We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation with Slickrock at Glover's Reef” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Caye Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glovers Reef Atoll
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Long Caye Resort
Save
You added Long Caye Resort to your Saves list
Long Caye Island, Glovers Reef Atoll, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Knoxville, TN
1 review
“Wonderful Vacation with Slickrock at Glover's Reef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

I had a great time and have already recommended Slickrock to friends & family. They did an excellent job preparing me as to what to expect, however the actual experience was even better. All of the guides were knowledgeable, articulate, patient, and kind. I’m not the most athletic so a few things were a challenge. I was encouraged and supported without feeling pressured or judged based my lack of experience. I think Slickrock’s Island Adventure offers something special that’s hard to find.


1. Natural beauty that’s not spoiled by crowds and over development
2. Good choice of activities with quality instruction
3. Appreciate the respect shown for the environment
4. Great staff
5. Nice community & good way to meet people – enjoyed shared meals, games, etc.
6. Good value
7. Great food

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
17
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

We loved every minute of this trip and recommend it highly. We will absolutely return for a longer stay next time. We were so impressed with how organized the entire experience was. Every detail was thought of and we felt very well prepared for the type of experience we would have on the island. We tried everything that the resort had to offer. Even after taking advantage of most the activities and clinics we still felt relaxed and rejuvenated when we left. The guides were fantastic. We were amazed at how knowledgeable they were about everything - from the equipment to marine life to local culture and history. They were very thorough in their introductions to the various activities, we always felt safe and in good hands. We also enjoyed that there was the flexibility to go out without a guide and that we were able to make our own schedule for the day if so desired. We loved that there was no separation between the staff and the guests. Being integrated created a feeling of community and comfort. The rustic accommodations were glorious. Our cabana was steps from the water and falling asleep to the sound of the ocean was relaxing. We truly felt a world away! We can't wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace River, AB
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

This was undoubtably the highlight of our Belize trip. We spent a full week on the Island (end of April, 2008) and had unlimited access to all the "toys" such as surf kayaks, windsurfing equipment, and sea kayaks. Once you've had an orientation session on the equipment, it is yours to use whenever you wish. Every day the guides post scheduled activities such as a snorkeling expedition (the pristine waters make for fantastic snorkeling), kayak trip, nature walk, etc. There is no pressure to do any of the activities as the Slickrock team also appreciates the value of laying in the hammock with a good book! The boat only comes to the island on Wednesdays and Saturdays, so you have to commit to a half week or longer. I'd recommend a full week. There is just too much to do in four days. As for the island conditions, the other tripadvisor reviewers are correct: if you are looking for a fancy resort, the Island isn't for you. The communal showers use slightly brackish well water, there are no flush toilets (only composting toilets in the outhouse), and electricity is generated by wind-power, so guests are asked to be conscientious about using electricity. If you want to email your friends back home, you'll have to wait until you're back in Belize City as guests have no internet access. This is an Island holiday, so leave your worries behind. Home-cooked buffet-style meals are served in a beach-front dining cabana using fresh, local ingredients. The guides are extremely knowledgeable about marine life, and a diving centre is only a few short steps away. Guests stay in 2-person thatch-roof cabanas overlooking the Caribbean sea. If you like trying new things, eating new foods, taking it easy and meeting similar-minded people, this is a perfect vacation spot. You can see more at the company's website, www.slickrock.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace River, AB
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

This was undoubtedly the highlight of our Belize trip. We spent a full week on the Island and had unlimited access to all the "toys" such as surf kayaks, windsurfing equipment, and sea kayaks. Once you've had an orientation session on the equipment, it is yours to use whenever you wish. The pristine waters make for fantastic snorkeling. The boat only comes to the island on Wednesdays and Saturdays, so you have to commit to a half week or longer. I'd recommend a full week as there is just too much to do in four days and you'll meet so many terrific people, you won't want to leave. The organizers at Slickrock have found a perfect balance between organized activities and leisure time. A word of warning, though. If you are looking for a fancy resort, the Island isn't for you. The communal showers use slightly brackish well water, there are no flush toilets (only composting toilets in the outhouse), and electricity is generated by wind-power, so guests are asked to be conscientious about using electricity. The website and literature sent beforehand is very comprehensive, so we knew what to expect, but our expectations were still exceeded. Buffet-style meals are served in a beach-front dining cabana using fresh, local ingredients. The guides are extremely knowledgeable about marine life, and a diving centre is only a few short steps away. Guests stay in 2-person thatch-roof cabanas overlooking the Caribbean sea. If you like trying new things, eating new foods, taking it easy and meeting similar-minded people, this is a perfect vacation spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

Slickrock retreat on Long Caye is about as rustic a place as I think I could feel comfortable. The cabanas, located just feet from the surf, are bare-bones thatched-roofed shacks with plank bed(s), a couple of rough benches and shelves, hanger rack, and a fluorescent light. No air conditioning, and if the wind is not in the right direction they can be uncomfortably hot when the humidity and temperature are high. The outhouse (two composting toilets) is clean. The outdoor showers, surrounded by walls for privacy, use well water warmed by the sun, so the temperature depends on the time of day and the weather conditions. The well water is salty (though less so than the sea) so you never feel really clean.

That's the bad stuff. And that's the only bad stuff. It's important to know that the conditions are intentionally rustic. Very rustic! But if you like rustic, or you don't mind rustic, this place is paradise.

The activities are all detailed on their web site, and include sea kayaking, snorkeling, wind surfing, kayak surfing, lounging around, and exploring the intertidal flats at low tide. Slickrock shares the island with Off The Wall Dive Resort, so scuba diving is also an option, including "Discover Scuba" for first-timers and full certification classes. I got my PADI Open Water certification there and it was a blast! (Because the dive resort is a separate business, you must pay separately for diving. Rates are on Slickrock's web site, as well as the dive resort's own web site.)

One of the best things about Slickrock, and one of its distinctive features, are the guides, who provide complete instruction in all the activities, from beginner to advanced level, at no additional cost. And they are absolutely first-rate.

I cannot be as enthusiastic about the food as some of the other reviewers. I have been at places where the food was really fabulous. However, the food at Slickrock was good, and it was plentiful. I was never disappointed by it.

While some folks preferred the above-water sports, what I found really spectacular was the world under the surface of the ocean. The numerous spot reefs were brilliant in their diversity of color and form, and were teeming with marine life. I never cease to be amazed by the corals and the fishes. And if you choose to don scuba gear, there is a wall of coral that starts at about 40 feet and goes down deeper than you can dive. Apparently there are a hundred sites all claiming to be the second-best diving/snorkeling reefs in the world. But Long Caye is certainly one of them.

A regular activity was "paddle to snorkel." At the start of your stay, the guides will teach you how to get into and out of a kayak in deep water, and how to empty and right a kayak that has turned over and flooded. After that there are many opportunities to paddle to the many spot reefs for snorkeling. Distances range from 5 or 10 minutes to perhaps 20 minutes or so. There are also longer kayak journeys available.

If you like warm-water snorkeling or diving, and you like rustic (very rustic!) you should not miss the chance to visit Long Caye.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Ma
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

Fantastic place, we just wish we could have stayed longer. My wife, two of our kids (both 14) and I stayed three nights on the island in the end of April 2008. We snorkeled, kayaked, windsurfed and caught bonefish. My wife loved the paddle/snorkel trips (kayak to a reef, snorkel and kayak back). Our 14-year old girl started scuba with the Dive Shop on-island. Both kids really got into the late afternoon volleyball games with the staff. Speaking of the staff, they were friendly, fun and excellent instructors in water sports. Food was hearty and the rustic accommodations just added to the fun. The whole time I had the feeling that I was on Gilligan's Island! We can't wait to go back.

End of April is almost the end of Slickrock's season. This made for a smaller group (good), but since it was the end of the dry season the showers were salty (you still felt clean afterwards).

They have a lot of water sports equipment, including a land trainer for windsurfing and three fully rigged fishing kayaks. We went to sleep at night with the ocean breeze blowing through our cabana. In our short stay the wind didn't blow enough for the surf break to materialize, but our son took one of their longboards out on the last day and caught a couple waves anyway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

Three couples wanted to have a relaxing week in a tropical area, but with lots of activities and minimal logistical effort. Voila, Slickrock! In exchange for your ability to "endure" composting toilets, very basic cabins, and sand flies, you get to hang out with truly talented, kind, and fun guides and a small group of guests to enjoy sea kayaking, surf kayaking, low-tide discovery walks, independent birdwatching, scuba, volleyball, full moon rises, diving, professional tanning, and competitive Jenga in an environmentally respectul resort! The remote location is fantastic and the resort is ingeniously designed to minimize impact to the small island. The delicious food is freshly prepared with quality ingredients (you may gain weight if you don't get out and do some activities!), and the nights are yours to relax and watch the stars. Each morning you get to choose activities, which include lying around reading a good book, and at night there are interesting short lectures on various topics. I enjoyed Charlie's geology talks and "how stuff works", and loved playing volleyball with Mario, Edward, Apolitico, and Martin. Lucy was an amazing host and made us all feel like family. Did I mention the constant supply of freshly squeezed OJ and cold Belikins? It's Heaven! Go!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Caye Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Caye Resort

Address: Long Caye Island, Glovers Reef Atoll, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Glovers Reef Atoll
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Glovers Reef Atoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Caye Resort, operated by Slickrock Adventures at Glovers Atoll, Belize, specializes in adventure sports such as sea kayaking, windsurfing, scuba diving, surfing, paddleboarding, kayak surfing, snorkeling, kiteboarding. Located on a private island, we feature thatched cabanas, coral reef access, palm shaded sandy beaches, fresh food menu. All inclusive packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Long Caye Hotel Glovers Reef Atoll
Long Caye Resort Belize/Glovers Reef Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Caye Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.