We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where did the time go?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Popeyes Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Popeyes Beach Resort
Save
You added Popeyes Beach Resort to your Saves list
PO Box 19, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
KCMO
1 review
“Where did the time go?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

I couldn't have requested and gotten a person better than Andrew and his crew. Rooms were cleaned everyday, Beach was swept clean, flush toilets and clean towels. Lay in the hammock during the day, breeze from the sea blowing. What a nice way to do nothing. I did move to get a beer and go snorkeling. Bring your own equipment if you have it. Let Andrew set you up and you will have a great time. I have snorkeled before and it was just ok, this was great! We had a 40th birthday party and guess who arranged it all, cooked and cleaned up when we were done...Andrew and his crew. He was very accommodating no mater what we requested. Food was very good.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    31
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
32
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bandera texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed at Popeye's hotel for 2 weeks to celebrate our 41st anniversary.The room was always kept neat and clean,the hammocks out front facing the beach were relaxing.We stayed on the ground level facing the beach,beautiful sunrises woke us up every morning.Andrew who runs the place was very friendly and accomodating.Ron,the owner,made us coffee most of the time by 6:00am and invited us into the office for a visit everday.He can hook you up with tours to Guatamala via Tropic Air or bus.
There is no door on the bathroom,just a curtain,but who needs a door when you've been married 41 years? We had use of the pier and were invited to some grilled fish which was caught by one of the guests.Ron can arrange a fishing trip too! I will stay here again. Its; in a quiet location just south of the water taxi.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights as many of the other hotels were booked out for the Lobster Festival. The location is excellent, just as the seafront gets quiet but close to the main street and quay. Staff were friendly enough, the room (at the frontt) was reasonably priced and spacious, 2 double beds. Bathroom was ok.
The hammock at the front was a good feature, in the shade looking out over the ocean.
Overall, a decent place to stay on Caye Caulker.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

My wife and I stayed in Popeye's for 3 nights in March. Once settled in, things were fine, but getting settled in was the issue. The room we booked -- on the 3rd floor, great sea view, $65/night -- was occupied by someone who extended their stay, though I'd confirmed my room just two days earlier. So, Andrew (the property manager) put us in a side room "suite" without a view. Normally, he said, this room would be $90, but we got it for $50. But the $40 bucks was not important to me. It was waking up to that beautiful Carribbean Sea. He promised we'd be in the room we booked the next night. Alas, the people in that room decided to extend their stay 3 more nights, which meant we weren't going to be there at all. Andrew then booked us in a sea-view suite on the 2nd floor. It was a good room, but again, not the room we booked. The WiFi was spotty (kept dropping out) so I had to keep reconnecting. It was OK when it worked.

One of two things happened: Either the room was double booked the entire time, or Andrew chose to bump me over the group in that room. Either way, it wasn't a good experience and for that I can't recommend this hotel. If the sea view isn't that important, there are options in the back or on the side, but you can get rooms without a view for much cheaper than the going rate here.

Otherwise, the location is great, just down the beach from the water taxi stand, and a few short steps from some of the better restaurants (Habaneros, Rosie's). The resident cleaning manager was fantastic and did a great job keeping the place clean. Given that this is still a developing country built on a mangrove swamp, the bug situation was good. Still further up is the split at the Lazy Iguana and Femi's, a great little bar and food place on a dock overlooking the sea.

One last point is the website implies that Popeye's is a "resort" but I didn't get that vibe at all. I actually chose this place because I thought there was a bar/restaurant on site, but the bar was closed (not sure when/how that happened or when it would be open). This isn't much of an issue because there are plenty of places to get a beer, but it would've been nice to chat with some of my fellow travelers. Also, some pictures imply that there's a pool, but there is no pool. So if you're looking for a "resort" you might want to consider another place. In the end, it's up to you if you want to risk an overbooked room. It sort of worked out for me, but it could've easily ruined an otherwise fantastic trip.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

I spent one night here only. The weather was so bad that I cut my trip short (which is why I left early).
The fellow that runs this place, Andrew, was very accommodating and friendly.
The room I stayed in was very basic. The rate was reasonable, so I guess the value was okay.
I stayed in a room in the one-level structure at the back of the property.
I think a room in the main 3-level structure, particularly facing the water, would be much nicer (for the view if nothing else - I didn't have a chance to take a look in these rooms).
I would recommend this place to a friend, keeping in mind that it is no-frills and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olds, Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

We have just completed a 6 night stay at Popeye's Resort. We stayed in the main building in a suite overlooking the ocean. We loved this place. We are three adults and had a large room, air conditioning, free wirless internet and a fridge. It was very comfortable. We found the staff friendly and it is very quiet at night. We paid $65 a night and I thought this was a bargain! It was bug free and clean. There was no room service everyday but they did come in once to clean and change the sheets. It is a great location right on the beach! Yes there is no bathroom door but there are two curtains that provide privacy. We loved Caye Caulker much more than Ambergris Caye. It is more relaxing and less touristy.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.2 mi away
Iguana Reef Inn
Iguana Reef Inn
#2 of 20 in Caye Caulker
5.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#9 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
20.1 mi away
Anchorage Resort
Anchorage Resort
#14 of 20 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#10 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popeyes Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popeyes Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 19, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popeye's Beach resort Hotel is located in the heart of Caye Caulker, 2 min walk (left) from the water taxi pier. We have three types of accommodation all private bath with hot and cold water: Cabanas, Deluxe rooms and Suites. We are a leading agent for local airline Tropic Air. We also offer, fishing, diving, snorkeling, sailing and mainland tours. Our Staff is friendly and committed to exceeding your expectations during your entire stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Popeyes Beach Hotel Caye Caulker

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Popeyes Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.