We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week was not enough!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glovers Reef Atoll
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort
Save
You added Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort to your Saves list
Glovers Reef Atoll, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 US off Select Trips
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One week was not enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Words and pictures fail to capture the essence of this place. The owners and staff were so friendly, approachable, and seemed genuinely interested in interacting in an authentic and lighthearted way. That set the tone for what was already a remarkable paradise island setting. Eye candy abound; the tiny island could be considered 'rustic' by some, but the attention to beautiful details and charm proved to exceed any expectations for typical 'rustic' settings. From mosaic tiled stairs and mirrors to conch lined walkways, tiki torches, white candles, and coconut shell lights, Kendra and Jim have thought of everything to maintain a clean, relaxing, intimate,and magical vibe. In our cabin, yoga mats and books were available along with our own hammock and many chairs and loungers, not to mention floating beds and other seating all over the tiny island. The weather was great and we never were too hot traveling in February. No annoying bugs. My husband and I were there to snorkel but by mid-week decided to try the Discovery Scuba which was amazing! We have been to many places to snorkel but never took the next step. Kendra was so encouraging and the highly qualified instructor, Dorith, made it so easy and accessible with a tiny group. I loved the entire experience, including superb coral and fish life. The food was another highlight and Eileen stole my heart with her cooking. I was never left hungry and devoured the buffet style meals with fresh granola, fresh fish, homemade bread and tortillas, along with incredible desserts, coconut rice, and fresh juices. I was the only vegetarian but she always accomodated me and I tried and loved most of the fish due to the freshness and her cooking. Besides enjoying snorkeling, diving, the wildlife and pace of the island (hermit crabs, blue crabs, iguanas, lizards, birds, one very large black bunny rabbit), we played volleyball (thanks Mario and Juan), kayaked (you can kayak to other snorkeling spots, the sand bar, or another caye), paddleboarded, and spent time with the other wonderful guests and staff. We even saw bioluminescence and string of pearls off of the dock at night!

We stayed in the white house cottage and absolutely loved it, although all of the cabins seemed great. Candles and lanterns are provided for ambiance along with the lamps and light. The shared showers and bathrooms were enjoyable and easy to get used to and it felt great supporting an eco-friendly environment. If you decide to go, please feel free to bring me along because I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
51
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Off the Wall is an amazing place. First of all, there are only five cabins so you become genuinely close with the other guests, all of whom stay a whole week. And you get to know the whole, wonderful, very happy staff (everyone eats together). I don't dive, but was made to feel very welcome anyway, and had a great time snorkeling around. I loved our cabin, which had windows on all four sides and was just feet away from the ocean - the sound of waves was most soothing. And the breezes from any direction could cool the room; there wasn't any need at all for a fan. I was also very impressed with the dedication of the owners to caring for the environment - this is a genuine "ecolodge", not in name only but in essence.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

What a great place! Essentially your own island playground; learn to dive, dive, snorkel, fish, kayak, lay in the sun... and no worries about food or drink, just show up when the conch is blown and eat a delicious homemade meal with the other guests and staff. My wife and I got our open water dive certifications with a great instructor (Beverly) and then went on some fun dives with our friends and great dive master Tyrone. We felt quite safe and well taken care of by all the staff, underwater and on the surface. The owners are onsite and seem like old friends immediately. They were very helpful during and before the trip, answering emails quickly and making local air and hotel reservations for us. Thank you Jim and Kendra for a wonderful vacation experience!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Every once and a great while you come across a place you'd like to keep all to yourself, but since the secret is obviously already out ........
Off the Wall is wonderful!
This was our second stay at Off the Wall and feel like "family" here. Everything from the location, the owner/managers, to the staff, and of course the diving is great as well. The food is great and if you do have special food needs they will accommodate.
Other reviews have mentioned it, but if you are looking for a resort with a beach bar, nightlife, turn down service with chocolates on your pillow I suggest you go elsewhere. But, if you want a great little island experience with an ocean side cabana, low guest numbers, attentive friendly staff, great snorkeling/diving and all at a reasonable price - This place is it!
Thanks again Jim and Kendra!

Room Tip: Other reviews have mentioned not staying in Dangriga. We stay at the Black Orchid which is about 15...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
offthewallbelize, Owner at Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Awww, you guys are awesome! Thanks for such a lovely review and thanks even more for choosing to return to our special little corner of paradise for a second trip. We enjoyed having you here and think of return guests as our most welcome family members. We hope to see you again, and thanks, we loved you photos! - Jim, Kendra and crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here and had a wonderful time. The island is very well maintained with an exceptional, engaging staff. Seriously, though, I enjoyed spending time with the staff more than the other guests! The rooms are simple, but clean with amazing views (and comfy hammocks). The owners live on site and are quite engaged in the goings-on of each day. Your happiness is well-attended, here. Food is prepared by a fantastic local cook. Each meal is eaten communally (we only had 5 other people staying at the resort at the same time as us) which makes for good conversation. The diving was incredible, as well!
Our only complaint was the weather as we happened to be there for a few days of tropical rain. Even with that misfortune, this place was great! If you are the type of vacationer who NEEDS the "hotel experience" (E.g. turn-down service, hot shower, full bar) then this probably isn't the place for you. But, if you're looking for a truly immersive tropical island experience that gives you access to all your Treasure Island fairy-tale tropical dreams while still providing you the safety and reasonable comfort of modern life, then stop reading these reviews and book this place. You will not be disappointed!
A side note: if there is a way that you can avoid staying in Dangriga the night before taking the boat out to the island, I'd recommend it. While we did NOT have a nightmare experience during our night in Dangriga, the town and hotel were a little jarring to our American sensibilities. Make no mistake, Dangriga is a 3rd (maybe 2nd) world town. It's dirty, smelly and sketchy after dark. The people are friendly and helpful, but it was certainly a low-light for our trip and, when we go back to Off The Wall, we'll plan differently to avoid a night in Dangriga. If it can't be avoided, you'll be fine with a touch of travel savvy and preparation. Regardless, you'll be glad you made the trip once you get to the heavenly little spit of sand that houses Off The Wall! A GREAT bang for your travel buck.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

A relaxing quiet getaway was what I was looking for and found here at Off The Wall. Kendra and Jim have put so much creative energy into this little island. They are continually looking for little ways to improve what they call home. They care deeply about the environment and our effects on it and do their very best to limit the impact their resort makes leaving us with an opportunity to experience the beauty of this corner of the reef. The reef is very healthy, alive with so many colors and species of coral, sponges, and sea life.
We were the first guests of the season and were greeted with perfect weather and 84 degree water to dive in. I really enjoyed the communal eating, gathering for each meal with the guests and all of the staff what a perfect way to get to know each other and enjoy each others stories. The staff is top notch, I can't say enough about how well each and every one did their job at the same time making me feel right at home. I stopped by the kitchen to get some coffee after a morning dive and to say hi to Teress and was greeted with her ever present smile and hot chocolate chip cookies! Just one example of the many that made my time there so enjoyable.
I will definitely be back to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I recently landed on this wonderful little island and was greeted with nothing but smiles.
This resort is smaller in size,only holding about 10 people.A somewhat more rustic and laidback atmosphere,although that's what was so cool about this place.The diving was spectacular! The vast amount of healthy colorful coral was incredible.So many different kinds of fish also.Sharks,rays and eels were also plentiful.Diving down to the wall and looking over it for the first time was wild !!! YOU have to see it for yourself.The snorkeling very close to the island was full of coral clusters and holding plenty of sea life.
Kendra and Jim, the owners made you feel very welcome.The staff is very friendly and always helpful.The food was delicious,you will not go away hungry.
You have to come see this place ! You will love it !

Joe Shortenhaus
Sioux City,Ia

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort

Address: Glovers Reef Atoll, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Glovers Reef Atoll
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Glovers Reef Atoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Off The Wall Dive Center is situated on a private island in the turquoise waters of Glover's Atoll. We are a small Eco-friendly, PADI 5 star Resort and offer Scuba Courses, Whale Shark trips and the best diving, snorkeling and fly-fishing in Belize, as well as kayaking and stand up paddling. Or, just come to relax and enjoy our white, sandy beaches and idealistic setting for getting away from it all. Our packages include Saturday boat transportation to and from our island, 7 nights accommodations in charming, ocean front cabanas, and all your meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Off The Wall Dive Center And Resort
Off The Wall Dive Hotel Glovers Reef Atoll
Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort Belize/Glovers Reef Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.