We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“four days in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackbird Caye Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blackbird Caye Resort to your Saves list
Blackbird Caye Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turneffe Atoll, Turneffe Island, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“four days in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We flew in and the views were amazing. The staff is very accommodating, and helped with snorkeling and scuba (I took a refresher and was ready to go)... 3 scuba trips a day, and they are close to the reef, so no long boat rides to get to where you want to go .... 2 snorkel trips a day for those who don't scuba ... and take the intro to scuba to at least give it a try. Food is not gourmet, but satisfactory, and you are there for the site and the water, not the food. We highly recommend .....

Room Tip: All the bungalows are well located; pick a single, non-attached, unless you are traveling w friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackbirdCayeResort, Director of Sales at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and so glad you enjoyed your 4 days with us. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    46
    12
    10
    2
See reviews for
59
178
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Sometimes a place is so great that you're tempted to keep it secret. Sharing with the wonderful world of the internet creates a risk of hordes of people descending on your "special place". , Blackbird Caye Resort - a small,informal gem off the coast of Belize is just such a place. Guided morning and afternoon snorkel trips in the clear,calm,warm Caribbean, seeing magnificent corals and innumerable varieties of sea life within a couple feet of the surface ...
it just couldn't have been better. Our trip guides were knowledgeable, attentive and fun to be with. Staff was helpful, professional and friendly. For snorkeling or exploring on one's own, kayaks allow for a short paddle to the nearby reef. Our booked-at-the-last-minute room in the only triplex cottage (most accommodations are free-standing cottages) was spacious and comfortable. Family-style dining encouraged getting to know the resort's limited number of guests. Vacationers were there to SCUBA dive, snorkel and relax. This is not a place for those who want shopping, golf, spas or nightlife, although the comfortable bar/meeting place offered ample opportunity to socialize and talk over the day's activities. A wonderful reprieve from "mud-season" in New England. .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackbirdCayeResort, Director of Sales at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for sharing our "secret" and we're honored you enjoyed your stay so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Hard to find words of praise without bursting into song. Staff was friendly and accommodating from airport pickup to dropoff at Belize City dock. Dining room staff made every meal an occasion - as did, of course, the companionship of our family. With Cardinal as head divemaster and excellent assistants, I learned new skills, improved others, and was expertly guided through each underwater excursion. Can't wait to come back and bring our granddaughter for her first snorkel! Thanks to Paul and your amazing team!

Room Tip: Loved room 7 because of instant beach access for morning swim and the soporific sound of surf right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackbirdCayeResort, Director of Sales at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful compliments and we look forward to your return stay with us. We will be sure to share with the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

You will NOT Belize this place! The snorkeling/scuba is unsurpassed! It tops The Great Barrier Reef experience we had in Aus. The staff are exceptional. I was catered to with my specific dietary needs, and was pleased overall with my choices. I HIGHLY recommend this place! Great value, great friendly service. We stayed in #1 which had the carry over of sound of the generator bldgs. It also has the equivalent of a streetlight in front which floods this unit in light at night. Some consideration if those things bother you. They also have a resident croc named "Fluffy" that roams the shoreline, but an alarm sounds out its presence. I will definitely be returning! ; )

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackbirdCayeResort, Director of Sales at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Wow! Thanks for the amazing review on our diving and resort. NOTE: The light has been changed to lower wattage and we adjusted the angle as well. Many thanks for the opportunity to fix that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I had the most wonderful wedding ceremony at Blackbird Caye on 4/22/13. Paul German and all of the staff were outstanding and went above and beyond to make our special day absolutely perfect. We were so impressed with everything. The arch, flowers, cake, and decorations were incredible. All of the details and arrangements were taken care of and the staff made every effort to ensure that we were happy. We had such a great time together on the island. The cabana was very nice and comfortable, and the food and drinks were excellent. We became certified scuba divers here and had a lot of fun going on several dive trips. We really could not have asked for a better place to get married. Blackbird Caye is the ideal location for a beautiful, romantic beach wedding and honeymoon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackbirdCayeResort, Director of Sales at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We are very grateful you chose us for such a special day and thoroughly appreciate your praise. Best wishes to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I've been to a dozen different locations in the Caribbean for dive trips, but Blackbird ranks right at the top. Loved the 5-10 minute boat rides out to dive sites. The coral and marine life of the reef was terrific. The dive leaders and boat staff were excellent; always right there to help you out if you needed and always had answers about the dives and sea life. Food and service at the resort were top notch. Rooms were exceptionally clean, very comfortable and 10 feet from ocean. Idyllic tropical paradise setting. We had a group of 10 divers go on this trip, and every person said they would absolutely go back. Madison Scuba would sincerely like to Thank Paul and the entire staff at Blackbird for a phenomenal experience!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackbirdCayeResort, Director of Sales at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Many thanks for your review and very excited your group of 10 had such an awesome trip! Love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The diving was well organized and great. Cardinal is an exceptional dive master and makes a new diver feel very comfortable. Paul was very accommodating as well, when the weather did not cooperate, he was quick with solutions. All the staff was very personable and strived to make you feel at home, if there was something you wanted that was not readily available, they were right there to find it.

The rooms were cleaned multiple times a day and you didn't need to worry about valuables. New beach towels were always available, even on each dive, 3 times a day.

If you are looking for a secluded dive trip where you don't have to wear shoes for a week or "have a worry in the world," this is a great place to go.

Room Tip: we stayed in one of the duplexes, it was nice and quiet...but it might be worth the extra costs to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackbirdCayeResort, Director of Sales at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thanks for your review and delighted you were able to leave your worries behind. That's what we love to hear!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turneffe Island
0.0 mi away
Turneffe Island Resort
Turneffe Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Turneffe Island
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
24.6 mi away
St. George's Caye Resort
St. George's Caye Resort
#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#23 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
15.2 mi away
Itza Lodge
Itza Lodge
#2 of 3 in Long Caye
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#30 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackbird Caye Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackbird Caye Resort

Address: Turneffe Atoll, Turneffe Island, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Turneffe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackbird Caye Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackbird Caye is a privately owned Island sitting on The Mesoamerican Reef System - often referred to as the "Jewel of the Caribbean" - it is the largest barrier reef in the Western Hemisphere with a rich tapestry of vivid corals, mangrove forests, coastal wetlands, and diverse marine wildlife. Within the reef you will find Turneffe Atoll the Caye where the resort is located. Turneffe is the largest and most biologically diverse of the 3 atolls found in the Caribbean home to more than 65 species of stony coral, 350 species of mollusk, and more than 500 species of fish, manatees, dolphins and invertebrates. There are over 70 dives sites all within 10-15 minutes from the resort and 45 minutes to Lighthouse Reef where The Great Blue Hole is located. The resort is made of 19 modern cabanas facing the Caribbean Sea and 1 beach house. The cabanas are all equipped with A/C, fans, private bathrooms, either King or Queen Beds with new comfortable bedding, private porches with chairs and swinging hammocks. Included in the price are your cabana, 3 daily meals, dive or snorkel package, complimentary transfers to the island on Wednesdays and Saturdays and use of the resort's kayaks. We are the only resort on Turneffe with an air strip making it convenient to arrive or depart any other day of the week. Our courteous and helpful staff will always make you feel at home as customer service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Blackbird Caye Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackbird Caye Hotel Turneffe Islands
Blackbird Caye Belize City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackbird Caye Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.