We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Snorkeling Ever - A must do in Belize” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Tours

Star Tours
Caye Caulker, Caye Caulker, Belize
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Star Tours offers Daily Snorkel Tours to sites like Hol-Chan Marine Reserve, the Manatee Reserve, and Shark Ray Alley. We also offer Tours for Cruise Passenger.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Snorkeling Ever - A must do in Belize”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We just wanted to comment on the awesome time we had on the Barrier Reef Tour. It was the highlight of our visit to Belize. We spent more time in the water snorkeling than any other snorkeling tour we have ever taken.(and we've been on quite a few) We went to 3 different sites. The guide was in the water with us on the first stop, and in Shark Ray Alley, then we had individual time on the 3rd stop. .I have never had a guide get in the water with us during a tour and I kind of wondered in the beginning how it would work. We had all snorkeled before, and I was very happy with him telling and showing us about different underwater sites, fish, lobster, coral, etc. He would take our hand and show us specific things to make sure we actually saw them. We saw things we wouldn't have seen without him. None of us were novice snorkelers and it was still great.
He made a point of individually taking each of our teenage girls in the water with the Stingrays. They wouldn't have gotten in the water at Shark Ray Alley without him doing that. He stayed right with them until they felt comfortable around the stingrays. One of the girls even held a Stingray and thought is was awesome.
The response to my emails was quick. 2 other companies said they didn't have enough people to run the tour. One canceling 4 days before we were to leave home for Tampa. The other company responded after we left on the cruise. Ramon was responsive to my questions and got us the information about the tour before we left Tampa on the cruise ship, which saved me having to pay international phone rates.
Getting off the cruise ship when you've booked your own tour always takes awhile, but Maria saw us at the Brown Sugar Marketplace rushed us down to the water taxi and had them hold the boat for us. Initially my family really wondered what I had booked for us. They thought maybe we were on a 3 hour tour like Gilligan's Island. We were then met at the end of the water taxi dock and taken down to the Star Tours office.
There were 8 of us on the boat, coincidently all from the Seattle area, even though we were 3 different groups.
We had some wonderful delicious fresh fruit, sodas and water to drink during the tour.
It does take about 40 min to get from Belize City to Caye Caulker via Water Taxi (included in the price).
After the tour,they made sure that we got back to the water taxi dock in time so we arrived back in Belize City in plenty of time for boarding our cruise ship. To alleviate our worries, they dropped us off at the water taxi dock before going back to their dock.
We have nothing but praise and recommendations for the tour and the company. Everyone we worked with spoke English and were so friendly. A big thank you all for the great experience. We will definitely do it again and recommend this tour to anyone wanting the best experience of their vacation.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon R, Owner at Star Tours, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
So glad you guys enjoyed your Tour with us at Star Tours and in Belize. We look forward to your next visit.

The STAFF at Star Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    16
    5
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conneaut Lake
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome snorkeling trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was our 3rd trip to Belize and we wanted to snorkel, the first company we booked through gave us the run around for over a month before they came clean and said that they did not get enough people to do an excursion. So off to the internet again and in search of a new company. We emailed the second company and as of this review they have yet to respond. ( I sent 2 emails). Then I ran across Star Tours. Ramon emailed me back in less than a half hour and explained their tours. We wanted to do shark ray alley, so I emailed back to see if the sharks were in a enclosure or in the wild. Again a quick reply letting us know they were indeed in the wild. We booked our tour and a week later we were off! The water taxi was pretty neat and a bit nerve racking the same time as we were the only people on the taxi from the cruise ship. We arrived to the island and it was amazing! a quaint little island and everything was in English and everyone we spoke to also spoke great english. We had Sean as a tour guide and he took us out. He was very friendly and knowledgeable, He pointed out all diffent kinds of coral, and showed us all kinds of marine life. He even got a big Morrey eel to come up off the sea bottom and eat fish out of a conch shell! The sharks in shark ray alley was a awesome adventure! he caught a few and allowed us to pet them along with a few rays. at the end of the tour he took us to the back side of the island to show us a few things and a school or tarpon. He provided us with a few cold sodas and a nice tray of fresh fruit. We had lunch on the island from the budget man, Lobster coconut curry and jerk lobster! Overall, it was probably the best tour we have had in quite awhile!

If you are visiting Belize and looking for a friendly company for a neat snokeling tour I would not hesitate to book with Star Tours! Just watch ship time as the water taxi is about a 40 minute ride each way..

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon R, Owner at Star Tours, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
So glad you had a good time with us and in Belize. We hope you visit again soon !!!

All the best,

The Staff at Star Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Treasures of Europe, Star tours Wembley UK Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Detailed review of treasures of europe, Star tours, Wembley uk

Tour Manager Khushru and coach driver Barry were great and Amazing.

Day 1 - Belgium Atomium Structure gave only 20 minutes to view , couldn't get in the atomic structure instead we were sitting in the coach for most of the day which was bit disappointing. They could've spent one hour more in belgium instead of reaching hotel early.

Day 2 - Germany/Switzerland - Went to Black forest + Rhine Falls. Restaurant was crowded with other star tour groups, stayed at good hotel in luzern.

Day 3 - Mt Titlis , was the best day of the trip , had ample time to play in snow. Buy souvenir somewhere outside ,its very expensive here

-- ---
Italy Vatican and Fountain was good + Florence is time waste ( unless you are keen art lover ). Out of 3 days in Italy, every day we spend half day travelling in coach, which i feel is bad tour itinerary. If planning to travel to Europe choose the package with out Italy.

Day 4 Venice- Gondala ride not as much fun as expected, looked like normal boat ride, spent rest of the day travelling.

Day 5 Rome + Night tour of Rome- Historical Rome was good, especially fountain. Avoid night tour of Rome, not much of illumination.

Day6 Florence Italy- Worst day of the tour, only there is a Michael angelo designed church, which looks pale after visiting St, pauls cathedral in Rome, 3 hrs of walking in Forence which most of the group didn't like.

Day7 Pisa tower Italy- Worth watching, spent about 2hrs watching and rest of the travelling to Geneva, At geneva a photo stop for flower clock and fountain.

Day 8 France Paris + Night tour of Paris-Paris was very good and night tour was amazing dont miss it. Also had cruise travel of paris. Dont miss night tour.

Day 9 Top floor of Eiffel tower- Went to eiffel tower at 9.30 am and waited for 3 hrs in the queue to reach the entrance of the tower, where as people with reservation were going in 30 mins, why didn't star tour make reservations? Went to the top floor of the tower had an amazing view of the paris city and then back home.

Overall good Trip which could be improved with better planning in italy and avoiding waiting in long queues.

Food --
Food was very good , on time , well prepared. Restaurants were also good except Bhojan in France. There were few ocassions where there were two or three star groups of about 50 each which made it bit crowded.
Menu usually is - Pickle, salad, Poori/Chapati/Naan, two curry varieties (chana,moong,vegetable mix ) , rice , Dal + kadi , one desert , Paapad ,curd.
We had Poori about 9 times in the whole trip , we'll not eat poori again for this whole year :-)

ps: Please take atleast 200 Euros for the trip , dont' buy it there it will be expensive , its cheaper at your local money exchange.

I think the trip was value for the money with good memories, so i would definitely recommend it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“They just cancelled and didn't even bother to inform”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I am highly disappointed by them. I booked the tour 3 months in advance. Just before a month when I called them for final payment they informed that the tour was cancelled. They didn't even have courtesy to inform. Sign up only if you like to get disappointed. Very very unprofessional.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon R, Owner at Star Tours, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We cancel tours because of Weather... We have never cancelled a Tour one month in advance...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Snorkeling the Reef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Our ship arrived in Belize and we were to take the water taxi to Caye Caulker island. Our name was listed at the water taxi window and our hand written ticket was given to us. (I prepaid online for this tour). After arriving on the island, we found the location with help from a nice man as we got off the taxi. We were very early, our tour didn't start until 1030. So we were able to walk around the island, which is laid back, relaxing and very small! Equipment was good, but we are NOT snorkelers, so to us it worked fine. There were 9 total people on our tour, the girl in the office brought us drinks of water and pop, (only us, not everyone and I think maybe that was because I prepaid online?) and my return voucher for the water taxi. Our tour guide was Shaun, and he was amazing. He went with us on the snorkel and talked to us about the coral and the fish we saw. Then we went to shark and sting ray alley, which was AWESOME! We all got to hold a shark and a sting ray, which was the coolest thing! The final area we went was the Coral gardens and it was all very beautiful. I was VERY concerned about getting back to the water taxi since Carnival "won't wait for you if you are not on a Carnival tour"...well, Shaun was aware of the time, and knew we had to be on the water taxi! Which he dropped us off right at the water taxi dock. Again, Shaun was fab!!
The reason I gave this a very good rating is because Shaun was amazing and extremely knowledgeable. I felt he really cares about the Mesoamerican reef, it's beauty, the animals, the coral and all it has to offer this community.
My complaints are: it would of been nice to have a sign to the tour place, or even included in the email which direction to go once on the island. Lunch was to also be included, which was cut up bananas and pineapple, (enough for us to each have a small chunk). I also felt that the description I read about the touring boat was deceiving, since getting back INTO the boat was a challenge on the moving, rinky-ladder! Again, Shaun was very helpful, otherwise I would probably still be at the reef floating.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon R, Owner at Star Tours, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed our Guide and the Tour. We do not have signs or map of the island sent to you because our staff was to meet you when you arrived in Caye Caulker, if we did not then we apologize. Lunch is not included in our tours, only a suggestion that if you have time you can have lunch at our Restaurant. We also use ladders and equipment that are pretty much standard to any snorkel shop on the island. Again, apologies if there was any issues with the ladder.

We are happy that you had fun on your Tour and in Belize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Tours also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Star Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.