We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible pleasant time at Turneffe Flats!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turneffe Flats

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Turneffe Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turneffe Flats
Save
You added Turneffe Flats to your Saves list
Turneffe Atoll, Turneffe Island, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Belmopan, Belize
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible pleasant time at Turneffe Flats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I want to take the opportunity to say THANKS to the entire team of Turneffe Flats. We stayed for a few days and enjoyed every minute. Our snorkel trips have been so special. Also great food was lovely prepared, I could not stop to eat and it was served more than enough. The staff is very attentive and thoughtful. The rooms are so very clean. Even the coffee was already prepared in the coffee maker, so that I just had to hit the button to smell my morning coffee ;-) Turneffe Flats is the perfect place to relax, have fun and feel good! You awake in the morning, watching the sunrise out of your bed. Stay on the veranda and let your thoughts fly.

I’ve traveled a lot. But these days I will never forget. A very special place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    14
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
82
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Turneffe Flats resorts exceeded all my expectations. Fishing was tough, but we were always into fish. The guides were very knowledgable, friendly and worked hard to make sure we were catching fish. The accomodations were very comfortable and the food was top notch. I will definately return in the future!
Kevin H.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were 3 adults from Germany and had our 7-day-stay in the last week of August 2012 in Turneffe Flats after a 3-weeks-trip through Belize.

If you like

- to drink chlorinated rain water (bottled mineralwater isn’t available)
- a plenty of terrible sandfleas and moskitos day and night
- impudent prices for non-alcoholic and alcoholic beverages
- rationed meals

congratulations, you have found with Turneffe Flats the right resort. Enjoy your stay! We want to see this resort never again !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turneffeflats, Owner at Turneffe Flats, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
As the Owner of Turneffe Flats I would like to respond to this review by our recent guests from Germany. They mention four concerns about their stay which we feel warrant explanation.

We are a remote resort 30 miles from shore and we have no access to any public utilities. As such, we rely on rainwater collection and/or desalinization of sea water for our fresh water. This is discussed in our Pre-Trip Information provided to everyone prior to their visit. This information is also available on our web site. Our stored water requires treatment to ensure that it is safe and we use the same process utilized by most towns and cities - chlorination. We then check chlorine levels bi-weekly to ensure that our water is properly treated.

We do not stock bottled water as it is only available to us in plastic bottles which we feel is an environmental concern. These guests indicated that they knew that chlorinated water was acceptable to people from the US and Canada but that it was not acceptable to them. As always, we provide non-chlorinated water when guests request it. When this was offered, it was declined because the jar containing the un-chlorinated water had been washed with chlorinated water. Un-chlorinated mineral water, although not the brand they wanted, was readily available to them throughout their stay. On our first trip to town we purchased bottled water for them.

As is the case throughout most of the Caribbean, there are sand-flies and mosquitoes at Turneffe. These are only a significant problem if someone stays outside when it is very calm and particularly after it rains. It is not a problem in guest rooms unless the windows are left open which we clearly recommend against with both written and verbal instructions. All guest rooms are air-conditioned and can readily be closed up to avoid sand-flies and mosquitoes.

We are very clear in all of our Pre-Trip information that alcoholic beverages are not included in the package price. We charge $4.00 for a beer, either $5 or $6 for mixed drinks, $1.50 for mixes at the bar and $35 per bottle of wine. We don’t feel that these prices are out of line.

We are not sure exactly what “rationing meals” refers to but all guests are encouraged eat as much as the wish at any meal. Many of our meals are served family style and with these meals it is a matter of taking whatever one wants as the plates are passed around. One of our Managers noted on a couple of occasions that one of these guests had cleaned their plate. She asked if he wanted more to eat and this was declined. More often than not, our guests complain that they are overfed and we definitely do not try to restrict the amount of food for any guest.

We are sincerely sorry that these clients did not enjoy these aspects of their stay.
Turneffe Flats wishes to thank Trip Advisor for allowing us the opportunity to respond to this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was there to fish for permit and bone fish and found both. Due to a storm in the Caribbean the fishing varied from no strikes to hungry fish everywhere (after the storm). My guide was knowledgeable, fun to fish with and he worked hard to put me in the position to catch fish...and we did. The lodge and rooms were very comfortable, the food was delicious and the staff attentive and always helpful. I'll go back again. Rob

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Turneffe flats is amazing. My whole family had a good time. Great snorkeling, diving, food, pool, and people......it was an awesome vacation! Our guide Abel showed us some really cool things and even took us on two crocodile hunts. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This place is fantastic! We did 7 days of diving at beautiful reefs and the Blue Hole and spent a day on the mainland zip lining and cave tubing. The staff was so helpful and personable and the food was absolutely amazing!! It's the perfect getaway, I wouldn't change a single detail. Our vacation was outstanding and we can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Turneffe Flats is just the place if you’re looking for a relaxing and private vacation. Because of its secluded nature you get the opportunity to know the staff and owners quite well. Everyone is so kind and welcoming that even after nine days, I found it hard to say goodbye. I spent the majority of my days diving and loved every second of it! The dive sites were amazing and one boat ride home included an impromptu swim with dolphins! The Blue Hole is also a one of a kind dive that you can’t pass up! I can’t say enough good things about Turneffe Flats, the delicious food, and the people that work there… a must for anyone longing for that perfect vacation!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turneffe Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turneffe Flats

Address: Turneffe Atoll, Turneffe Island, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Turneffe Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Turneffe Flats Hotel Turneffe Islands
Turneffe Flats Islands
Turneffe Flats Hotel Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turneffe Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.