We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glovers Reef Atoll
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort
Save
You added Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort to your Saves list
Glovers Reef Atoll, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1,195 US weekly package
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I probably picked the worst week ever to visit Off the Wall (weather was completely uncooperative on the cusp of the rainy/dry season) and we still managed to have a wonderful time. It's truly a special place and Kendra and Jim have gone to great lengths to make it so. Walking around, you see so much effort that they have carefully spent to make this place fantastic and feel like home...in the midst of the ocean.

Diving was our primary reason for choosing Off the Wall. We teetered between a nearby location that's a bit more rugged but we wanted to ensure an organized, timely operation in that sense and didn't feel strongly we would get that elsewhere. From the moment you begin corresponding with Off the Wall, you sense that you will be well taken care of and you are. The staff is wonderful. Lucky me I got a sinus infection on day 2, so diving was out for me for awhile. Kendra and Therese made me lemon grass tea and sat at talked while the other guests were out on their dives. We never tired of Jim's hilarious stories, these two meet so many people, yet they remain authentic and seemingly never tire of sharing their interesting lives. Off the Wall is very communal, meals are served together etc. Though my husband usually like to be alone doing our own thing, we really enjoyed the small group of people we spent our week with. There was still plenty of couple time to be had as well. A very special place, I feel lucky to have visited. If I can say this with a sinus infection and a week of rain, imagine how wonderful it is!

Room Tip: All cabanas are wonderful, we stayed in the white one and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
57
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I just enjoyed a week stay with Jim and Kendra for our 5 year anniversary. They are unbelievable host who truly love their island and want those who come, to experience a great vacation.
The food is excellent, the staff are excellent and the snorkelling and diving was amazing. The rooms are comfortable and have everything you need including candles, towels and lighting.

I would recommend to definitely take the kayaks out towards Glovers resort island (the next island over) and tie off to the big metal pole sticking out of the ocean or to a buoy. Snorkelling in this area was amazing. We saw rays, nurse sharks, barricudas and hundreds of fish. Snorkelling was also very good right outside our hut but you need a calm day to do it.
Absolutely bring water shoes to wear in the water. Not only to protect from rocks and coral but also the stingrays. There are many in shallow water which is awesome but you dont want to step on one.
Tip: Kendra will give you a bucket if you do not want to walk 20' to the bathroom late at night. Also, personally I enjoyed the refreshing coolish rainwater shower at the end of the day. However if you want, ask for an extra bucket and fill it with water from the shower and set it in front of your hut on the beach early in the morning. By 5:00pm you will have nice hot water for a shower. :)
Thanks again Kendra and Jim for all your help planning a perfect vacation!

Room Tip: I would recommend to stay at the Pelican Beach Hotel in Dangriga the Friday night before you head to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Travelling for 4 weeks with our 2 children aged 14 and 13. The children wanted to get their open water diving certificate and my husband wanted to resume diving after a 14 year break.The instructor(the wonderful Dorith),instruction, equipment and organisation by our amazing hosts, Jim and Kendra,were all very efficient in a relaxed way. The children had the instructor to themselves and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience of gaining their certificates and my husband thoroughly enjoyed the fabulous diving.
What an idyllic location-its like landing in paradise. An efficient but laid back atmostphere with no unwanted intrusion but at the same time sociable-we made some wonderful friends during our week . . Osprey nesting right outide our cabana. Food great- Theresa (the great cook)taught the children some local recipes and let them cook with her. We had a truly memorable week which set us up for the rest of our trip around Belize and Guatemala. We so hope we manage to return to stay again with Jim and Kendra. Completely recommend this place if you like a laid back ,friendly place with an exclusive touch.Before we evenarrived Kendra went out of her way to advise and inform me on all sorts of queries not even connected to our stay with her. Thanks J and K for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We had the double cabana at the end as we were a family which was perfect. 2 separate rooms but with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

From the moment that I contacted Kendra to the drop off at the end of our week, this was just wonderful. Kendra not only helped us to figure out how to get to Dangriga for our pickup but she was such a great wealth of information for our entire trip. Our week at Off the Wall was awesome. It almost ruined the rest of the diving for the 3 weeks following because it was so good! The rides to the dive sites were shorter than the safety stops! Matthew is a great dive instructor and on the one dive I found a bit out of my comfort zone - he held on to me and watched me the whole time and I am so glad that I did the Crack! The food was delicious and the other guests helped make it a week we'll never forget too. We all really became family. So special. Don't let the composting toilets scare you off. They are super clean and less smelly than toilets that have trash cans for the waste... We are going to put one on our land. And the rain water showers were nothing less than lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were staying at the Slickrock Long Kaye Resort but Jim made it very easy for us to fit in our introductory lesson and first dive for our family of five (kids are 15, 14 and 12). Their staff is very patient and helpful and most importnatly, calming. Thanks to Doriff (sp?) for making our first dive so easy. To be able to go out and see The Wall (and a turtle!) will be something we will never forget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Wonderful week of relaxing, diving, snorkeling, eating, and enjoying the beach. The staff were wonderful. But owners Jim and Kendra really make the resort very special. From reading sitting on the beach in front of our cabanas to diving in front.....very special. Diving and snorkeling are some of the best in the world. Wonderful wall dives...snorkeling off the dock very special. Looking forward to our return trip!

Room Tip: Just tell Kendra what you need....and she will put you in the right cabana!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Oregon
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

It was an amazing time for us. We were not sure what to expect but what a pleasure from the food,accommodation and watching the turtle lay her eggs on the beach and just enjoying the peace and tranquility of the island. The staff was so much fun and the instructor was very patience with us getting our certification. Jim and Kendra made it easy to get there from the first phone call to the last hugs. Would deffently go back and hope to. Mike and Jeannie from Oregon

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort

Address: Glovers Reef Atoll, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Glovers Reef Atoll
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Glovers Reef Atoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Off The Wall Dive Center is situated on a private island in the turquoise waters of Glover's Atoll. We are a small Eco-friendly, PADI 5 star Resort and offer Scuba Courses, Whale Shark trips and the best diving, snorkeling and fly-fishing in Belize, as well as kayaking and stand up paddling. Or, just come to relax and enjoy our white, sandy beaches and idealistic setting for getting away from it all. Our packages include Saturday boat transportation to and from our island, 7 nights accommodations in charming, ocean front cabanas, and all your meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Off The Wall Dive Center And Resort
Off The Wall Dive Hotel Glovers Reef Atoll
Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort Belize/Glovers Reef Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.