We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glovers Reef Atoll
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort
Save
You added Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort to your Saves list
Glovers Reef Atoll, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 US off Select Trips
Mammoth Lakes
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Jim and Kendra make this a wonderful vacation. The location provides constant challenges and they have adapted well. They are always working to keep it clean and install upgrades. The dive masters and boat captains handled our gear and were very competent. We had wonderful meals with fresh baked cookies every day. Staff took good care of us and were open to requests or special needs. Dives usually 60-80 feet and 45-50 minutes due to remote location. Boats all equipped for emergencies and med evac planned for. Dive sites all along the wall off the three cayes. We saw turtles and eagle rays and eels and sharks regularly!

Room Tip: All cabins have great ocean views. No AC except the breezes. All electrical power outlets in the k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
51
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

If you are looking for vacation that is a real retreat to a tropical island paradise, with white sand, crystal clear water and amazing diving at your fingertips, Off the Wall is the place to be. OTW is special because it gives you something few other places do: a total break from the modern urban rush: there is no traffic, no TV, no loud music, no transactions -- just the sound of the waves and the wind in the palm trees; and the greatest decisions of the day are how many dives to do, which hammock to swing in, and whether you need one more beer (of course you do!). Jim and Kendra are wonderful hosts, and they have done a great job setting up OTW to feel cozy and welcoming. And of course, our stay at OTW wouldn't have been what it was without the OTW crew who made our stay so memorable: Dive Master Extraordinaire Tyrone, Top Chef Eileen, Captain Junior, Maestro de la Noche Mario, and finally Dr. Dive Instructor Doreth. It is hard to be back at work, in the cold and grey. We are going through OTW withdrawal!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We arrived home last night from out experience at Off The Wall in Belize. We are a full service retreat company and we took 10 people from various locations throughout the world on a Yoga Dive Retreat to Off The Wall.

First is the location - truly is paradise on earth. I have never seen water as clear and blue, turqousie as this. The perfect place to swim, snorkel or dive. We had some certified divers and some not, the ones that were certified were able to dive to their hearts content - those that were not were offered courses upon arrival and by the end of our experience, everyone that wanted to be certified did so within 4 days!

The staff are fantastic and very helpful. Our retreats are always vegetarian - and Belize is not the easiest place to facilitate a vegetarian diet. On the mainland - it is next to impossible unless you eat a steady diet of cheese pizza or nachos. But Kendra and Eileen worked hard to pull off their first week of vegetarian cooking and you would have thought they were doing it for years!

The accomodations are beautiful and rustic - falling asleep to the sound of the ocean waves! Some of our retreaters had to get used to the composting toilets, but like we told them. If you want to spend time in a beautiful environment like this - then we need to look after it!

All in all - a perfect get-a-way from beginning to end - cannot thank Kendra and Jim enough for their help throughout the process and our endless emails! This is a place you MUST see before it is too late!

Thanks again!

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Off The Wall was OFF THE CHARTS for us! We're in our 50s and have both traveled worldwide, including Belize. Although we went to dive, it was the total experience that took us away...

Jim and Kendra, the resident owners, were delightful hosts and saw to our every need. Kendra's artful touch in every detail - the cabana's, showers, walkways, relaxation spots, dining hut - achieved the quantest ambience : ). Eileen's home cooked meals made with a smile - we wouldn't be finished with one meal before fantasizing about her next creation. Doreth, Beverly, and Junior were professional, knowledgeable and personable in seeing to all our dive needs. One of us being a novice and the other only slightly more experienced, we both felt completely safe and expertly guided on top and under water. We appreciated the level of service, which included breaking down & rinsing our equipment after dives. Our bed was comfy and our cabana private with our own little deck and beach area to enjoy the ocean, the sunset, the stars and Stumpy the 3-footed Iquana which kept watch over us. Abundant animal life EVERYwhere we turned, above and below the water. We loved how Jim and Kendra set up their peaceful coexistence with these creatures and the island itself. Kendra's nature trail was a delightful intro to the island wildlife, vegetation and history. Guests and staff enjoyed gathering together at the big round table in the shade and at the family style dining hut to share stories, learn about island life, sea life, Belize, personal experiences...

This kind of vacation is for true nature lovers. If you like camping, you'll appreciate what the owners have done here - all the perks of camping without all the work, thanks to their creative engineering. Only solar heated showers could be a shock on a cold cloudy day, but we found it a minimal hazard considering the environment. We did enjoy enough electricity to keep our small electronics charged and even wifi for communicating back home and some light internet surfing. Even a tiny gift shop for necessities we forgot and souvenirs, Jim and Kendra thought of EVERYthing. We highly recommend Off The Wall for a truly unique experience and give it the highest rating of 5 stars or maybe 6! We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Sleeping huts with thatched roofs a little more quaint. Metal roofs maybe a little more noisy if it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Where do we even begin? My husband and I had so much fun at Off the Wall that we considered hiding in our bungalow and "accidentally" missing the boat home! We spent a week at the resort to celebrate our honeymoon and couldn't have asked for a more perfect vacation. Kendra, Jim and the rest of the staff are so kind and welcoming that you feel at home the moment you arrive. The bungalows, dining hall and grounds are beautifully decorated and are quite romantic with candles and torches lit every evening to guide your way home. The island is beautiful. There was always a refreshing breeze blowing, tropical palms, plants, and beautiful cerulean blue waters - a little sliver of paradise. We finished up our dive certification while on the island, Bev was an excellent teacher and we had a blast practicing our skills with her. We saw every sea creature imaginable in the crystal clear waters just off shore and dive-master Mathew expertly guided us through each trip. When not diving we tried out the paddle boards, kayaks, snorkeling and fishing. There were so many fun things to do that we barely even had time for naps in our beach chairs. (we may or may not have fallen asleep at 8 pm a couple of nights). After all that activity, Terese kept us well-fed with delicious Belizean home cooking; her coconut cookies were to die for! It should also be noted that OTW has an exceptional selection of condiments. By the end of the week we felt as though we were lifelong friends with our fellow travelers and the OTW staff. We hope and plan to come back as often as we can and will probably spend the next ten years trying to persuade other friends to join us. In short, our stay at Off the Wall was nothing short of amazing and we are dreaming of a return trip soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green River, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We have just returned from Off-the-Wall-Dive Cener and Resort, for the sixth time. Need we say more? As always Jim and Kendra have made more improvements, the new dining hall is great, and yet the place still has the feel of home. The diving was excellant and our dive master, Mathew, kept us all safe and showed us all the little things we would have missed without him. Tony was our boat captain and was always there to pick us up when we surfaced and help with our equipment while we got in the boat. Beverly certified four new divers in our group, so now we have more friends to go back with. She has got to be one of the best in the business. Teres, was our cook, and the food just keeps getting better.
I could go on forever, but the fact that we have been there six times, and will go back, should be enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I've stayed at OTW twice already and plan many more trips. I can't recommend it highly enough. Jim, Kendra and the staff are all just the loveliest people, the place is a rustic dream and the scuba diving and snorkeling are the some of the best I've ever seen-- OTW is right smack in the middle of a World Heritage site, with the main attractions just a wade away! I gotta tell ya, I felt a little sorry for the boats I'd see from resorts on the mainland-- it's such a long haul to go do something that I could just indulge in whenever I felt like it : )

My son got certified by instructor Doreth, who is just the greatest guy-- and I can't recommend my divemaster, Matthew, enough. We saw turtles, barracuda, octopi, squid, eagle rays, and a million other awesome things. Jaw-dropping, sublime beauty at every turn. It's like "Finding Nemo," but for real!

And they keep the place so nicely. And everyone is so gracious. And what a cook! She's amazing!

And last, but very important-- Belize has a sand flea problem. OTW has NO SAND FLEA PROBLEM!!! I've stayed at fancy resorts in Belize and I've just gotten chewed up by sand fleas. Not here-- which makes it worth every last penny. Seriously. Sand fleas are the worst.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort

Address: Glovers Reef Atoll, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Glovers Reef Atoll
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Glovers Reef Atoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Off The Wall Dive Center is situated on a private island in the turquoise waters of Glover's Atoll. We are a small Eco-friendly, PADI 5 star Resort and offer Scuba Courses, Whale Shark trips and the best diving, snorkeling and fly-fishing in Belize, as well as kayaking and stand up paddling. Or, just come to relax and enjoy our white, sandy beaches and idealistic setting for getting away from it all. Our packages include Saturday boat transportation to and from our island, 7 nights accommodations in charming, ocean front cabanas, and all your meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Off The Wall Dive Center And Resort
Off The Wall Dive Hotel Glovers Reef Atoll
Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort Belize/Glovers Reef Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.