an awesome experience. They are not that many accomodations in the area, so we think the howler monkey resort is probably the best place to stay. The cabins are located on an a very nice peace of land and some of them are right next to the river. The owner are very nice people, not overly welcoming, but helpful. Only negative about the cabins is that ours was not super clean. We did not mind it much to be honnest, but in all fairness to other places that offered immaculate clean rooms, I have to deduct points for that. I too think the resort itself needs love. It could be a little more well maintained. I have to say that the food was AMAZING!! Mel is a great cook. Finaly, i do recommand you do the canoe ride on the river. Ed will drop you off a few miles away from the resort and you'll be canoeing on the river for about 2 hours. You'll get to see many monkeys and iguanas. Don't spend more than one or 2 nights there. There's way too much to see in Belize.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maui, hi
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
402 helpful votes 402 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed here overnight on our way from the Belize airport to Guatemala. We thought we would see monkeys and wildlife but there were NONE. We even asked a Belgium couple who was staying there a week and they confirmed they saw none. You have to go down the road to the park and pay for a tour to see them.
The hotel area is on the river, but in sort of a neighborhood. The bungalow was comfortable and quiet, just the areas was not what we expected. It worked out fine for us for one night and the breakfast and dinner, which was included in the $116USD rate, was excellent and plentiful.
We just wish the owners were a little friendly. When we checked in all we got was a "here, sign this." No smile, no hello, no welcome. In fact we never saw them smile or even attempt to act friendly and we tried really hard to be nice to them!! Maybe it was a bad week. We know it must be difficult running a business out of your home.

Room Tip: Get one away from the restaurant and neighborhood but on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We went to Bermudian Landing to see the Howler Monkeys and we were not disappointed. We took a tour and saw them close up. When we got back from the tour, there were more monkeys right at the lodge. The next day we saw more right in front of our cabin. Accomodation is in basic cabins with breakfast and supper included. The owners are nice, friendly people who will do their best to make your stay a good one.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cabin that they call the "treehouse cabin". It is a two story cabin with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

if you're looking to experience the Belize jungle in comfort and not too expensive this is a very relaxing place to do it. Howler Monkey resort lives up to its name, there are a couple of troops that move through the trees in the village and resort, easily seen just (and heard!) walking around or better yet on one of the walks offered by the Community Baboon Sanctuary centre, just up the road. Comfortable cabins, excellent meals (fixed menu, reasonable prices), free wifi, decent swimming pool, even a jungle walk on the property that you can do on your own. They also offer night time croc tours on the river. There's not a lot else going on in Bermudian Landing, which make this a relaxing place to stay, if you want to just kick back and read a book or sit by the pool

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howler Monkey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howler Monkey Lodge

Address: River Side | Bermudian Landing Village, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Belize District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howler Monkey Resort, a microcosm of Belizean Culture, is a full-service family oriented Eco Resort offering personalized service since 1998, catering to eco travelers looking for an authentic inland Belize adventure. Located on 20 beautiful acres of riparian rainforest overlooking the Belize river. As we're in the middle of everything, we act as the perfect base for your Belize vacation - only 30mins from the airport/45 from Belize City, excellent paved roads. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howler Monkey Hotel Belize District
Howler Monkey Lodge Belize

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howler Monkey Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.