We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turneffe Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Turneffe Island Resort to your Saves list
Turneffe Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turneffe Atoll, Turneffe Island, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Tucson
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just got back from "he Island". From day 1 at the airport, EVERTHING was as advertised. From connections for tours to getting to the Island to getting our diving equipment ready to go and even hot chocolate on the boat after the night night dive, every service was orchestrated to perfection. The dive and boat staff was superb. And, surprise surprise, even the guests were as advertised. "Arrive as strangers, Leave as friends." We could not have been happier.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    19
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
156
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
durango
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just returned from a 7-day dive trip to Turneffe Island Resort. What a fabulous time we had! Great food, diving, accomodations. We had a cabana which was awesome, about 40' from the shoreline. Three excellent meals a day plus fresh cookies and snacks throughout the day.
The staff were very friendly and accomodating. The downsides were rediculously expensive alcohol costs (ie. $6 beers and $11 margaritas) and having a late flight out & needing to kill 4 hours in Belize City which we didn't know about in advance. We went to the zoo which was fine. Been diving all over the world and this place was definetly comparable to other high rated resorts such as Wakatobi and Palau Pacific Resort, just smaller.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a cabana for more privacy. They deliver your choice of hot beverages to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have made two trips to Turneffe Island Resort and look forward to visiting again. The photos on the hotel website do not do it justice. The island is beautiful. The rooms are incredible just open the doors and you have a beautiful ocean breeze. I especially love the morning coffee delivery. The outdoor shower is not to be missed.

Room Tip: There are no "bad" rooms. Every room has an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Turneffe Island Resort is outstanding. I am always suspicious when I see a lot of 5 ratings on a location. How can it be that good all the time? Well, I agree with all the other 5 ratings that are here. Diving which is the reason we went was world class. We have dove all over Caribbean, Palau, Australia. This was easy diving but the reefs are very healthy and the fish life is very abundant. Best I have seen in the Caribbean. Since it is so far from the mainland, there is no pollution. Currents are light but most dives are drift dives so you don't backtrack the same terrain. Grounds are immaculate. Well manicured, very clean. Rooms are awesome. Comfortable and the cabins are very spacious but we would have been fine in one of the less expensive rooms as well. They are all very well maintained. Food is fantastic. Kitchen service is excellent. Very friendly staff. Guys doing maintenance on coconut trees volunteered and offered my wife and I fresh cut coconuts with a straw stuck in them so we got fresh coconut milk. They were friendly and easy to interact with. I was impressed. George at the bar is my new best friend. Wait until you see his magic tricks. They will amaze and entertain you.
We had a great time. Everything was amazing. Only suggestion I have is to be sure to pack some flying insect spray for your room and some Deep Woods Off for your person. Sand fleas or no-seeums are pretty mean down there. My wife and I are always the ones that get bit by mosquitoes in a crowd and we were no exception here. But with some light weight long pants and long sleeve shirt, we would have been OK.
If you are a scuba diver or a fisherman, you can't do better than this.

Room Tip: C4 was very nice but every room comes with outdoor shower and great view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Awesome week. Great diving, wonderful resort and staff. Food, served family style, was excellent.
We also had a marvelous mix of people while we were there. If you like "cushy" diving in a beautiful place to scuba (and/or snorkel) and relax, this is the place to go. We didn't fish but heard some great fishing stories.

Room Tip: We had a room next to the dining area. No problem except security lights left on all night. Hotel pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I went to T.I.R. with 10 other friends. We had a mixture of doubles and singles. every room was pristinely cleaned every day. They are absolutely beautiful with shiny polished wooden wall, floors, and even ceilings. The staff is also amazing. They are so freindly.

The resort island is managed by an adorable couple, Maya and Alan. It is also staffed by a plethora of native Belizeans possessed of a multitude of talents. Dive masters, snorkel guides, massage therapists, gourmet culinary geniuses, cleaning, maintenance, bartenders, (many of these individuals wear multiple hats.

T.I.R. has it's own dive center that is inextricable from the rest of the island resort. And because the island is so secluded and doesn't accomodate a superfluous amount of guests, the dive center is minimal. But they have the essentials - BCD's, Regs, wetsuits, masks, snorkels, fins, etc to rent if you need them.

Our group had the pleasure of Dive Master Brad's excellent services. He and our boat's captain Marcel took us to the various surrounding dive sites where we experienced bath-water tempts and depth, 60-80+ ft viz, and all the critters you expect to see in the carribean waters, such as sea turtles, sting rays, eagle rays, green and spotted eels, octopi, groupers, sharks, nudis, file fish, trigger fish, slipper lobsters (night dive); the list goes on and on.

We were treated to yummy, filling, tantalizing meals for breakffast, lunch, and dinner. The cooking alone was enough to warrant a five star rating. Forget diets while staying here. Just let it happen. You can lose the weight when you get home. The meals had so much variety and flavor. Plus, there were also little nibblets available in between meals-including a steady supply of plaintain chips, cookies, and fruit.

The water in each room is potable via reversed osmosis, so one never had to worry about dehydration. Any diver knows that it is imperative to always have water readily available.

Of course, even a five star private island resort can't be perfect. Guests are not allowed to bring outside alcohol. To add insult to injury, the cocktails and drinks are not cheap. They range from $6.50 U.S and up. I guess that just keeps you from over intoxicating, eh?

Also, the beach is kept well maintained, but there isn't much beach that goes directly into clean clear water. Most of the shore lies directly adjacent to a break wall (necessary) and sea grass, and slimy feeling clay sand. But the pool more than makes up for that. However, watch for the sand flies, a.k.a. noseeums. the only sand that is not, cannot be swept regularly is that which lies directly underneath the pool deck, so the flies are fiercest in that area unfortunately.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Turneffe Island Resort is truly paradise. It exceeded our expectations in every way. We experienced some of the best snorkeling, found the true meaning of relaxation, and certainly gained too much weight from the fabulous meals. The staff treat you like family, George never lets you get thirsty, and the island dogs are adorable. It's a first class operation and highly recommend it. "You arrive as strangers, and leave as friends"

Room Tip: The private cabanas are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turneffe Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turneffe Island Resort

Address: Turneffe Atoll, Turneffe Island, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Turneffe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turneffe Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turneffe Island Resort is a secluded 14-acre private island located 35 miles off the coast of Belize. We offer 7 night, 4-night, and 3-night Diving, Fishing and Resort packages. Packages include airport transfers, deluxe lodge accommodations, scheduled activities, all meals and hors d’oeuvres served throughout the day. All accommodations are located on white sandy beaches. All rooms include indoor and outdoor showers and spectacular ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Turneffe Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turneffe Island Hotel Turneffe Islands
Turneffe Island Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turneffe Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.