We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dive Resort and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackbird Caye Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blackbird Caye Resort to your Saves list
Blackbird Caye Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turneffe Atoll, Turneffe Island, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Riverton, Utah, United States
1 review
“Great Dive Resort and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 days at Blackbird and could not have asked for anything beyond what we experienced. The dive staff were very professional and we had the best dive experience of our lives. The rooms are spacious, private and comfortable. Paul, the GM, and the rest of the staff made every effort to accommodate every request and we had an absolutely amazing time. Meals were great, we made good friends and will definitely plan another vacation at Blackbird Caye Resort. We wish we had stayed for the full week we were in Belize.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackbirdCayeResort, Director of Sales at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and taking time to do so. We certainly would love to have you back for 7 days in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    43
    11
    10
    2
See reviews for
58
160
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Spent 7 nights here from July 10 to July 17, thanks to Groupon deal
We got a few days of tropical storm weather, but that doesn't bother us, actually it less hot on cloudy day than a good sunny day.
The staff are wonderful, they are helpful, from the people in office to the people at the dock.
Fresh seafood are excellent, variety of food menu every day.
"Doctor Flies" are active during this month, just use suntan lotion or suntan spray to cover the exposed skin area, the bugs will stay away

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackbirdCayeResort, Director of Sales at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are really happy you spent your honeymoon with us! We appreciate your time in writing a review and yes, the seafood is amazing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A friend and I came here over Thanksgiving 2012 for a girls vacation. Foremost, the diving was amazing. Of course the water and warm and crystal clear but moreover EVERY DIVE WAS EXCITING!! Each and every time we went down we had a new experience; eels, nurse shark, rays, tons of fish, tarpon, reef sharks, barracuda, octopus on the night dives...and on. We elected to dive the Blue Hole and although the down side of a deep dive is that it is typically short, it was well worth the experience. We were there with much more well traveled divers than I was and they all agreed that it was some of the best diving that they had experienced, other than more exotic locations on the other side of the globe. The staff was super. Our dive master paid extremely close attention to each of us and was great about showing us things in the reef. It was clear he knew the reef as if it were his back yard. There were some biting bugs that hit some of the other people worse than us. So take bug spray. The accommodations were comfortable and clean. There were kayaks at our disposal and a great little pool. It was an amazing dive vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackbirdCayeResort, Director of Sales at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Blackbird definitely has incredible diving and very happy all levels of divers get a fantastic experience! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

My family (husband and I, with ages 22,20,15,14) spent a magical week at Blackbird.
The GM, Paul, and his team could not have been more professional and accommodating. They went out if their way to make sure we had everything we needed (and wanted). Axia was always available with an infectious smile. She and Mr brown harvest fresh aloe for my sons sunburn. Barry had the music and drinks flowing making the pool time games and evening volleyball game fun. Rangel mixed my husband a special margarita exactly how he liked it! We feel in love with Cardinal who dove with us. He described the dive thoroughly and had eyes of a hawk sharing amazing underwater wonders. Sam snorkeled with girls entertaining with underwater bubble rings and hilarious stories.
I highly recommend the Blue Hole day trip (extra $240 that is very worthwhile). Blackbird is a great slice of paradise.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackbirdCayeResort, Director of Sales at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you! It's great to hear your entire family enjoyed their stay and your compliments are much appreciated and shared with our staff. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We just got back from our fabulous stay at Blackbird Caye Resort. Could not have asked for a more pleasurable, relaxing, enjoyable vacation spot. We only wished we had purchased the seven night package instead of the four night package. The staff at the resort goes above and beyond any call of duty to make sure your stay is the best, we would like to give special mention to Aixa, Barry, Ron, Joe and Chris. Thank you to everyone. Hope to see everyone again! We would recommend this resort to anyone who wants an adventure of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Cabana 10 has a awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackbirdCayeResort, Director of Sales at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We will definitely share your feedback with the staff you kindly mentioned. Hopefully you can stay for 7 days in the near future! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We bought the Groupon for the 4 night stay, and it was so worth it! We spent time both diving and snorkeling, and Cardinal and Sam were wonderful! It was my first time diving since getting certified, and I was pretty nervous, and they both spent a lot of time with me to help me feel comfortable and make sure my experience was great! Highly recommend the trip to the Blue Hole (there is a boat trip every Tuesday, weather permitting), and the diving and snorkeling is amazing both there and at Half Moon Caye.

Breakfast and lunch are served buffet style, and the food changes every day and is really good (fresh squeezed orange juice every morning!). Dinner is a set menu (2 choices of entrees, or you can get both), and they serve things like shrimp scampi, mango and coconut chicken, and different styles of fish.

There are kayaks available all the time and you can just take one out on your own and snorkel right off the beach. Happy hour happens every day at 5pm, and they have snacks like conch fritters and conch ceviche. There is also free WiFi available at the office.

Also had fun playing with the resort dog Camilla!

Overall a great experience, the GM Michael was great and took videos of the diving trips and boat trips, so that people could have them. Highly recommend the Blackbird and would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We were in Cabana 6, a plus to this cabana is that the WiFi from the office just reaches the room, s...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackbirdCayeResort, Director of Sales at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Congrats on getting certified! We're happy you experienced your first dives with us and appreciate your recognition of our wonderful dive masters. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My 16 year old son & I spent an outstanding week at Blackbird Caye June 6 - 15, 2013. I was fearful of the "bored teenager" syndrome, but not the case! He survived without regular cell phone service AND TV!! The wi-fi in the office helped hime get periodic iPhone fixes.Paul the Manager, the dive staff & the resort staff were all friendly and accomodating above & beyond! We purchased a dive package and dove every day possible. There were 17 possible dives and I did 16 and my son did 15. These were his first blue water dives, and that being the case the dive staff was super attentive to him!
The diving was outstanding! Belize is known as a "Big Animal" destination underwater, it delivers! Sothern rays that I first thought were Manta Rays because of their size! Loggerheads, Hawksbills, sharks, southern rays, spotted rays, dolphins, they're all there! The reefs are extremely healthy, teeming with life, and seem to go on forever!
The Resort - Excellent!
The Staff - Excellent!
The Diving - Excellent!
I would return without hesitation!
Thank you Blackbird Caye Resort for delivering a superb week for my son & myself!!

PS If you take a teen, or a 'tween, on your trip ask Paul or the dive staff about the new "ECO-Napping" program recently unveilled!
;-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackbirdCayeResort, Manager at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you Carl for your review. We are so happy to have read that you found our resort to be excellent in numerous ways. This brings great satisfaction to our staff when guests like yourself leave our resort happy. Thank you and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackbird Caye Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackbird Caye Resort

Address: Turneffe Atoll, Turneffe Island, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Turneffe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackbird Caye Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackbird Caye is a privately owned Island sitting on The Mesoamerican Reef System - often referred to as the "Jewel of the Caribbean" - it is the largest barrier reef in the Western Hemisphere with a rich tapestry of vivid corals, mangrove forests, coastal wetlands, and diverse marine wildlife. Within the reef you will find Turneffe Atoll the Caye where the resort is located. Turneffe is the largest and most biologically diverse of the 3 atolls found in the Caribbean home to more than 65 species of stony coral, 350 species of mollusk, and more than 500 species of fish, manatees, dolphins and invertebrates. There are over 70 dives sites all within 10-15 minutes from the resort and 45 minutes to Lighthouse Reef where The Great Blue Hole is located. The resort is made of 19 modern cabanas facing the Caribbean Sea and 1 beach house. The cabanas are all equipped with A/C, fans, private bathrooms, either King or Queen Beds with new comfortable bedding, private porches with chairs and swinging hammocks. Included in the price are your cabana, 3 daily meals, dive or snorkel package, complimentary transfers to the island on Wednesdays and Saturdays and use of the resort's kayaks. We are the only resort on Turneffe with an air strip making it convenient to arrive or depart any other day of the week. Our courteous and helpful staff will always make you feel at home as customer service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Blackbird Caye Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackbird Caye Hotel Turneffe Islands
Blackbird Caye Belize City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackbird Caye Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.