We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special but barely there anyways” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Maya Beach Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa Maya Beach Cabanas
Save
You added Costa Maya Beach Cabanas to your Saves list
beachfront, by split, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nothing special but barely there anyways”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is a relatively comfortable location right next to the beach and near the swimming hole created by the hurricane in years past. Nice beachside bar there too.
The rooms are unimpressive but clean and affordable. The staff can customize tours right from the office.
****I recommend the night snokel tour of the reef - most outstanding travel experience I've ever had.
All in all, if your there to enjoy the islands and all its activities then its a suitable place to crash at night. If you expect a bit more luxury then there are other options.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    19
    5
    8
    6
See reviews for
11
38
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed in Cabana 5, with a balcony overlooking the sea and it was a really great room - with a private bathroom and kitchenette.

The staff weren't really friendly (unlike everybody else in Belize), but that didn't really bother us, as the hotel also had free bikes, kayaks and a palapa right over the water.

The location is close to the Split were most people swim, and only a short walk from the shops and restaurants in the main street.

Room Tip: Stay in Cabana 5 for views of the sea from your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We didn't have much fun here.
- The room was tiny - no room to put any of our bags, let alone unpack anything from them.
- There's no glass on the windows, so when it rains you have to shut the storm shutters and sit in the dark.
- It's right next door to a much nicer hotel, so if you stay in your room, you can hear other people larking about in their pool. Depressing.
- The back of the place is derelict, where some of their buildings have been dismantled/fallen down.
- The shower water stinks of sulphur and knots your hair. (Though to be fair, this might be common to the island, rather than just this place.)

We looked to move, and found another place just down the road that had much better rooms at the same price.

On the plus side, we met someone who went on one of their tours and spoke very highly of them.

Room Tip: Check which room size you're getting
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMBCCayeCaulker, Manager at Costa Maya Beach Cabanas, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
This guest stayed in Cabana 9, it is one of our smaller rooms. Guests are most welcome to inspect the room prior to staying and paying. The shutters are hurricane shutters. Water on the island comes from 3 different sources. Rain water, well water or bought water, sometimes the well water has a sulfur smell but it does not harm you, we add chlorine tablets to the water. It is not always like that, however since the island has seen an increase in tourism and the lack of rain, the well water has been affected. There is a beautiful sea and we have a 300 foot dock complete with Palapa hut and hammocks to enjoy the view. A ladder for swimming. This dock belongs to Costa Maya and it is for our guests and customers of Tsunami Adventures. Over a a year ago, a guest staying in a cabin behind our property caused a fire, which in turn caught the back 4 cabanas of our property on fire and a brand new private home on fire. It was unfortunate and we have cleaned up the area, but not rebuilt. We do have plans to rebuild in the near future, in the meantime the area is used to dry laundry. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

It's interesting how this place has such mixed reviews, but I don't really understand it. There was someone to pick us and our backpacks up from the dock and bring us to the room, there's wifi (a little unreliable but works best outside/ closer to the main office). We spent one night in room 10, which was fine, and then moved to room 6 (a little bigger and more comfortable for a family of four). We love room 6 as it has a huge balcony just for us with a view of the sea and 4 deck chairs, it's a lovely place to spend the afternoon and evening after a day snorkelling.

The second double bed is a foldout couch though (in rooms 6 and 10 at least) so be aware of that.
And make sure you ask the staff for the wifi code because it changes frequently and isn't the same as listed in the book in the room.

Another bonus is that when booking with Tsunami Tours (located in the main office of the hotel, coincidentally) you get a discount if you're staying at the hotel. Everything's a short walk away; most restaurants, the beach, the Split.

Ignore the bad reviews, and stay here! With wifi, balcony, sea breeze, fridge, AC.. It's a great deal!

Room Tip: Room 6 is great- big balcony and three separate rooms (living room& kitchen, bedroom, bathroom)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Just finished our stay with the 6 days and 4 trips package in the beautiful cabana 6. Took advantage of the sea kayaks one day, but didn't use the bikes since the island is so easy to walk. Heather could not have been more accommodating, even coming by at 9PM our last night to see how our last trip went, which was very lucky too because we had forgotten that our passports were locked up. The only criticism about the trips are that they are long days and the island is so nice you don't want to leave once you get there. Again stay here if you can!!!

Room Tip: Cabana 6 overlooks the water and has a great porc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

I had the best time of my trip staying here. The rooms, and excellent staff are top notch. Robert and I went on several snorkeling trips with their guide Vito. He is from Caye Caulker and knows the best places to be. I appreciate all his education of the reef, and its creatures. Heather, the manager, was very helpful. I wish I was sitting with her now! When I go to Caye Caulker I will always stay at Costa Maya Cabanas, and Tsnunami Adventures will get my business. The rooms are big, have refrigerators, and have A/C. Great price when on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I was a little shakey making reservations here after reading the negative reviews but took the chance away. My wife and I just reutrned from spending 10 days there and wish we had another 10 days to spend. The rooms were clean and well maintaned. Cleaning lady came by every days. From our deck we had a great view of the water . Would get pastries and fresh fruit every morning, sit on the deck and have them with a cup of coffee. Heather, the owner would help arrange any type of trip you wanted. She never pushed us to use her trips. We did have her make arrangements for us to got to Lamanai. Trip arrangements were great. Talked to others staying there and never heard any complaints. If you want a 5 star place don't go to Caye Caulker. If you want a great layed back place definetly go. There are a few new and fancier places to stay, If you have the money to blow than stay at them. The location is great. Short walk to town,restraunts and spit, but far enough away so you don't have any noise. Would highly recommend this place

Room Tip: Get room 6 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Maya Beach Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Maya Beach Cabanas

Address: beachfront, by split, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Maya Beach Cabanas is your home away from home. We are located by the split. The Northern end of the main island. We have a small beach in front and great dock complete with palapa hut. A very popular hangout with our guests. All of our rooms have air conditioning, fridge, coffee and cable TV. We have chairs and hammocks for all of our guests to use. Free use of Canoes and Bicycles and we also offer wireless internet service. Each of our six cabanas are different. Three Beachfront view and 3 partial beachfront view. Our most popular being 6 and 5, which is currently being renovated for the upcoming season. We are a local family that have lived here all our lives and we hope you come to enjoy our little piece of paradise. Thank you Rosado Family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Maya Beach Cabanas Hotel Caye Caulker

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Maya Beach Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.